Contribute
Register

How to enable 'Kaby Lake' Intel 6xx Graphics (10.12.6+)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Aug 27, 2018
Messages
52
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z370 A
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
You are injecting a KabyLake device-id, but CoffeeLake ig-platform-id.
You can't expect that to work.

Ok, so that's the reason, sry i thought by deleting Fake Id in Clover i got rid of that..how do i solve this? (before i mess up completely by trial and error)
 

Attachments

  • Bildschirmfoto 2018-11-30 um 06.15.29.png
    Bildschirmfoto 2018-11-30 um 06.15.29.png
    278.4 KB · Views: 105
  • Bildschirmfoto 2018-11-30 um 06.15.36.png
    Bildschirmfoto 2018-11-30 um 06.15.36.png
    279.2 KB · Views: 106

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,691
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok, so that's the reason, sry i thought by deleting Fake Id in Clover i got rid of that..how do i solve this? (before i mess up completely by trial and error)

You should check that you are actually booting from the EFI/Clover you think you are.
Look at your Clover bootlog:
Code:
12:372  0:000    Beginning Intel GFX auto-detection with ACPI injection
12:373  0:000    Found FakeID Intel GFX = 0x59128086

It shows you set config.plist/Devices/FakeID/IntelGFX=0x59128086, but it is not set in the config.plist you uploaded.

Clearly you're not using the config.plist you think you are.
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2018
Messages
52
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z370 A
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
You should check that you are actually booting from the EFI/Clover you think you are.
Look at your Clover bootlog:
Code:
12:372  0:000    Beginning Intel GFX auto-detection with ACPI injection
12:373  0:000    Found FakeID Intel GFX = 0x59128086

It shows you set config.plist/Devices/FakeID/IntelGFX=0x59128086, but it is not set in the config.plist you uploaded.

Clearly you're not using the config.plist you think you are.

OK, but that is the only EFI Partition i have or can mount, i also checked the Backup Folder, and there is the same config.plist without Fake id set.. maybe it has to do with the kexts? because it also says "FakeID Intel GFX: not set" before that..
well in the system report under graphics it shows id 0x5912, no kexts loaded...i am confused

Thank you for your tremendous help
 

Attachments

  • Bildschirmfoto 2018-11-30 um 16.55.16.png
    Bildschirmfoto 2018-11-30 um 16.55.16.png
    2.1 MB · Views: 207
  • Bildschirmfoto 2018-11-28 um 19.21.52.png
    Bildschirmfoto 2018-11-28 um 19.21.52.png
    542.7 KB · Views: 183
Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,691
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
OK, but that is the only EFI Partition i have or can mount, i also checked the Backup Folder, and there is the same config.plist without Fake id set.. maybe it has to do with the kexts? because it also says "FakeID Intel GFX: not set" before that..
well in the system report under graphics it shows id 0x5912, no kexts loaded...i am confused

Thank you for your tremendous help

It could be that Clover is automatically providing the FakeID (would require study of the Clover source).
To avoid such automatic action, set FakeID/IntelGFX to native ID (0x3e928086).
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2018
Messages
52
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z370 A
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
It could be that Clover is automatically providing the FakeID (would require study of the Clover source).
To avoid such automatic action, set FakeID/IntelGFX to native ID (0x3e928086).

I tried that and it didn't boot anymore, it gets stuck at the apple logo, then the screen turns off..then suddenly starts back up showing me the acer startup sequence and again the stuck apple logo, so i went into clover menu while startup and deleted fake id, and now again it shows 0x5912..what else can i try?

Boot Log is attached

3:987 1:989 GUI ready
56:850 52:862 applied FakeIntel=0x3E928086

Update! I tried again with 0x3E9B0007 set under Fake Id and ig platform id, under system id it shows now: 0x3e9b but still "Intel UHD Graphics 630 31 MB" attached bootlog2
 

Attachments

  • bootlog.txt
    30.8 KB · Views: 89
  • bootlog2.txt
    30.2 KB · Views: 78
Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,691
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I tried that and it didn't boot anymore, it gets stuck at the apple logo,

Change to different ig-platform-id, or read about patching the framebuffer to add/swap a missing connector.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,691
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Update! I tried again with 0x3E9B0007 set under Fake Id and ig platform id, under system id it shows now: 0x3e9b but still "Intel UHD Graphics 630 31 MB" attached bootlog2

0x3e9b0007 is an invalid device/vendor-id. Using an invalid id is a great way to insure the graphics drivers do not load.
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2018
Messages
52
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z370 A
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
0x3e9b0007 is an invalid device/vendor-id. Using an invalid id is a great way to insure the graphics drivers do not load.

That i could not possibly know...i am just using what i can see since it is set in clover directly-> see attachment

After searching the web, i found some people add this (attached picture "devices") under devices, could this help?

I am going to try this:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...630-graphics-support-in-macos-10-13-6.256426/

UPDATE! I left ig platform id empty and used your previously recommended native ID, it booted up, but shows 31mb vram..also this 0x5912 must be set somewhere because it also shows in the boot log even though ig platform id was left empty, so i put "0x3E928086" as fake id and ig platform id and again 31 mb
(if i leave fake id and ig platform empty it goes automatically back to 0x5912, even though it shows "UHD 630 1536mb"..just glitches)

So do i try with variations of "0x3E928086" changing the last 4 digits or is there acually a list somewhere? or maybe change kexts?
 

Attachments

  • KEXTS.png
    KEXTS.png
    542.7 KB · Views: 151
  • Devices.png
    Devices.png
    35 KB · Views: 132
  • 2018-12-02 .png
    2018-12-02 .png
    2.1 MB · Views: 154
  • UPDATE.png
    UPDATE.png
    2 MB · Views: 193
Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,691
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
Aug 27, 2018
Messages
52
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z370 A
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
No.
0x3e928086 is the only id that matches your native device-id/vendor-id.
Must use correct ig-platform-id that matches the CFL framebuffer and your external port configuration.
Can require patching the framebuffer connectors.
Refer to WhateverGreen guide:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-intel-framebuffer-patching-using-whatevergreen.256490/

Apparently just by using whatevergreen kext instead of the intelgraphicsfixup, it sets the ig platform itself and recognizes the uhd 630 and also shows 1536mb vram. Sorry to bother you once more, but do you see anything in the problem reporting file that could be the reason for why it still glitches? Maybe i have overlooked something in clover or have some wrong kexts that i could solve and get it working.. otherwise i will go on with the framebuffer patching. Thank you for your patience!
 

Attachments

  • debug_2645.zip
    2.6 MB · Views: 107
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top