Contribute
Register

How to build your own iMac Pro [Successful Build/Extended Guide]

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
May 27, 2011
Messages
212
Motherboard
Asus Z370-A Prime
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Well, apparently the Gigabyte Radeon RX Vega 64 Gaming OC 8GB behaves anything then straight.

1.) @apfelnico 's Vega SSDT did not work at all, not even after careful adaptation. I had to come up with a new SSDT (see attachment) to properly implement all 6 ports (3x DP, 3x HDMI).

View attachment 339958

2.) Yet I was not able to successfully implement a "PP_PhmSoftPowerPlayTable" or "MyRadeonVegaLowFansSpeed.kext" to dominate the fan speed issue (fan always at max. rotation) or to further increase it's performance. In both cases the fans stopped working.

3.) Last but not least, your new VegaGraphicsfixup.kext for 10.14 did not improve the HDMI black screen issue when returning from a powered-off display under PB1. There is also a HDMI and DP black screen issue when returning from system sleep at least under 10.13.6 PB5 and 10.14 PB1 . Also Whatevergreen.kext did no bring any solution..

4.) Finally, also this card has a DP 1.4 3860x1600 pix boot screen resolution problem (VGA only) when connecting to my LG 38UC99-W (DP 1.2 only). Via HDMI, the LG 38UC99-W runs @30 HZ under 10.13. However, 10.14 seems the remove the latter issue (again 60 Hz).

I spent nearly 5 days in trying to fix the individual issues with more or less success.

I finally decided to return the Gigabyte Radeon RX Vega 64 Gaming OC 8GB and go for Sapphire Nitro+ RX Vega 64 implementations on both my X99 and X299 systems. While on X99, the Nitro+ will remain unmodified with it's airflow implementation (3-slot solution), I will water block the Nitro+ for my X299 system (Bykski Water block from AliExpress).

Now to wait until newly purchased hardware arrives. The Bykski Water block will come from China (7-15 days shipment). The Nitros will arrive within 3-5 days..

Hi KGP, I'm snuggling to get my Nitro+ 64 under control in macOS. I think the VGTab is not completely correctly creating the tables. It has impact with VegaTab_64.kext in clover kexts but sometimes the fans spin drom idle to something let say 70-80% max. Can you tell me what is best practice to use the Nitro+ (just air) to get it optimal running in my system? I have a little week to possibly sent it back but the Vega is compared to the nVidia card I had heaven ... well if I can manage the fan issue. Please help.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2015
Messages
136
Motherboard
ASUS Sage WS II x299
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
AMD Radeon 6900XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
General question here, is anyone using the Vega 16GB FE card, and do you have any complaints or comments on it related to the x299 build? I am considering selling my Titan X Maxwell and switching to the AMD 16gb but I'm kind of curious at what sort of endeavor it is over, say the 8gb version? I will be primarily using it for resolve.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2018
Messages
10
Motherboard
Asus Rog Strix X299 E-Gaming
CPU
i9-7940X
Graphics
GTX 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi,
Thx for your nice tutorial.

Unfortunately I´m not able to install my Copy of High Sierra 10.13.6 On my Build.
The Installation stops at Error:
"Error allocating 0x125d pages at 0x00000000158e8000 alloc type2"
"Couldn´t allocate runtime area"

Maybe you know something I can do there?

best,
Phil





Asus Rog Strix X299
Intel I9 7940
Gigabyte Geforce GTX 1080
64Gb G-Skill Memory
m.2 SSD
2x Samsung Sata SSD
 

Attachments

  • IMG_9462.JPG
    IMG_9462.JPG
    1.5 MB · Views: 113
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
2,669
Motherboard
N/A
CPU
N/A
Graphics
N/A
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
General question here, is anyone using the Vega 16GB FE card, and do you have any complaints or comments on it related to the x299 build? I am considering selling my Titan X Maxwell and switching to the AMD 16gb but I'm kind of curious at what sort of endeavor it is over, say the 8gb version? I will be primarily using it for resolve.

I love the Vega FE. No problems whatsoever. It looks really good too. I removed the shroud and disconnected the yellow lights (I hate lights) and it's now dark and works well.

If you can find it for a good price, go for it.

The fact that you don't have to mess around with drivers is #1 priority for me, but the other fact is it sits between the 1080 and 1080Ti, that's a solid ok from me and will last a while.

Vega 64 8GB or Vega FE 16GB might yield you similar results in Resolve...I would go for the latter since it seems Apple might be using the same die since they also have a 16GB Vega 64 model in the iMac Pro....as Vega 64 retail only has 8GB.

Note primarily I do design work and motion graphics, so right up your alley and really like this card. Previous cards were: GTX1080, GTX980Ti (2x), RX560.

Also note that you can put a 2nd Vega FE in your system and use Resolve Studio for multiple GPUs.
 
