Contribute
Register

How to build your own iMac Pro [Successful Build/Extended Guide]

Status
Not open for further replies.

RuleBreaker01

Banned
Joined
May 31, 2018
Messages
1,201
Same time here...
I’m guessing with just one screen it will work, be it connected to the TB3 or directly to the RX580. It makes no difference really that it goes via the TB3. The DP signal is passed through
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
2,659
Motherboard
N/A
CPU
N/A
Graphics
N/A
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
did you end up posting this?

The Broadcom BT module is a tad unstable in the ASRock, want to see if that makes a difference.

Changing the usb port type from 0 to 255 fixed it for me... Now when I reboot, the BT trackpad and keyboard reconnects immediately.. awesome

Haven't had a chance to update my X299USB.kext with USB-C. I'll be getting a USB-C device soon so will keep this updated.

Broadcom BT module has to be 255 or else you will have issues. macOS needs to see it as an "onboard" device because you are using PCIID_Broadcom.kext to fake the card (wifi portion) to be an AirPort card. I had issues when it was set to 0 instead of 255 (for BT) since it uses USB and not PCIe like the Wifi portion of the card..

Did you take a look at my latest X299USB.kext? Even though it's for Designare EX (based on DSM2's original file) it should show how to match ports properly.

Basically what I did was get USB 2.0 and USB 3.0 device and one by one went with USB 3.0 and checked which port is what then went again with USB 2.0 device to make HS and SSP properly match the ports.

The only things I have left to perfect/test is USB-C and Thunderbolt 3 (Good thing Designare EX has it on board).
I just don't have USB-C and TB3 devices in possession at the moment.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2013
Messages
44
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 SAGE
CPU
Intel Core i9-9940X
Graphics
AMD Radeon RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've upgraded from an X299-A Prime (which is basically an X299 Deluxe sans a few bells & whistles) to a Rampage VI Apex (for my OC needs). Curious if anyone has gotten this board working and what I can do to help build some DSDTs for it. I have a working Windows installation and the time and willingness to help. Please point me in the right direction... :)

PS: my existing install (mostly) works. I had to boot via my USB installer Clover install, and it's slow as molasses, but bootable and "working"… ;)
 

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,769
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've upgraded from an X299-A Prime (which is basically an X299 Deluxe sans a few bells & whistles) to a Rampage VI Apex (for my OC needs). Curious if anyone has gotten this board working and what I can do to help build some DSDTs for it. I have a working Windows installation and the time and willingness to help. Please point me in the right direction... :)

PS: my existing install (mostly) works. I had to boot via my USB installer Clover install, and it's slow as molasses, but bootable and "working"… ;)

a.) In my personal opinion, the difference between the Prime and Prime Deluxe does not just consist in a few bells & whistles ;)...

b.) What are the advantages of the Rampage VI Apex in terms of OC? Both, Rampage VI Apex and Extreme are know not to be very handy in terms of OSX. In my opinion, e.g. the Asus X299 Sage, the Gigabyte X299 Designare EX or even the ASRock x299 Professional Gaming definitely would have been the better decision.

Good luck in any case with your endevour ;)
 
Last edited:

RuleBreaker01

Banned
Joined
May 31, 2018
Messages
1,201

I was looking at your post to see how you had configured your BIOS to get sleep to work on your Taichi motherboard, but it appears that your screenshots got removed from your post.
Any chance you could post them again?

I can put my machine to sleep, but it turns back on immediately after only 2s.

pmset -g log gives me:
2018-04-13 09:59:05 +0200 Wake Wake from Normal Sleep [CDNVA] due to XHCI ETH0/Network: Using AC (Charge:0%)

as the reason for waking up.
I added a
Method (_PRW, 0, NotSerialized) // _PRW: Power Resources for Wake
{
Return (GPRW (0x69, 0x04))
}

method to \_SB.PCI0.ETH0 , but doesn't appear to have made a difference.
 
Joined
Sep 16, 2017
Messages
21
Motherboard
ASUS PRIME DELUXE X299
CPU
i9-7900X
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
Hi everybody !
I posted here 6 months ago with a configuration project for a 4k editing workstation with FCP X. Following DSM2's advice I decided to give up on the GTX 1080ti a had to wait a veryyyy looong time to eventually get a SAPPHIRE nitro+ VEGA 64 !!!
so I did gathered all the parts of my first hackintosh (and first workstation) built ever !... for the rest I followed @kgp's config except for the watercooling part as I felt not skilled enough and also because I found some trustful workstations builders who usually do not use it : Puget Systems. So I made my own mix with the 3 of you and here is my config :

LG 31MU97Z-B
Fractal Design Define R6
EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G3 - 1000W

