Contribute
Register

How to extend the iMac Pro to X99 [Successful Build/Extended Guide]

Status
Not open for further replies.

GDS

Joined
May 23, 2010
Messages
227
Motherboard
X99 Deluxe II
CPU
Xeon 2696 v4
Graphics
Gigabyte Aorus 1080 Ti Waterforce
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
As I am installing again X.13.6
i had to read again from scratch all the manual ;)
but found some points that have some mistakes on writings
(it is not a criticism at all, as the manual is well done, and I truly consider the @kgp manual as the reference that I use to all my rigs, it is just a reading from my side and found some points with corrections needed)

1/ about some writings at C.7 part (not important):
TSCAdjustRest.kext is written instead of TSCAdjustReset.kext

2/ a the D.1.c (more important):
it is written to replace with B800F00.....
in fact it is: BB00F00... according to the original post: EIST Performance fix by @PMheart for 10.13.6
here the code:

Code:
Find:
C1E30848 63D389D0 48C1EA20 B9990100 000F3048 FF0579C8 6B004883 C4085B5D C3662E0F 1F840000 000000
Replace:
BB00FF00 004863D3 89D048C1 EA20B999 0100000F 3048FF05 79C86B00 4883C408 5B5DC390 90909090 909090
3/ for informations, as it is well described on the manual:
the EFI folder contains already all the .kext necessaries but some "new" version of .kext are online, I just compared the versions from the EFI and the ones of the official websites, so at the 25th december:
whatever green (1.2.5), lilu (1.2.9), AppleALC (1.3.4)...

just for infos as it doesnt change the reliability of the EFI folder of kgp


I wish a nice Christmas time to all of the readers ;)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 9, 2014
Messages
20
Motherboard
Asus x99-a
CPU
i7 5820k
Graphics
nvidia gtx 760
Mac
Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi! I have Asus x99-a and i75820k. I so understood BIOS patch on my fare cannot be? And that it is impossible to install as described in the manual. Four years sitting on Mavericks want to install High Sierra.
 

GDS

Joined
May 23, 2010
Messages
227
Motherboard
X99 Deluxe II
CPU
Xeon 2696 v4
Graphics
Gigabyte Aorus 1080 Ti Waterforce
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
if you cannot install the patched bios (which is pretty strange) as it is a X99 mobo
you can activate the patch by clover:
it is explained on part D.2.a
activating of _xcpm_core_scope_msrs © Pike R. Alpha Kernel 10.13.6
Users of mainboards with locked MSR Register (disabled MSR OSX Kernel write access) have to enable the xcpm_core_scope_msrs © Pike R. Alpha Kernel patch in their config.plist under "KernelToPatch" in Section "Kernel and Kext Patches" of Clover Configurator


Hi! I have Asus x99-a and i75820k. I so understood BIOS patch on my fare cannot be? And that it is impossible to install as described in the manual. Four years sitting on Mavericks want to install High Sierra.
 

GDS

Joined
May 23, 2010
Messages
227
Motherboard
X99 Deluxe II
CPU
Xeon 2696 v4
Graphics
Gigabyte Aorus 1080 Ti Waterforce
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
new post with informations and a little question:

About XEON v4, BIOS and GeekBench scores:
As well described a 6950x or a 7980xe: needs to have in bios "Sync All Cores" activated, to increase the GB score
the xeon v4 family works differently!
After a fresh installation, I found that "sync all cores" for my 2696v4 was not so good at all, and it is logical as 22 cores are not same to manage than a 10cores (6950x for example)

so best option to use in bios for the little number of us that use a xeon is "Auto"

I tried the 3 principal options on my X99-DLXII about that and with the method:
1/ booting
2/ killing all processes
3/ starting GB and making the CPU benchmark twice (the second one is always better than the first one)

the results (score: single core/multi cores):

"sync all cores": 3600/41000
"auto": 4400/44500
"by core use": 4200/44000

one point original also, is that after making the GB CPU benchmark, I did the GPU benchmarks (OpenCL and metal),
and I found a better score on GPU with "auto" for the CPU cores! (around 10% better in both)
I cannot explain why, because there is no logical reason, but I can repeat the same scores always

I join a screen of one of the "auto" GB result
for an "old" generation of CPU, not so bad :D

Capture d’écran 2018-12-26 à 17.21.18.png Capture d’écran 2018-12-26 à 17.46.44.png


About SSDT:


tricky tricky
the SSDT part is my "Kryptonite" always had a problem to deal with, the rest of the manual I apply it perfectly and with perfect result, this part never! :D
from the 9.1 part of the manual, I did it well just didnt make the 9.1.f so far as it requires more time (xeon v4)

Anyway, the PCI implementation still contains mistakes on the PCIe slot hierarchy, after scrupulously following the manual
but strangely I have the audio by the Display ports on my 2 screens and the native audio (HDEF) perfectly recognized!
I just changed (step by step) without modifications (only drag and drop the .aml + modification of the config.plist when required) then reboot
but I don't understand why my 1080Ti on PCIe slot1 is still recognized on PCIe slot4 and why the drivers are downloaded so everything is active (audio by DP)

if someone had an answer, ;)

PS: I can join the EFI but dont know if it will be useful ;)
thx



Capture d’écran 2018-12-27 à 14.32.38.png
Capture d’écran 2018-12-27 à 14.01.25.png Capture d’écran 2018-12-27 à 14.03.17.png Capture d’écran 2018-12-27 à 14.02.48.png
 
Last edited:

GDS

Joined
May 23, 2010
Messages
227
Motherboard
X99 Deluxe II
CPU
Xeon 2696 v4
Graphics
Gigabyte Aorus 1080 Ti Waterforce
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
it shows E5 xeon and you say having an i7
is it linked?

