Contribute
Register

How to build your own iMac Pro [Successful Build/Extended Guide]

Status
Not open for further replies.

DSM2

Banned
Joined
Mar 16, 2018
Messages
47
Motherboard
X299 Designare EX
CPU
7900X Delided @4,8 GHz
Graphics
2x VEGA64 EKWB
I never figured out the dsdt issue that prevents me from using 2 RME raydats and a UAD octo together. It seems impossible to find a PCI configuration that works. This was problematic also on the C612 chipset with the dual xeons but I was able to fix the dsdt there.
I was able to find a configuration where it booted and all 3 cards showed up in ioreg and the system profile but the system only saw one raydat and the apollo. I was able to find a configuration where both raydats were recognised but then it was impossible to find a slot for the UAD octo. So it's just 1 raydat and an UAD octo for now.
I'll keep hacking at it but I am stumped for the moment. Might be time to sell everything and get a thunderbolt madi configuration but it's expensive and I need to get some music done.

Maybe you run out of Lanes.
Don't know what everything is built into your rig but would be my first thought.
On my build I use all 44 Lanes, If I try to add another card it acts a little bit like your System, If it boots up even...
I use my UAD Octo on the last PCIE Slot but I use the Designare and not the X299 Deluxe.
 
Last edited:

RuleBreaker01

Banned
Joined
May 31, 2018
Messages
1,198
Thanks for your reply
but I'm just updating my 10.13.3 with the Supplemental Update
I 've always (Minor) Update my previous build without making USB installer.
Please can you confirm that
Thanks

why would you need to download a DMG?
Why don't you let Apple Update do its job?
 

RuleBreaker01

Banned
Joined
May 31, 2018
Messages
1,198
I received the ASRock Professional Gaming i9 XE this morning and now I have time to set it up...
So I'm not going to work on the Designare any more...
As such, I'm posting what I have achieved so far, in the hope that it will help others.
The included SSDT doesn't contain anything optional, only stuff found on the motherboard. So the entry for the graphic card, the airport card or the TB3 external card isn't there.
If you do have a nvidia card, fitted in the PCI 1 slot, you can take @kgp GFX0 entry SSDT as is.
I have never bothered to get audio working, I have no need for it.

What works:
- Thunderbolt devices show up in the PCI list.
- All motherboard devices are showing
- USB 3.1 USBC devices connected on the TB3 ports are working, provided you boot the mac with it
- Sleep/Wake works, provided you disable TB3 in the BIOS
- Various sensors with the latest iStat Menu

What doesn't work:
- Audio (but I have no doubt it would be trivial to fix, just follow @kgp instructions)
- Waking the mac if it's sleeping if you have TB3 enabled in the BIOS
- TB3 Hotplug
- USB C 3.1 hotplug. The USB devices must be plugged before booting.

For sleep/wake to work (with TB3 disabled), you need to go into the BIOS and enable Platform Power Management (in addition to the other BIOS settings @kgp as listed on the first page)

For people using more than two DP screens, install in the EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other directory the Lilu.kext and VegaGraphicsFixup.kext. With the 10.13.4 beta, I get no display working at all without them. So if you have screen issue, I recommend that you install it.

I'm hoping that the sleep/wake issue is only a matter of BIOS configuration, I've tried a few things, none worked.
I don't think TB3 hotplug will ever work.

Remember to edit the Clover's config.plist and change the serial number smUUID

Enjoy.
I'll report soon how it went with the ASRock MB and ASRock TB3 cards.
 

Attachments

  • Lilu.kext.zip
    45.2 KB · Views: 47
  • VegaGraphicsFixup.kext.zip
    8.2 KB · Views: 58
  • EFI.zip
    17.1 MB · Views: 69
Joined
Mar 9, 2011
Messages
318
Motherboard
ASUS PRIME X299-Deluxe
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega Frontier
Maybe you run out of Lanes.
Don't know what everything is built into your rig but would be my first thought.
On my build I use all 44 Lanes, If I try to add another card it acts a little bit like your System, If it boots up even...
I use my UAD Octo on the last PCIE Slot but I use the Designare and not the X299 Deluxe.


I dont post on here anymore for obvious reasons... but this post felt needed.

Welcome back man!
 

DSM2

Banned
Joined
Mar 16, 2018
Messages
47
Motherboard
X299 Designare EX
CPU
7900X Delided @4,8 GHz
Graphics
2x VEGA64 EKWB
The ASRock Fatal1ty X299 Professional Gaming i9 XE appears to be identical to the Taichi XE, with the addition for the 10Gbit/s lan.
No mac drivers available for that network controller however, only linux and windows.

The Gaming i9 XE 10 GBit/s LAN should not need any driver or Kext for macOS.
The Motherboard use the Aquantia AQtion AQC107 Chip which is by the way used in the iMac Pro!

CE9AF17C-94DD-474D-84E0-E8914C1BF7D1.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 26, 2016
Messages
210
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Why you want to remove the GFX0, HDAU SSDT implementation?? You use a Nvidia GPU, don't you?
Why you want to remove the ARPT implementation?? You use a BCM943602CS BT/WIFI PCIe hardware solution, don't you? Thus, just adopt/modify that part..
I haven't figured out adoption part yet, it would be easier for me to remove it. The problem is if I add SSDT-X299-iMacPro.aml file as is to patched folder my build won't boot anymore. I am trying to figure out what exactly in aml file is not matching my build. I wouldn't bother for cosmetic things, but you mentioned in your instructions "the correct HDMI/DP HDAU digital audio PCI device implementation will be performed and detailed in Section E.9) in line with the HDEF PCI device implementation.". I was hoping to fix my HDMI/DP audio problem.
 

RuleBreaker01

Banned
Joined
May 31, 2018
Messages
1,198
The Gaming i9 XE 10 GBit/s LAN should not need any driver or Kext for macOS.
The Motherboard use the Aquantia AQtion AQC107 Chip which is by the way used in the iMac Pro!

It does indeed !
All three network cards are working..

That is awesome.

Posting using the ASRock, no issue booting macOS whatsoever.

The board is nowhere as well laid as the Designare. First the USB 3 header are located exactly where it would make my life hell. Typically USB3 header is located alongside near the power supply. But here, it's near the SATA ports, and my case has a metal bar just along side there. Couldn't plug my cable.. broke the connector :(

I screwed up my thermal paste application, I did it three times but it still runs at a good 15C hotter than the designare.

It doesn't feel as well built as the Designare either, the Designare as a back metal plate to re-enforce it, it was a very nice design.

Interestingly with the Intel Power Gadget I'm back to what the Asus was showing as far as CPU power user: around 45W when idle. The designare showed like 14W only.
I see the same type of power usage on my UPS: 110W total.

The BIOS setup is very nice, unfortunately, I haven't found how to set the CPU speed based on the number of core in use... It's all or nother, or can set a specific core to a given speed. Hopefully this exist somewhere.
 

RuleBreaker01

Banned
Joined
May 31, 2018
Messages
1,198
Im using the ASRock X299 Taichi XE.

Sleep/Resume does appear to work, I had a problem with waking but some bios tweaks fixed that. I haven't tested this extensively, I've only let the computer sleep for about half an hour but yeah it appears to work.

Does Bluetooth on that board work for you?
It's not recognised here
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2015
Messages
91
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aero G DDR4
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Does anyone use AMD rx vega experience problem with dual monitor? My dual monitor only works if i use lilu + whatevergreen on 10.13.4 beta5
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top