ASUS PRIME X299-DELUXE
Core i9-7900X
Noctua NH-U12DXi4 120mm
x4 Vengeance LPX 16 Go - DDR4 3000 MHz Cas 15
SAPPHIRE RADEON RX VEGA 64 Nitro+

Samsung 850 EVO 500 Go (mac OS)
Samsung 850 EVO 250 Go (windows)
Samsung SSD 960 Evo M.2 1TB (Media cache)
SilverStone SST-ECS04
x3 WD Gold 4TB (in RAID 5 for media files)


Already prepared the case, still need to build Mobo and Graphic Card and then... installing Mac Os following your precious guide ! Hope I will manage to get through it without over bothering you !
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 12, 2018
Messages
6
Motherboard
Toshiba Satellite C650-06E
CPU
Intel Core i3-2350M
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 3000
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. Other
good for you
Hi everybody !
I posted here 6 months ago with a configuration project for a 4k editing workstation with FCP X. Following DSM2's advice I decided to give up on the GTX 1080ti a had to wait a veryyyy looong time to eventually get a SAPPHIRE nitro+ VEGA 64 !!!
so I did gathered all the parts of my first hackintosh (and first workstation) built ever !... for the rest I followed @kgp's config except for the watercooling part as I felt not skilled enough and also because I found some trustful workstations builders who usually do not use it : Puget Systems. So I made my own mix with the 3 of you and here is my config :

LG 31MU97Z-B
Fractal Design Define R6
EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G3 - 1000W

ASUS PRIME X299-DELUXE
Core i9-7900X
Noctua NH-U12DXi4 120mm
x4 Vengeance LPX 16 Go - DDR4 3000 MHz Cas 15
SAPPHIRE RADEON RX VEGA 64 Nitro+

Samsung 850 EVO 500 Go (mac OS)
Samsung 850 EVO 250 Go (windows)
Samsung SSD 960 Evo M.2 1TB (Media cache)
SilverStone SST-ECS04
x3 WD Gold 4TB (in RAID 5 for media files)


Already prepared the case, still need to build Mobo and Graphic Card and then... installing Mac Os following your precious guide ! Hope I will manage to get through it without over bothering you !
 

RuleBreaker01

Banned
Joined
May 31, 2018
Messages
1,201
Update with ASRock Fatal1ty board.
I have sleep working.
It kept waking up due to the XHCI and GBE1 (ETH0) PRW method in the original DSDT that did:
Return (GPRW (0x6D, 0x04))

I changed that into:
Return (GPRW (0x69, 0x04))

That and TB3 hotplug working (still no go with USB-C on the TB3 card though)...

Is there a way to easily remove the PRW method of a particular device using clover, rather than having the modify the entire DSDT (which makes upgrade painful) ??

@kgp question for you... I can see with the Intel Power Gadget that the frequency changes all the way down to 1.2GHz, yet, following "E.1) HWP (Intel SpeedShift Technology) CPU Power Management Configuration"

X86PlatformPlugin.kext isn't loaded (kextstat|grep -y x86plat returns nothing). I have plugin-type checked in Clover, and in the CP00@0, I can see that the plugin-type property was inserted.
sysctl -n machdep.xcpm.vectors_loaded_count also returns 0.

Any suggestions, or entry in the BIOS I should be looking at?

thanks
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2011
Messages
78
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299-Deluxe
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
GTX 1070
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
they are easy to obtain. On macOS with SMBIOS set to iMacPro,1, launch the Boot camp assistant, and select Action -> Download windows support software. This will download all the drivers, in the Drivers -> Apple folder you'll find the null ones.
Oterhwise, I've attached it here.

Mind you, those drivers do absolutely nothing but attached themselves to the Intel Thunderbolt chipset. It's almost the same as not having any drivers installed at all.
But something strange happend.. i just used CCloner to clone my disk to another and booted it up and voila.. my thunderbolt screen working with camera and sound! So happy now!

Using the system for a couple of days now and sometimes it freezes. Cant do anything but reboot or turn of manually. Anyone else experience the same on this system?

Thank you!
 

RuleBreaker01

Banned
Joined
May 31, 2018
Messages
1,201
Thanks But something strange happend.. i just used CCloner to clone my disk to another and booted it up and voila.. my thunderbolt screen working with camera and sound! So happy now!

Using the system for a couple of days now and sometimes it freezes. Cant do anything but reboot or turn of manually. Anyone else experience the same on this system?

Great to know.
I experience lock up when I OC a tad too much, and the AVX offset is a bit too low. So for example, on my setup with the 7980xe, I use the "Per Core Usage" running at 4.6GHz for up to 8 cores.
I need to have the AVX2 offset at 4 for things not to hang.

Try this maybe.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top