Contribute
Register

How to change the AR3012 Bluetooth Firmware version?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Dec 19, 2014
Messages
4
Motherboard
VAIO-SVE15127CJP
CPU
i7-3632MQ
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Other
Hello, I have just installed Mojave on my laptop. Everything works great except the Bluetooth.
What happen is that although Bluetooth icon displayed as active, the computer sometimes cannot find any of my devices.

When I boot macOS after rebooting windows, the bluetooth works very well.

But when I boot macOS directly, the bluetooth doesn't work.



When I boot macOS after rebooting windows, the bluetooth firmware version is 6.258

When I boot macOS directly, the bluetooth firmware version is 5.258

I think that is why this problem occurs.





The Bluetooth chipset is AR3012(AR5B225).

Now I want to change the AR3012 Firmware version on Mac but don't now how to do.

Is there any way to change it?
 

Attachments

  • Direct.png
    Direct.png
    289 KB · Views: 283
  • Windows.png
    Windows.png
    288.9 KB · Views: 296

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
26,073
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 17, 2018
Messages
3
Motherboard
Dell Inspiron 15 3543
CPU
i3-5005U
Graphics
HD 5500
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello, I have just installed Mojave on my laptop. Everything works great except the Bluetooth.
What happen is that although Bluetooth icon displayed as active, the computer sometimes cannot find any of my devices.

When I boot macOS after rebooting windows, the bluetooth works very well.

But when I boot macOS directly, the bluetooth doesn't work.



When I boot macOS after rebooting windows, the bluetooth firmware version is 6.258

When I boot macOS directly, the bluetooth firmware version is 5.258

I think that is why this problem occurs.





The Bluetooth chipset is AR3012(AR5B225).

Now I want to change the AR3012 Firmware version on Mac but don't now how to do.

Is there any way to change it?
In those two pictures you show the firmware version goes from 5 to 6. Try updating the card via Device manager in windows
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,805
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello, I have just installed Mojave on my laptop. Everything works great except the Bluetooth.
What happen is that although Bluetooth icon displayed as active, the computer sometimes cannot find any of my devices.

When I boot macOS after rebooting windows, the bluetooth works very well.

But when I boot macOS directly, the bluetooth doesn't work.



When I boot macOS after rebooting windows, the bluetooth firmware version is 6.258

When I boot macOS directly, the bluetooth firmware version is 5.258

I think that is why this problem occurs.





The Bluetooth chipset is AR3012(AR5B225).

Now I want to change the AR3012 Firmware version on Mac but don't now how to do.

Is there any way to change it?

Read FAQ for recommended BT/WiFi hardware:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2014
Messages
4
Motherboard
VAIO-SVE15127CJP
CPU
i7-3632MQ
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Other

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,805
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
Dec 19, 2014
Messages
4
Motherboard
VAIO-SVE15127CJP
CPU
i7-3632MQ
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Other
Did you already replace your unsupported WiFi/BT hardware with supported Broadcom WiFi/BT hardware?
It is built-in and my laptop is BIoS whitelisted so I don't want to replace it.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,805
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It is built-in and my laptop is BIoS whitelisted so I don't want to replace it.

Since your WiFi/BT hardware is not compatible, you don't really have a choice.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top