  • Like
Reactions: kgp
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
2,669
Motherboard
N/A
CPU
N/A
Graphics
N/A
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi,
Thx for your nice tutorial.

Unfortunately I´m not able to install my Copy of High Sierra 10.13.6 On my Build.
The Installation stops at Error:
"Error allocating 0x125d pages at 0x00000000158e8000 alloc type2"
"Couldn´t allocate runtime area"

Maybe you know something I can do there?

best,
Phil





Asus Rog Strix X299
Intel I9 7940
Gigabyte Geforce GTX 1080
64Gb G-Skill Memory
m.2 SSD
2x Samsung Sata SSD

Please post your EFI zip.

Are you using AptioMemoryFix-64.efi and not any other Aptio fix? (The zip in 1st post has all the necessary kexts and .efi files to get you started)
Also CsrActiveConfig should be set to 0x67 on config.plist
 
  • Like
Reactions: kgp

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,783
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi KGP, I'm snuggling to get my Nitro+ 64 under control in macOS. I think the VGTab is not completely correctly creating the tables. It has impact with VegaTab_64.kext in clover kexts but sometimes the fans spin drom idle to something let say 70-80% max. Can you tell me what is best practice to use the Nitro+ (just air) to get it optimal running in my system? I have a little week to possibly sent it back but the Vega is compared to the nVidia card I had heaven ... well if I can manage the fan issue. Please help.

Why don't you simply use the load table implemented in the actual version of my SSDT-X299-iMacPro-Vega.aml, attached to my guide in the originating post of this thread? It perfectly works in my case and is already optimised...

Note that I also changed the Nitro+ Vega 64 firmware to https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/200283/200283 (at BIOS jumper position 1). Don't forget to backup the original firmware, in case you return it to the seller! This thread might provide additional information in this context: https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/amd-polaris-vega-gpu-macos-support.2083168/.

Good luck,

KGP
 

gib

Joined
Aug 5, 2018
Messages
1
Motherboard
X299 Raider Pro
CPU
i7-7820X
Graphics
Radeon Pro WX2100
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
@kgp for some reason i can't even get the latest High Sierra OS to install. i attempt to install via Clover USB; the Apple logo shows up, then i run into their "Prohibitory" Symbol [ Ø ].

Any help with my issues would be fantastic!
Thanks in advance -Raider Dave
 

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,783
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@kgp for some reason i can't even get the latest High Sierra OS to install. i attempt to install via Clover USB; the Apple logo shows up, then i run into their "Prohibitory" Symbol [ Ø ].

Any help with my issues would be fantastic!
Thanks in advance -Raider Dave

Did you adopt and add TSCAdjustReset.kext to my EFI-Folder as outlined in my guide? Also please boot with boot flag -v!

If the latter does not help, please upload your EFI-Folder + screenshots of your BIOS settings!

Good luck,

KGP
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2017
Messages
30
Motherboard
Asus Prime x299 Deluxe
CPU
i9-7900x
Graphics
Radeon Vega Frontier Edition
Hey friends, just bumping for some help with Premiere Pro CC2018 and the X299 Hackintosh (in signature).

The system basically freezes during export to ProRes or other codecs (incl. H264).

I can move the mouse, but have to hard reboot since it's a complete stall.

Is there any logs I should look out for? Any help appreciated.
Yes, I've been getting a lock up during PP export for awhile now. A lock up use to be hit or miss, but with recent updates either in macos or from the guide a lock up is almost instant when using Metal or OpenCL. I can usually get a little further with software encoding, but its still inevitable. I usually am exporting around an hours worth of DNxHD content to h264. It doesn't matter if I use Premiere Pro or AME.

I've pretty much given up on trying to troubleshoot it as it seems to definitely be Apple and Adobe related. I still do all my editing on my Mac, but use my Windows machine to export. Not ideal but it works and frees up resources on my Mac for what would normally be a 45 minute encode so I can get other things done.

I'm getting other random lockups, but the Premiere induced ones are a hard lockup and guaranteed to happen.
 

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,783
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes, I've been getting a lock up during PP export for awhile now. A lock up use to be hit or miss, but with recent updates either in macos or from the guide a lock up is almost instant when using Metal or OpenCL. I can usually get a little further with software encoding, but its still inevitable. I usually am exporting around an hours worth of DNxHD content to h264. It doesn't matter if I use Premiere Pro or AME.

I've pretty much given up on trying to troubleshoot it as it seems to definitely be Apple and Adobe related. I still do all my editing on my Mac, but use my Windows machine to export. Not ideal but it works and frees up resources on my Mac for what would normally be a 45 minute encode so I can get other things done.

I'm getting other random lockups, but the Premiere induced ones are a hard lockup and guaranteed to happen.

Did you try to increase AVX and AVX-512 offsets in BIOS as suggested in one of the recent posts?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top