How to enable WIFI on Gigabyte-Z270N-WIFI

Discussion in 'Network' started by gordonsteel, Sep 8, 2017.

  1. gordonsteel

    gordonsteel

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    39
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z170-HD3P
    CPU:
    i3 6100
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 710
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 8, 2017 at 1:58 AM #1
    gordonsteel

    gordonsteel

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    39
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z170-HD3P
    CPU:
    i3 6100
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 710
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I have successfully installed Sierra on a Gigabyte-Z270N-WIFI with i3 7100 + HD630 Graphics

    Everything is working fine except I have no idea how to get the built-in WIFI working.

    Any ideas much appreciated.
     
  2. P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    16,276
    Motherboard:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i7-4790 3.6 GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 4600
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 8, 2017 at 2:00 AM #2
    P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    16,276
    Motherboard:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i7-4790 3.6 GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 4600
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Intel WiFi is unsupported.
     
  3. gordonsteel

    gordonsteel

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    39
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z170-HD3P
    CPU:
    i3 6100
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 710
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 8, 2017 at 2:11 AM #3
    gordonsteel

    gordonsteel

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    39
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z170-HD3P
    CPU:
    i3 6100
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 710
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Thanks..Ethernet is good to go so no worries!
     
  4. Jamester64

    Jamester64

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Motherboard:
    ASRock Z77 Pro 4-M
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 550 Ti
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 8, 2017 at 2:37 AM #4
    Jamester64

    Jamester64

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Motherboard:
    ASRock Z77 Pro 4-M
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 550 Ti
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    is there a replacement card that will work for this MB ?
     
  5. VioletDragon

    VioletDragon

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    10,985
    Motherboard:
    GA-H77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Sep 8, 2017 at 4:49 AM #5
    VioletDragon

    VioletDragon

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    10,985
    Motherboard:
    GA-H77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Looks like the motherboard has a M.2_Wireless Slot. So probably you could get a M.2 Adaptor to use a Apple Genuine WIFI/Bluetooth Card. Not seen those M.2 Adaptors around tho.
     
  6. aztlan78

    aztlan78

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    392
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z170N-Gaming 5
    CPU:
    Intel i5-6500
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro P600 2GB
    Sep 9, 2017 at 12:41 AM #6
    aztlan78

    aztlan78

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    392
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z170N-Gaming 5
    CPU:
    Intel i5-6500
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro P600 2GB
    Those adapters can be bought on eBay. I have one with a genuine Apple card and currently using in my MB which is a Gigabyte Z170N-Gaming 5 and I already ordered another set for my next build with AsRock Z270 MB.
     
    Jamester64 likes this.
  7. VioletDragon

    VioletDragon

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    10,985
    Motherboard:
    GA-H77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Sep 9, 2017 at 12:45 AM #7
    VioletDragon

    VioletDragon

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    10,985
    Motherboard:
    GA-H77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    I believe its something like this? Ive not seen many of those adaptors around don't have no hardware that requires it. http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/like/3024...=1006749&device=c&campaignid=856845788&crdt=0
     
  8. aztlan78

    aztlan78

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    392
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z170N-Gaming 5
    CPU:
    Intel i5-6500
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro P600 2GB
    Sep 9, 2017 at 3:39 PM #8
    aztlan78

    aztlan78

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    392
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z170N-Gaming 5
    CPU:
    Intel i5-6500
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro P600 2GB
  9. sumsaykra-z

    sumsaykra-z

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z270N-Wifi
    CPU:
    i5-7600k (Kabylake)
    Graphics:
    Asus GTX 1050
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 15, 2017 at 12:47 AM #9
    sumsaykra-z

    sumsaykra-z

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z270N-Wifi
    CPU:
    i5-7600k (Kabylake)
    Graphics:
    Asus GTX 1050
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hey everyone. I didn't want to start a new thread because I figured I could ask this question in a similar thread. I purchased the GA-z270n mobo. I knew before hand that the included wifi/bt card that the wifi doesn't work. I went ahead and purchased an authentic Apple BCM94360CD card and an M.2 adapter. Here's the issue. The included antenna connections don't fit the apple card. Okay, that's an easy fix. I can just purchase new antennas that will work with this card. The bigger issue is that this particular card has 4 antenna connections while this board only has 2 coax antenna points. What can I do?
    http://i.ebayimg.com/images/g/fKMAAOSwtlhWF5ed/s-l1600.jpg
     
  10. kennydk

    kennydk

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z270N-WiFi
    CPU:
    7100T
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 1, 2017 at 10:37 AM #10
    kennydk

    kennydk

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z270N-WiFi
    CPU:
    7100T
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Could u upload the EFI of yours.

    I have the same hardwares as you.

    Thanks in advance.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice