How to check Speedstep?

Discussion in 'General Help' started by longtom, Jan 21, 2010.

  1. longtom

    longtom

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Mobo:
    Mac Mini
    CPU:
    i3
    Graphics:
    hd3000
    Jan 21, 2010 at 7:26 AM #1
    longtom

    longtom

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Mobo:
    Mac Mini
    CPU:
    i3
    Graphics:
    hd3000
    I inserted Speedstep stuff into DSDT for i7 but how can i check if it is working?
     
  2. reaktor

    reaktor

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    10.6.8
    CPU:
    i5 750
    Graphics:
    Nvidia 9400 GT
    Jan 24, 2010 at 4:42 PM #2
    reaktor

    reaktor

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    10.6.8
    CPU:
    i5 750
    Graphics:
    Nvidia 9400 GT
    Open up a terminal and type:

    yes

    then hit enter. :)
     
  3. longtom

    longtom

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Mobo:
    Mac Mini
    CPU:
    i3
    Graphics:
    hd3000
    Jan 24, 2010 at 6:10 PM #3
    longtom

    longtom

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Mobo:
    Mac Mini
    CPU:
    i3
    Graphics:
    hd3000
    Thanks :idea:
     
  4. Demerdland

    Demerdland

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Jan 25, 2010 at 4:32 PM #4
    Demerdland

    Demerdland

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    wtf???

    Can you please explain what this yes command is and why it would indicate speedstep is on ?

    Thx in advance.
     
  5. tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7,987
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD5-TH
    CPU:
    Core i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    HD 530 / GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 25, 2010 at 4:37 PM #5
    tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7,987
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD5-TH
    CPU:
    Core i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    HD 530 / GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
  6. geminii

    geminii

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    243
    Mobo:
    ASUS Rampage IV Extreme
    CPU:
    Core i7-3970X
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 760 4Gb
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 26, 2010 at 5:27 AM #6
    geminii

    geminii

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    243
    Mobo:
    ASUS Rampage IV Extreme
    CPU:
    Core i7-3970X
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 760 4Gb
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I am curious as to what advantages/disadvantages there are with enabling Speedstep. I have a Core i7 860, which I believe is supposed to take advantage of this feature.

    Wouldn't it just be better to overclock the CPU?

    Also, what is the process to add this feature to the GA-P55-UD4P.aml?

    Thanks.
     

Share This Page