Contribute
Register

How to fix Adobe Creative Cloud on Mavericks?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
GA-Z87MX-D3H
CPU
i7-4770K Haswell
Graphics
MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X 8G
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi folks,

I just got my very first built running. It's very similar to tonymacx86's Haswell mATX: GA-Z87MX-D3H - i7-4770K - HD 4600 (Link), except that I built in the EVGA GTX 660 that I already had lying around.

Screen Shot 2014-02-22 at 17.32.33.png

Screen Shot 2014-02-22 at 17.32.41.png
My whole idea of building a CustoMac was having a powerful box to work (graphic design/photo/video/audio) with and being independent from Apple as far as hardware and upgrading goes. So far so good.

Now I bumped into real trouble installing Adobe Creative Cloud (I have a legit subscription) on the box. The desktop installer from the creative.adobe site freezes at the initialisation of the installation before doing anything at all.

Screen Shot 2014-02-22 at 15.50.16.jpg

Screen Shot 2014-02-22 at 15.52.21.png

I could not even find any log files. Since Adobe is getting quite a lot of my money on the monthly i figured why not try their support. In short they told me that custom built Macs (the guy from Adobe called it «virtual machines»(??)) are not supported by their software and that I should buy original Apple Hardware or Windows OS in order to use their software. For those interested, here's the original chat history.

Now I found a way to get the Installers for each software product within CC directly from the servers. But If anyone here could help me to get the Creative Cloud Application running I would immensely appreciate that. And although InDesign CC for example is now running on my machine, Photoshop and After Effects crash right after calling them up. Here's a log After Effects gave me.