Contribute
Register

How to build your own iMac Pro [Successful Build/Extended Guide]

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Aug 2, 2011
Messages
865
Motherboard
X299 Designare EX
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
512K, Plus
Mobile Phone
iOS
I just purchased a Radeon Pro WX 7100 for my Asus Prime X299-Deluxe for my new build. Your info means that I expect this to work for me. I'm sure that the rest of this discussion will help me when I try this now.

I wanted to start with 10.12.6 as it works on my current listed system. It sounds like 10.13.0 is working very well & may be the better choice. What is your opinion on that point or any one elses.
How did the WX7100 work out?
 
Joined
Apr 17, 2012
Messages
106
Motherboard
Asus X299 Prime Deluxe
CPU
i9-7960x
Graphics
Vega 56
Hi @kgp,

I have everything working by following you amazing guide closely, but I still cannot get hotswap on my TB3 -> TB2 adapter working.
On the clover entry am I supposed to leave the PCI Address as 01:00.00 or do I track it down in my boot.log or IOReg and replace it?
View media item 190316Thank you in advance!

View media item 190315
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Jan 26, 2018
Messages
932
Motherboard
ASRock X299 Professional Gaming XE
CPU
i9-7980xe
Graphics
Vega
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Hey @jyavenard, have you found a solution to the "USB Current Overload" message at boot with the TB Display plugged in? I've made it work by plugging the display during clover as you recommended, but I fear it could damage something on the mobo by doing it that way, I'm I just being paranoid?
I no longer use the Asus ThunderboltEX card, but the ASRock which doesn't have this problem.
Mind you, while I was troubleshooting an issue with the ASRock card and the new Asus BIOS, I used the Asus TB3 card and I didn't get the USB current overload message. So maybe that got fixed.

The connectors are designed to be hotpluggable. I wouldn't worry about plugging it in...
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2018
Messages
932
Motherboard
ASRock X299 Professional Gaming XE
CPU
i9-7980xe
Graphics
Vega
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Anyway I thought it was time for an an update to Mac OS 12.13.4 and of course to iMacPro1,1 definition.
So this weekend I read KGP's updated guide, very detailed as usual, created a brand-new USB stick using 31-03-2018 EFI folder distribution and I followed all instructions to create a brand new fresh install, but no! USB stick brings me to Clover UI but after during the boot process it gets stuck right here (see picture):

View attachment 322879

I thought I did everything I needed to, but I guess it is not the case.
If it's a Gigabyte motherboard you have, then no, you haven't followed the guide closely enough :)
You need to have npci=0x2000 added to the arg boot. That detail is easy to miss as the mention of this boot flag isn't with the rest of the GB instructions.

In clover, while booting, if you go into clover settings, you can add the "npci=0x2000" to the boot flags, easier than mounting the EFI partition and modifying the config.plist.
Once booted, start Clover Configurator and check npci=0x2000 in the Boot section
 
Joined
Apr 17, 2012
Messages
106
Motherboard
Asus X299 Prime Deluxe
CPU
i9-7960x
Graphics
Vega 56
The .ioreg you've provided wasn't saved using a version of IORegistry Explorer that would allow anyone else to open it. Use IOJones to save it
My bad. I just replaced it. Uploading to this post as well.

It looks like DSB0 shows PCIHotplugCapable set as 0x1, but DSB1 (where the device is actually plugged into and showing up under) and DSB2 do not.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jan 26, 2018
Messages
932
Motherboard
ASRock X299 Professional Gaming XE
CPU
i9-7980xe
Graphics
Vega
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
My bad. I just replaced it. Uploading to this post as well.

It looks like DSB0 shows PCIHotplugCapable set as 0x1, but DSB1 (where the device is actually plugged into and showing up under) and DSB2 do not.
If you look at a real mac pro ioreg PCIHotplugCapable is set to 0x0 only on the DSB0 and DSB2 device. So I'm not sure having the value set to 0x1 is compulsory. Seems that only have the key is required.

You can add that key to DSB1 and DSB4 too and see how you go...

(I'm fairly convinced hotplug works for other reasons than what most believe, as we're far from universal success with this: it only works for some)
 

ImaPirate

Banned
Joined
May 26, 2018
Messages
130
OH MY GOODNESS! 677 pages?!?! o_O:crazy:WOW!!!:crazy:o_O That's amazing! They should rename this site KGPx86.com! Anyhoo, I just wanted to say hi KGP. I've been very busy and very soon I'm going to attempt to update from 10.13.2 to 10.13.4 within the next few days when I have time. I hope you won't mind if I have a question that I can ask you for help if I need it. Thank you again for all that you're doing to stay on top of this post! :clap:
 
  • Like
Reactions: kgp
Joined
Apr 17, 2012
Messages
106
Motherboard
Asus X299 Prime Deluxe
CPU
i9-7960x
Graphics
Vega 56
If you look at a real mac pro ioreg PCIHotplugCapable is set to 0x0 only on the DSB0 and DSB2 device. So I'm not sure having the value set to 0x1 is compulsory. Seems that only have the key is required.

You can add that key to DSB1 and DSB4 too and see how you go...

(I'm fairly convinced hotplug works for other reasons than what most believe, as we're far from universal success with this: it only works for some)
:banghead::banghead::banghead:

Maybe it has to do with the device itself?
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2013
Messages
145
Motherboard
Asus X299 A 32Gb Ram
CPU
i9 -7920X
Graphics
ATI RX 580 Sapphire Pulse
Mac
iMac
Hey @perfecto245,

I'm about to update to 10.13.4, so your input regarding the Nvidia drivers is greatly appreciated.

We have almost the exact same system. I've never been able to get sleep/wake to work but I haven't implemented an SSDT. The difference in our system is the graphics card (I have a 1070 Ti) but I'm wondering if there are differences in our setup.

Have you implemented an SSDT? If so, would you be open to sharing it with me?

I'm trying to run a lean a system as possible. The following are the only kexts I have installed:
AppleALC (1.2.4)
FakeSMC (6.26.1463, with sensors included as plugins)
IntelMausiEthernet (2.3.0)
Lilu (1.2.2)
TSCAdjustReset (from @interfernc, I'm running the new BIOS - 1301 and use it to unlock the MSR register)

Any insight you have would be extremely welcome.

Hey nnorris7, thanks. Basically I had to remove all the extra entries that were not part of my board from the SSDT along with adding the basic device id and compatable adjustments for HDEF HDAU and GFX0

I'm attaching my SSDT here, you will find 2 both need to be in the ACPI patched folder in your EFI, you might need to adjust your device id, compatible information for your graphics card and HDAU which is the HDMI audio port as I doubt they will be similar. make sure all the ACPI patches are turned on in your clover configurator except the ARPT one unless you are using the recommended wifi card that kgp has used in his guide. Those Graphics and HDAU settings can be found with the help of Ioregistryexplorer by typing in Display. Click on BRA2A (for the HDAU) and GFX0 for the graphics card.

you may not need to change the implemented HDEF settings since we have the same board.

all necessary software can be found at the bottom of kgs's awesome guide. plus some basics of how to find and make the change to the SSDT in one of kgp's post here #4852

Also Sleep/Wake use to work for me right of the bat before the SSDT, make sure you've covered all of kgp's steps.

Even though the NvidiaGraphicsFixup is obsolete, some how it makes some small resolution issues and things go away for me with my card so Ive left that in there. (1.2.3 version)

Good Luck!
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top