Contribute
Register

How to build your own iMac Pro [Successful Build/Extended Guide]

Status
Not open for further replies.

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,786
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Yes, the test is done from the Raid with the operating system installed on it, if you look at the first photo, the capture of "Disk Utility", is selectedp the volume "RAID", if you check the icon above, you will see that has the "Apple" logo on the hard drive, that means that the boot is made on that hard drive. Sorry for my English and thank you very much for your guide, greetings.
So can you please briefly summarise each step how you setup the NVMe raid and made it bootable?

I would implement that part in my guide. I really find awesome what you did.

Bravo :thumbup:
 

anonym323

Banned
Joined
Nov 9, 2012
Messages
100
Motherboard
Asus X299 Deluxe
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
So can you please briefly summarise each step how you setup the NVMe raid and made it bootable?

I would implement that part in my guide. I really find awesome what you did.

Bravo :thumbup:
There are two ways for this:
1)

Create a RAID 0 DRIVE and take care that both Member have clover Installed.
If you go this route you have to take care that both EFI's are completely identical every time!

2)

Create a RAID 0 Drive and Install MacOS on it.
For the boot process you will need a third drive which has clover installed on it,
so you will always use another drive just as a boot loader.

This can also just be an usb drive!

After installation succeed just boot the raid0 macOS drive

HOW TO CREATE A RAID, JUST AN EXAMPLE:

diskutil appleraid create mirror RAID1 JHFS+ disk1 disk2

Raid0 would be :

diskutil appleraid create stripe RAID0 JHFS+ disk1 disk2

disk 1 and disk 2 stand for the drives which would be the mirror (raid1) or stripe (raid0) drives.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 26, 2012
Messages
20
Motherboard
MSI X299M GAMING PRO CARBON AC
CPU
i9-7900X
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
What process did you use to delid?
Did you re-apply the lid using liquid metal?
Did you drop the water block on the die itself?
I sent it away to a de-lid service for $40 ;) Was much cheaper and easier than sourcing all the materials and tools. He used a 3D-printed block, removed the silicon, applied Conductonaut to the die and liquid electrical tape to the remaining components on the die for safety, then resealed the heatsink. I don't have a cooler which could run directly on-die.

That sounds pretty high, 65C is what I get with a 7980 with all cores
running at 4GHz with a 115i pro watercooler.
I'm running an mATX system in a small case (Kimera Cerberus) and haven't yet ordered custom power cables to tidy up air-flow. Its a bit of a moot point as I'm VRM-limited currently.
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2017
Messages
53
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
CPU
i9-7900X
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
I'll try that later today, too. I really need the motherboard to recognize the UA Arrow. Right now even with the drivers installed, OSX completely freezes as soon as I plug in the Thunderbolt 3 device.
Are you trying to hot plug the Apollo? Thunderbolt hot plug doesn't work yet you would have to turn on your system with the Apollo already plugged in for it to work.
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2018
Messages
932
Motherboard
ASRock X299 Professional Gaming XE
CPU
i9-7980xe
Graphics
Vega
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 13, 2015
Messages
28
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299-A
CPU
i9-7900X
Graphics
Sapphire Radeon RX Vega 64
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I'll try that later today, too. I really need the motherboard to recognize the UA Arrow. Right now even with the drivers installed, OSX completely freezes as soon as I plug in the Thunderbolt 3 device.
Do you plug it in while system is runing or switched off?
Because Thunderbolt hot plug does not work on hackintoshes and pluging TB device in while system is running will cause KP or system freeze.
You should turn off your computer, plug your TB device in, then turn it on.
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2018
Messages
932
Motherboard
ASRock X299 Professional Gaming XE
CPU
i9-7980xe
Graphics
Vega
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
@kgp Any chance you could provide your unmodified DSDT.aml ? I'm trying to adapt all your guide for the Designare, but there are devices I can't find on this board (like OSI or EC0) and wanted to check where they were for ..

The IOJones file would greatly help too
thank you
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2016
Messages
208
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I too had pretty high temps with the 150i pro, it got much better with the 115i and it's quieter (bigger fans)...

Did you mess up with the thermal paste by any chance?
that's idle in windows
room temp is 22C
View attachment 318139

running cinebench 3 times in a row in windows, the max temp was 71C on one core, all other cores were at 65C
How is that possible? 150 is a bigger radiator with 3 fans. I applied good thermal paste, will check it today.
 

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,786
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
@kgp Any chance you could provide your unmodified DSDT.aml ? I'm trying to adapt all your guide for the Designare, but there are devices I can't find on this board (like OSI or EC0) and wanted to check where they were for ..

The IOJones file would greatly help too
thank you
attached below
 

Attachments

Joined
Apr 16, 2011
Messages
29
Motherboard
Asus x299 deluxe
CPU
i7-7820X
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Are you trying to hot plug the Apollo? Thunderbolt hot plug doesn't work yet you would have to turn on your system with the Apollo already plugged in for it to work.
Hot Plug is already working with ssdt or patch in clover.
Code:
<key>Comment</key>
                <string>PCI THUNDERBOLT 1578 0</string>
                <key>CustomProperties</key>
                <array>
                    <dict>
                        <key>Disabled</key>
                        <false/>
                        <key>Key</key>
                        <string>PCI-Thunderbolt</string>
                        <key>Value</key>
                        <integer>1</integer>
                    </dict>
                    <dict>
                        <key>Disabled</key>
                        <false/>
                        <key>Key</key>
                        <string>IOName</string>
                        <key>Value</key>
                        <string>pci-bridge</string>
                    </dict>
                </array>
                <key>PciAddr</key>
                <string>01:00.00</string>
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top