Contribute
Register

How to extend the iMac Pro to X99 [Successful Build/Extended Guide]

Status
Not open for further replies.

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,786
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
After uninstall / reinstall nvidia web drivers I got strange results.
Now I can't boot anymore except if I put the flag "nv_disable=1". Otherwise, it's crashing during the boot (no kp but stuck at some lines, and I can hear the GPU Fan).

I tried to check the Nvidia Web, but it's crash again.

The more strangest fact is now the "NVIDIA Web Driver" option is always checked into the pref panel, even I choose "Default macOS driver" and uncheck it into clover....Waaaaa I don't understand at all
Man! You have to uncheck NvidiaWeb if you do not want the web driver to load, otherwise it will be forced to load always! Up to my knowledge, nv_disable=1 does not apply at all and is obsolete for more than one year.

Given the actual results posted on Insanelymac, the web driver should work flawless under 10.13.6 SU.

If you are not able to manage, change to Vega ;)
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2012
Messages
109
Motherboard
ASUS Sabertooth X99 TUF
CPU
i7 6950X
Graphics
2x GTX 1080
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Ok good to know about the obsolete flag.
I don't know how but, I was able to boot with web drivers when I tested to add the EmuVariableUefi-64.efi and remove one card.
I tested to remove the EmuVariableUefi-64.efi, that was still ok to boot with web drivers.

Then, I put the second card, and all screw up, I'm unable to boot anymore. can't find a logic
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2010
Messages
85
Motherboard
ASUS X99-E WS/USB3.1
CPU
E5-2696 v3
Graphics
Vega FE
Ok good to know about the obsolete flag.
I don't know how but, I was able to boot with web drivers when I tested to add the EmuVariableUefi-64.efi and remove one card.
I tested to remove the EmuVariableUefi-64.efi, that was still ok to boot with web drivers.

Then, I put the second card, and all screw up, I'm unable to boot anymore. can't find a logic
You send the EFI from which you downloaded, KGP is not clairvoyant
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2012
Messages
109
Motherboard
ASUS Sabertooth X99 TUF
CPU
i7 6950X
Graphics
2x GTX 1080
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Here you can find my EFI Folder

EDIT :
In reality I was not patient, it's working.
I was not waiting too much time, but system can boot....after 15 minutes, desktop appears ! There is definitely something wrong here.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Nov 14, 2012
Messages
109
Motherboard
ASUS Sabertooth X99 TUF
CPU
i7 6950X
Graphics
2x GTX 1080
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks for your help, but same results. Boot time is around 10 min with web drivers enabled.
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2012
Messages
109
Motherboard
ASUS Sabertooth X99 TUF
CPU
i7 6950X
Graphics
2x GTX 1080
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Got (quickly) a black screen.
I tried to access through vnc meanwhile, I got the login information pop up, but no success to establish good connection.
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2012
Messages
109
Motherboard
ASUS Sabertooth X99 TUF
CPU
i7 6950X
Graphics
2x GTX 1080
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
The strangest thing is, when it finally came to startup after a few minutes, my cards are not showing up from the Slot 1 & 2. And from the about this mac pop up, there is blank space instead of GPU informations ! o_O

And for informations, I don't think there is any link but I installed macOS on a NVME drive formatted to APFS.
 

Attachments

Joined
Nov 21, 2015
Messages
216
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-X99P-SLI MB
CPU
i7 6800K
Graphics
RX480
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi @kgp

B1.) ASUS Mainboard BIOS Firmware Patching

B.1.1) CPU Microcode Update

I have a gigabyte board X99P-SLI, not sure if it's the same for all Gigabyte boards but i followed your steps, everything loaded in the UBU microcode update but still wouldn't update the bios on my board saying "invalid file". I posted on another board and a user who fixed it for me, what i needed to do was update one byte as per this forum post:

https://www.win-raid.com/t3217f44-OFFER-Gigabyte-GA-Z-Aorus-Gaming-BIOS-mod-5.html#msg56118

after that Bios updated, so not relevant to your board but you might want to put it in your guide for Gigabyte users.

thanks for all your hard work!

Forum i posted in :

https://www.overclock.net/forum/167...ommended-intel-option-rom-3.html#post27700060

credit goes to HelpDatBIOS
 
  • Like
Reactions: kgp
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top