Contribute
Register

How to enable 'Kaby Lake' Intel 6xx Graphics (10.12.6+)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
66
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490M Gaming X
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Is there any benefit of enabling my iGPU (HD 630) when I use a Nvidia Geforce 970 GTX?

Bumping this. I have the same question.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2013
Messages
139
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370M-D3H
CPU
i5-8600K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, sorry a bit OOT, assuming the HD630 is fully accelerated with quick sync enabled in your system working in tandem with your RX460 what's your Bruce X FCPX test result? No one shared RX460 bruce X test yet. thanks

The PC's are not mine, and I gave them back so cannot run benchmarks.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2017
Messages
45
Motherboard
Gigabyte 170x SOC Force
CPU
i7-7700k
Graphics
Sapphire RX Vega 64 8GB
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. Mac Pro
Is there any benefit of enabling my iGPU (HD 630) when I use a Nvidia Geforce 970 GTX?
Some applications such as FCP, compressor,... make a great use of the hd630 for h264 encoding. Safari uses the hardware acceleration for video decoding.
So, it can definitely help, but it depends on the application you use.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2011
Messages
35
Motherboard
I didn't read
CPU
the RULES
Graphics
so ignore me
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Some applications such as FCP, compressor,... make a great use of the hd630 for h264 encoding. Safari uses the hardware acceleration for video decoding.
So, it can definitely help, but it depends on the application you use.

All graphics cards today have hardware based encoding/decoding but perhaps that is enabled on Nvidia drivers?

Kaby Lake iGPUs has also encoding/decoding of H.365/hevc, that not all GPUs can do today Only supported by High Sierra Beta
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2017
Messages
46
Motherboard
GA-Z270x-ud5
CPU
i7700K
Graphics
Integrated Intel HD630
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi RehabMan, with ig-platform-id 0x59120000 i have connector-type <00 08 00 00> on all Framebuffer connectors but it should be <00 04 00 00>. I try inject Intel via Clover with empty ig-platform-id (Clover inject 0x59120000 in this case) and with ig-platform-id added. I try inject Intel HD 630 properties via ssdt. Always have HDMI connector-type on all FB connectors. Do you have any idea what this could cause? Thanks.

hi I notice that if you apply "change GFX0 to IGPU patch" all connector change to 00080000, if you dont apply this patch the connectors are 00040000... I don't know the reason, but I'd like to know if we need this patch or not on KBL graphics card / 10.12.6

also, I'd like to rearrange the port order but It is not working.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,691
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
hi I notice that if you apply "change GFX0 to IGPU patch" all connector change to 00080000, if you dont apply this patch the connectors are 00040000... I don't know the reason, but I'd like to know if we need this patch or not on KBL graphics card / 10.12.6

also, I'd like to rearrange the port order but It is not working.

GFX0->IGPU is for IGPU PM.
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2017
Messages
46
Motherboard
GA-Z270x-ud5
CPU
i7700K
Graphics
Integrated Intel HD630
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
GFX0->IGPU is for IGPU PM.

Any idea why it's causing the change on port connectors? I can screenshot this behavior tonight....
Also I will check the the power management on intel power gadget without this patch
THANKs!
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2017
Messages
46
Motherboard
GA-Z270x-ud5
CPU
i7700K
Graphics
Integrated Intel HD630
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@RehabMan , could you advise?
CPU/GPU are I7 7700K / Intel HD 630 running 10.12.6 Sierra
My computer seems to work very better without this patch, the including the GPU PM....I did two test with GFX0 to IPGU patch ON and OFF...

Exporting 4k video (the same project)… Look the images attached…
Patch OFF: without the patch, the GPU reach 1.1ghz (max utilisation), the temperature was around 50 degrees and around the same time I had almost 30% exported
Patch ON: With The processor was running 100%, the GPU run almost all the time around 500mhz (it didn’t use full capacity), the temperature was 70 degrees and on the same time I had less than 10% exported.

EDIT: HAHAHAHA I wrote in the wrong place on the image, the Temperature graphic is the last, but the behavior is really worst with the patch ON

GFXtoIGPU OFF.png GFXtoIGPU ON.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 22, 2017
Messages
16
Motherboard
ASUS z170i Pro Gaming
CPU
i7 7700K
Graphics
HD630
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
@RehabMan , could you advise?
CPU/GPU are I7 7700K / Intel HD 630 running 10.12.6 Sierra
My computer seems to work very better without this patch, the including the GPU PM....I did two test with GFX0 to IPGU patch ON and OFF...

Exporting 4k video (the same project)… Look the images attached…
Patch OFF: without the patch, the GPU reach 1.1ghz (max utilisation), the temperature was around 50 degrees and around the same time I had almost 30% exported
Patch ON: With The processor was running 100%, the GPU run almost all the time around 500mhz (it didn’t use full capacity), the temperature was 60 degrees and on the same time I had less than 10% exported.

View attachment 269041 View attachment 269042

I've tried converting video using MacX video converter Pro with intel hardware decoder on, looks like I get max around 500mhz too, same as you, in intel gadget

how are you able to to use HD 630 without GFX0 to IGPU patch?

without GFX0 to IGPU patch after clover boots my display (connected to DP) goes blank.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top