Contribute
Register

How to create a bootable Windows 10 USB in OS X using Terminal

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
May 3, 2016
Messages
13
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P
CPU
Intel i5 6600k 3.5GHz
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey tooresvaev, did you finally sorted it out since then? I'm experiencing the same issue. BTW, I also couldn't format the USB key with DiskUtility afterwards…

I've literally tried everything. Windows 7 DVD, Windows 7 Homemade install USB, Windows 7 Microsoft install USB, Windows 10 USB created with terminal, Nero, Gigabytes own tool and even the microsoft USB creator. Keep getting this error! I've read so many weird fixes, like moving the USB during install, but nothing seems to work. Anyone?
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2016
Messages
14
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H170N-WIFI
CPU
Skylake i5 3.2 GHZ
Graphics
EVGA GTX 970 SC
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've literally tried everything. Windows 7 DVD, Windows 7 Homemade install USB, Windows 7 Microsoft install USB, Windows 10 USB created with terminal, Nero, Gigabytes own tool and even the microsoft USB creator. Keep getting this error! I've read so many weird fixes, like moving the USB during install, but nothing seems to work. Anyone?

Same here. I used DD to copy the Windows installation ISO to the USB drive, and when I try to boot the PC from USB, I get "
"Reboot and Select proper Boot device or Insert Boot Media in selected Boot device and press a key."

Very frustrating.
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
22,459
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Copying the ISO to a USB is not the proper method. You use the "Restore" option if using Nero or other disc burning app.

The problem is not putting the ISO on the USB drive, it is making the USB drive bootable, which is where Rufus or Unetbootin or the Microsoft Windows media creator tool come in.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2016
Messages
14
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H170N-WIFI
CPU
Skylake i5 3.2 GHZ
Graphics
EVGA GTX 970 SC
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Copying the ISO to a USB is not the proper method. You use the "Restore" option if using Nero or other disc burning app.

This is at odds with the first message in this thread.

FWIW, I seem to have gotten things working by using Boot Camp setup on the Mac to copy my ISO to a thumb drive, which I could then use to install Windows.

I haven't gotten Clover integration working yet, but it's nice to have a dual-boot system up and running.
 
Joined
May 3, 2016
Messages
13
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P
CPU
Intel i5 6600k 3.5GHz
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
the Microsoft Windows media creator tool

I've tried this, however with no luck. My MOBO manufactorer gigabyte recognises the issue with win7 and the z170 hd3p, and has created a tool for creating bootable windows USBs. I did it for both Windows 7 and 10 however I keep getting the same issue :/

specs incase they mean anything, I'm kind of new to this!:
Intel Core i5 6600K
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P
16GB C16 Corsair Ven k2
Kingston SSDNow V300 - Solid state drive - 120 GB x 2 (win/osx)
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2016
Messages
14
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H170N-WIFI
CPU
Skylake i5 3.2 GHZ
Graphics
EVGA GTX 970 SC
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I was finally able to create a bootable Windows USB installation disk using a Mac.

Here's how I installed Windows on a second SSD from start to finish:

1.Format the eventual Windows SSD drive using Disk Utility as a Journaled/GUID drive so there's an EFI volume in place for booting with Clover.
2. Open Bootcamp Assistant on the Mac and use it's tool to copy the Windows 64-bit ISO to the USB drive.
3. Unplug the OS X SSD from my Hackintosh, just to make sure I don't wipe it by mistake
4. Boot the Hackintosh PC from the new Windows USB drive — it boots!
5. Use the Windows installer tool to delete the non-EFI volumes of the drive I want to install to.
6. Install Windows on the empty (non-EFI) volume
7. Done!

When I logged into Windows for the first time, it said that the Bootcamp Assistant helpers were not valid for this machine, but I haven't seen that error again, and I'm now able to boot to the Clover startup screen and from there choose to boot into Mac (default) or Windows/NTFS.

Hope this helps somebody out!
 

tonymacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 17, 2009
Messages
7,208
Motherboard
PRIME Z490-A
CPU
i5 10600K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I was finally able to create a bootable Windows USB installation disk using a Mac.

Here's how I installed Windows on a second SSD from start to finish:

1.Format the eventual Windows SSD drive using Disk Utility as a Journaled/GUID drive so there's an EFI volume in place for booting with Clover.
2. Open Bootcamp Assistant on the Mac and use it's tool to copy the Windows 64-bit ISO to the USB drive.
3. Unplug the OS X SSD from my Hackintosh, just to make sure I don't wipe it by mistake
4. Boot the Hackintosh PC from the new Windows USB drive — it boots!
5. Use the Windows installer tool to delete the non-EFI volumes of the drive I want to install to.
6. Install Windows on the empty (non-EFI) volume
7. Done!

When I logged into Windows for the first time, it said that the Bootcamp Assistant helpers were not valid for this machine, but I haven't seen that error again, and I'm now able to boot to the Clover startup screen and from there choose to boot into Mac (default) or Windows/NTFS.

Hope this helps somebody out!

This is the method I used to create a Windows 10 USB.
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2010
Messages
254
Motherboard
P55M-UD2
CPU
4 Ghz i5 760
Graphics
MSI GTX 970
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm trying to do the Bootcamp method with a Win10 iso but the result is a USB drive that gets stuck on "loading operating system..." Doesn't seem to be bootable.
 
Joined
Sep 4, 2016
Messages
1
I think there is 1 command that's missing here:

which is

Code:
hdiutil convert -format UDRW -o OUTPUT.img ~/path_to_folder/Windows10.ISO
after that you have to rename your file
Code:
mv OUTPUT.img.dmg OUTPUT.img
than run your DD command
Code:
sudo dd if=/Users/user/Downloads/path_to_folder/OUTPUT.img of=/dev/disk2 bs=512
I use 512, yes, it's slower, but reliable.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top