How to chainload (boot into) clover through GRUB2?

Discussion in 'Bootloaders' started by Vengeance1020, Dec 27, 2016.

  1. Vengeance1020

    Vengeance1020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Dec 27, 2016 at 10:07 PM #1
    Vengeance1020

    Vengeance1020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Hi, I want to boot into the clover bootloader but keep GRUB2 as the default bootloader. I have done this with the chameleon bootloader and I want to switch to clover. My disk is MBR formatted with 4 partitions (3 in an extended partition), I can boot into Windows and Ubuntu just fine with GRUB2 but I need to use my USB drive with chameleon installed on it to boot into OS X Yosemite. I have used GRUB Customizer to add the OS X entry and it is currently set as a chainloader, it doesn't boot into clover due to some errors in grub, which is a UUID not found error and "error: hd1 cannot get C/H/S values". I checked, the UUID is correct for my partition which has OS X on it (/dev/sda7). The chainloader data automatically set by GRUB Customizer is:
    Code (Text):
    set root='(hd1,7)'
    search -no-floppy-fs-uuid-set #Insert UUID
    drivemap -s (hd0) ${root}
    chainloader +1
    The comment in there is to represent the actual UUID, which is in the code in the GRUB Customizer, I just don't wanna type all of it here.
    I have also changed
    Code (Text):
    set root='(hd1,7)'
    to
    Code (Text):
    set root='(hd0)'
    which fixes the C/H/S value error but the UUID error remains. I installed clover to my OS X partition without writing to MBR (because I wanted grub2 to be the default bootloader in MBR). Do I need a FAT32 EFI partiton? Do I need to format the drive as GPT? I don't think changing the partition map is necessary since clover supports MBR. Please Help, I don't want to rely on a flash drive to boot into OS X. I also want to avoid reformatting because I really do not want to reinstall everything AGAIN.
     
  2. Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,094
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Dec 28, 2016 at 11:04 PM #2
    Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,094
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    For legacy booting of this type you need to install Clover to the root of the OS X drive - launch the Clover installer and allow it to install with default selections to your sda7 OS X partition. Once that is done you will need to modify the config.plist to match your hardware. The default config.plists are usually for the build of whoever compiled Clover and uploaded it to SourceForge and generally have settings that conflict with your actual hardware.
     
  3. Vengeance1020

    Vengeance1020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Dec 29, 2016 at 9:51 AM #3
    Vengeance1020

    Vengeance1020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Does that also mean I should allow clover to install to MBR? And if so, would GRUB2 still be default? I want GRUB2 to be default. And what code should I use to boot to clover from Grub?
     
  4. Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,094
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Dec 30, 2016 at 12:41 AM #4
    Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,094
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Why do you want to use Grub2 as boot loader? Use clover to boot grub2 is easier.
     
  5. Vengeance1020

    Vengeance1020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Dec 31, 2016 at 6:03 AM #5
    Vengeance1020

    Vengeance1020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    You can do that? How can you do that? Will it work on an MBR disk? Will I need to build an EFI partition? Unless clover can boot into Ubuntu, I am gonna want to keep grub2 on the device, but if it's possible to use clover to chainload to grub2?
     
  6. Vengeance1020

    Vengeance1020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Jan 1, 2017 at 7:35 AM #6
    Vengeance1020

    Vengeance1020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Installed clover with default settings, stock config.plist should be able to boot my system, upon boot it goes straight to windows. Am I missing anything?. The default selections are to not write to MBR and install clover for BIOS on root of partition. My Hackintosh partition has the clover files in root. I wonder if the issue is that the windows partition is first and is marked as active (which I have not found out how to remove)
     
  7. Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,094
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Jan 3, 2017 at 11:56 AM #7
    Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,094
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    You need to install Clover selecting boot0SS - this allows the system to look for the Clover bootloader first even though Windows is the Active partition. Clover needs to be installed Legacy mode - do not select to install UEFI only or install to ESP.
    In config.plist under the Scan section you need to add a Linux entry.
     
  8. Vengeance1020

    Vengeance1020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Jan 17, 2017 at 8:04 AM #8
    Vengeance1020

    Vengeance1020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    I did as you said and my system still goes straight to windows after installing clover.
     
  9. Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,094
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Jan 17, 2017 at 12:07 PM #9
    Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,094
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Check BIOS settings - is OS X drive first in boot order?
     
  10. Vengeance1020

    Vengeance1020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Jan 17, 2017 at 3:38 PM #10
    Vengeance1020

    Vengeance1020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    I'm booting off one drive, my bios wouldn't know the difference, but I will check.
     

Share This Page