Contribute
Register

How to build your own iMac Pro [Successful Build/Extended Guide]

Status
Not open for further replies.

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,784
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Back to work ;)...

Apparently, we are still missing a i9-7920X code snipped for respective CPxx->PRxx ACPI replacements.

Anybody with a i9-7920X willing to contribute?

Thanks in advance,

KGP
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2018
Messages
549
Motherboard
Prime X299-A
CPU
i9-9980XE
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Back to work ;)...

Apparently, we are still missing a i9-7920X code snipped for respective CPxx->PRxx ACPI replacements.

Anybody with a i9-7920X willing to contribute?

Thanks in advance,

KGP

Can you please explain me the purpose of these ACPI replacements for CPUs? Thanks.
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2012
Messages
1
Motherboard
GA-X299-UD4
CPU
i9-7920X
Graphics
8GB Quadro P4000
Mac
  1. iMac
Back to work ;)...

Apparently, we are still missing a i9-7920X code snipped for respective CPxx->PRxx ACPI replacements.

Anybody with a i9-7920X willing to contribute?

Thanks in advance,

KGP

My machine has this CPU in question on a Gigabyte X299 UD4 (built April 2018)

10.13.6_17G65.png


But I don't know how to create such a snippet.

* should it be a terminal command line like ioreg -option -option > CPU_ACPI.info ??
* on the other hand: latest Xcode for 10.13 is installed...

That is because I didn't all these elaborated things described here in this thread.
And above all I didn't any ACPI replacement & nor even by hand.
So, these snippet values (if I would be able to generate them) are probably not useful for you?

Despite of that this machine does it very well in my opinion:

geekbench.png

opencl.png


However: It would be nice if I can help you...
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: kgp
Joined
May 23, 2018
Messages
5
Motherboard
Gigabyte x299 Ultra Gaming
CPU
i9 7900x
Graphics
GTX 1080
Sorry.. I am on holidays.. cannot look to it before Wednesday next week..
Hi again @kgp, Just following up. I still am stuck at productbuild --distribution ./091-94326/091-94326.English.dist --package-path ./091-94326/ installer.pkg. Am i missing some step possibly? thanks!
 

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,784
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
New EFI-Folder distribution attached to originating post of this thread (guide)

EFI-Folder related changes:
  • Implementation of Clover_v2.4k_r4657
  • Adding AptioInputFix-64.efi, AppleImageLoader-64.efi and AppleUISupport-64.efi
Enjoy and have fun,

kgp.png
 

Attachments

  • EFI-X299-10.13.6-Release-iMacPro1,1-220818.zip
    17.4 MB · Views: 41

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,784
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi again @kgp, Just following up. I still am stuck at productbuild --distribution ./091-94326/091-94326.English.dist --package-path ./091-94326/ installer.pkg. Am i missing some step possibly? thanks!

One simple and stupid question? :rolleyes:

Did you change back to desktop in the terminal before executing the "productbuild" command? o_O

Note the "cd .." above "productbuild --distribution ./091-94326/091-94326.English.dist --package-path ./091-94326/ installer.pkg" !!!!!

Just verified once more the entire procedure and it works 100%!
 

RuleBreaker01

Banned
Joined
May 31, 2018
Messages
1,136
@izo1 Did you try the airport card with a BCM94360CD , the one that has 4 antenna connectors?
Seems that on this card the J3 connector is dedicated to BT

The newer BCM943602CS has only 3, and while I read that BT radio is shared with the wifi one, Im starting to wonder if that is really the case, or does that card use a built-in antenna like a lot of BT chipset...
That would explain why range sucks so bad when used inside a PC case.
 
Joined
May 23, 2018
Messages
5
Motherboard
Gigabyte x299 Ultra Gaming
CPU
i9 7900x
Graphics
GTX 1080
One simple and stupid question? :rolleyes:

Did you change back to desktop in the terminal before executing the "productbuild" command? o_O

Note the "cd .." above "productbuild --distribution ./091-94326/091-94326.English.dist --package-path ./091-94326/ installer.pkg" !!!!!

Just verified once more the entire procedure and it works 100%!
Uhh yeaaaaaaaaah. I probably should've done that....:banghead: My absolute inexperience with macs and lack of following directions is showing. But Thankyou!
 
  • Like
Reactions: kgp
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top