Contribute
Register

How to enable 'Kaby Lake' Intel 6xx Graphics (10.12.6+)

Status
Not open for further replies.

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,691
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Any specific one you would advise me to try? Since i have literally no idea how to patch the framebuffer or which ig to use..still a noob...all links|help would be appreciated

By the way could you recommend anything for someone who wants to learn more about this stuff. THANKS

For you, recommend you first try HDMI, ... then you'll at least isolated it to a specific issue with DVI.
Then read here:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/intel-hd-graphics-framebuffer-edits-desktop.125239/
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
950
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX TITAN X
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
HDMI is the same as DVI (Single Link). A simple adapter cable should allow connecting the P2250 to the HDMI port.

If both the HDMI and DVI port have problems, and you don't want to try intel hd graphics frame buffer edits, then you should try a DisplayPort to DVI adapter. The P2250 is DVI Single Link (1920x1080 60 Hz) so a simple DisplayPort to DVI Single Link adapter should work. There are two kinds of DisplayPort to DVI (Single Link) adapters. One is passive which requires that the DisplayPort supports DP++ (DisplayPort dual mode) to output a DVI/HDMI signal. An active adapter uses as input a DisplayPort signal (doesn't require DP++) and converts it to DVI/HDMI. There are DisplayPort to Dual Link DVI adapters which can also work. They support resolutions up to 2560x1600 60 Hz (or 3840x2160 30 Hz) but should also work with DVI Single Link connections up to 1920x1200 60 Hz. DisplayPort to Dual Link DVI adapters use a USB port for extra power.
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2018
Messages
52
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z370 A
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
For you, recommend you first try HDMI, ... then you'll at least isolated it to a specific issue with DVI.
Then read here:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/intel-hd-graphics-framebuffer-edits-desktop.125239/

so bought a new monitor, having now a different issue at the start up sequence, everything works after a short flare before the boot? see attached gif, didn't change anything, tried with hdmi and also display port same thing happens...is this something i should worry about? would installing mojave solve this?

(is it normal that it is changing the resolution in the middle of the apple bar loading sequence?)

(also i found out when booting up with the old monitor, when the display with dvi connection wasn't turned on until the pc was up and running, the flicker didn't happen)
 

Attachments

  • 20181126_124405 (1).gif
    20181126_124405 (1).gif
    3.9 MB · Views: 55

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,691
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
so bought a new monitor, having now a different issue at the start up sequence, everything works after a short flare before the boot? see attached gif, didn't change anything, tried with hdmi and also display port same thing happens...is this something i should worry about? would installing mojave solve this?

(is it normal that it is changing the resolution in the middle of the apple bar loading sequence?)

(also i found out when booting up with the old monitor, when the display with dvi connection wasn't turned on until the pc was up and running, the flicker didn't happen)

Did you enable CSM/legacy boot?

Also, no idea without problem reporting files...

"Problem Reporting" files are incomplete.
Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting" again. Carefully. Attach all requested files/output.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
Use the gen_debug.sh tool mentioned in the FAQ, that way it is less likely you'll omit something.
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2018
Messages
52
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z370 A
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Did you enable CSM/legacy boot?

Also, no idea without problem reporting files...

"Problem Reporting" files are incomplete.
Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting" again. Carefully. Attach all requested files/output.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
Use the gen_debug.sh tool mentioned in the FAQ, that way it is less likely you'll omit something.

Sorry for the mistake, didn't change anything from the last files, so there is the efi from before, i ran the gen_debug script, and the kext cache output, do you need the ioreg as well?(the gen_debug opened ioregistry explorer so i am not shure if it included it already) As for the CSM/Legacy boot i made a picture(also should "Fast Boot" be disabled?)
 

Attachments

  • EFI.zip
    20.4 MB · Views: 65
  • 20181128_190350.jpg
    20181128_190350.jpg
    2.8 MB · Views: 66
  • Bildschirmfoto 2018-11-28 um 19.21.52.png
    Bildschirmfoto 2018-11-28 um 19.21.52.png
    542.7 KB · Views: 59
  • debug_32365.zip
    2 MB · Views: 44

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,691
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Sorry for the mistake, didn't change anything from the last files, so there is the efi from before, i ran the gen_debug script, and the kext cache output, do you need the ioreg as well?(the gen_debug opened ioregistry explorer so i am not shure if it included it already) As for the CSM/Legacy boot i made a picture(also should "Fast Boot" be disabled?)

Why are you spoofing Kabylake? Did you try CFL native?
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2018
Messages
52
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z370 A
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,691
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
Aug 27, 2018
Messages
52
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z370 A
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Don't inject a fake device-id. Use valid CFL ig-platform-id.

Did that now it shows me GPU is "Intel UHD Graphics 630 31 MB" so vram went down.. and lags, do i have to up the vram myself or is this something that should have happened automatically, added problem reporting file
 

Attachments

  • debug_14148.zip
    2.1 MB · Views: 46

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,691
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Did that now it shows me GPU is "Intel UHD Graphics 630 31 MB" so vram went down.. and lags, do i have to up the vram myself or is this something that should have happened automatically, added problem reporting file

You are injecting a KabyLake device-id, but CoffeeLake ig-platform-id.
You can't expect that to work.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top