Hi,
I had use CPU i7-5820K+ X99 Deluxe, i patch xcpm follow this guild for Haswell-E but my system not full speedstep.
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2011
Messages
367
Motherboard
Asus TUF Sabertooth X99
CPU
Intel Core i7 5950k @ 4.4Ghz
Graphics
Radeon RX Vega 64
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
DP-port issues (black screen)
This error was NOT fixed by Whatevergreen.kext

This error is caused by config.plist
I am getting really close to realizing what is causing the DP black screen (HDMI works)

which only can be removed by adding Whatevergreen.kext
I am finding this is not the only way to fix this.
Actually WEG didn't fix my issue at all

I think it's the Board ID
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2011
Messages
367
Motherboard
Asus TUF Sabertooth X99
CPU
Intel Core i7 5950k @ 4.4Ghz
Graphics
Radeon RX Vega 64
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
In order to fix the DP black screen on Radeon RX Vega 64
I am testing with different values for Board ID and ProductName.

iMac17,1: 'Mac-B809C3757DA9BB8D' - does NOT work
iMac16,2: 'Mac-FFE5EF870D7BA81A' - works (ProductName however causes KP)
iMac16,1: 'Mac-A369DDC4E67F1C45' - works
iMac15,2: 'Mac-FA842E06C61E91C5' - does NOT work
iMac15,1: 'Mac-42FD25EABCABB274' - need to test
iMac 14,2: 'Mac-27ADBB7B4CEE8E61' - works

With the correct Board ID and ProductName it boots into High Sierra with DP and HDMI

Conclusion: the Board-ID affects how graphics behave and boot
Even with the correct Board-ID a ProductName can cause KP.
I think this is because Mac 'boots' or 'does not boot' based on certain hardware that is compatible with that version of the graphic card and OS.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 23, 2018
Messages
9
Motherboard
GA-X99-Designare EX
CPU
Intel® Core™ i7-6900K Processor
Graphics
GeForce GTX 650N
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
rI'm very sorry if any of the below information is incomplete.

Thank you so much for the great guide and I build an iMac Pro with Core i7-6900k and Gigabyte GA-X99-Designare EX (rev. 1.0)

Here is my complete hardware:

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-X99-Designare EX (rev. 1.0)
CPU: Core i7-6900K
RAM: 64GB
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (2 x 16GB)
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (2 x 16GB)
System Disk: HyperX Savage 480GB SSD SATA

Graphics: GIGABYTE GTX650 2GB 128Bit GDDR5 (Will update in the future)
Wifi + Bluetooth: No additional wifi/Bluetooth card, Bluetooth is working but wifi is not (Can fix this? I tried this driver and didn't work: https://github.com/ammulder/AppleIntelWiFiMVM)
Power Supply: Corsair VS650 Power Supply
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master: Hyper T4
Monitor: 22 Inch Benq monitor


Everything is fine except some Geekbench mark scores when comparing to Sierra build.
SierraTest1.PNG

For my previous Sierra build score was 4457/28809. For OSX Sierra I was using this guide: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/the-perfect-customac-pro-x99-a-ii-i7-6950x-128gb-g-skill-tridentz-aorus-gtx-1080-ti-xtreme.211621/

But for OSX High Sierra build Geek Benchmark score is not very stable:
1st test: 4312/26044.
2nd test: 3905/27363.
3rd test: 4212/22693.
HighSierraTest1.PNG

HighSierraTest2.PNG

HighSierraTest3.PNG

I've attached the screenshots also.

This is how I've done this:
1. Downloaded the MacOS High Sierra from AppStore and make to bootable USB
2. Downloaded and install clover to the USB.
3. Downloaded and replaced CLOVER directory from here: https://github.com/KGP/X99-EFI-Folder-Distributions
4. After installation installed clover to SSD and copied CLOVER directory.

I've not followed all of the instruction, I tried to update the microcode, but stuck in the middle. (B.1.2) MSR 0xE2 register unlock for OSX Kernel Write). I wasn't able to fix this problem, I don't even know is this necessary for Gigabyte motherboard.

Anyway, in short with your CLOVER folder I finished installing Mac OS High Sierra.

My question is: Do I've to be worried about the Geekbench mark scores? I've done motherboard adjustments it is same.

I'm very sorry if any of the above information is incomplete please let me know.

Thanks again for the great guide.
Screen Shot 2019-01-02 at 7.37.16 AM.png


Screen Shot 2019-01-02 at 7.45.14 AM.png
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top