Contribute
Register

How to build your own iMac Pro [Successful Build/Extended Guide]

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jul 18, 2014
Messages
73
Motherboard
Asus X299 Prime DeLuxe - 3006
CPU
i9-10980xe
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Gorgeous :thumbup: you are the man of the hour :headbang:

Can you use that as system disk as well?

Yes, the test is done from the Raid with the operating system installed on it, if you look at the first photo, the capture of "Disk Utility", is selectedp the volume "RAID", if you check the icon above, you will see that has the "Apple" logo on the hard drive, that means that the boot is made on that hard drive. Sorry for my English and thank you very much for your guide, greetings.
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2018
Messages
2
Some fake SMCs cause kp. Some have the sensors already inside the fake SMC and that will often cause kp, especially if you then try to run more sensor kexts outside of the fake SMC.
So far the kozlek ones here (maybe 10 pages or so back) work best for me. I finally get GPU temps.
For me, some of the HWmon softwares really messed with my fans but I think the latest versions work better. The istats seem to work best.
Figure out what's important for you.
GPU temps aren't as big a deal as CPU temps, or system stability.
In fact GPU temps are completely irrelevant given that we can't o/c them on this platform anyway (except bios modding of course).
If you're using kexts that mess with your fans then you will stuff your card so you should probably not use those kexts. In my opinion.
Find the kozlek kexts 10 pages back and if they don't work don't use sensors. Intel power gadget is fine.
Do use the kozlek fake SMC that's with the sensor kexts.

Hope this helps :)

edit: heres a direct link to the kexts https://github.com/kozlek/HWSensors

Thanks for the suggestions! I'm now able to see the GPU temp in HWMonitor. The temp is alway around 55-58C which is much higher than running win10 (around 25-30C). I guess this may be related to the graphic driver or ROM. I saw only two fans are running with relatively low speed. I was expecting to run my deep learning GPU experiments on my hackintosh. Maybe if I start utilizing the GPU, the temp will be higher and then the fans will run at a higher speed. Or maybe I should look at the Apple Graphics Power Management? I saw some posts talked about this. Do you or anyone else have suggestions on this? Thanks again.
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2018
Messages
7
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299A
CPU
Intel i9 7900X
Graphics
Gigabyte Radeon RX5700XT
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hello everyone,

I am brand new to the world of hackintosh, although I have built hundreds of PC's and serviced Macs for years. I have followed this guide using these components
Mainboard: Asus Prime X299-A
CPU: i9-7900X 10core
RAM Memory: Tridentz DDR-4 3200 Mhz 64B (4x16GB)
GPU: ASUS Geforce GTX 1080 8GB
System Disks: EVO 960 NVMe M.2 1TB (system disk macOS High Sierra 10.13.3)
Power Supply: Thermaltake ToughPower 850
Bluetooth + Wifi: PC/HACKINTOSH - APPLE BROADCOM BCM94360CD - 802.11 A/B/G/N/AC + BLUETOOTH 4.0
Internal USB2.0 HUB: NZXT AC-IUSBH-M1T
CPU/GPU Cooling: Corsair H115i

I used EFI-X299-10.13.3-Release-iMacPro1,1-200218.zip along with createInstaller.sh.zip to create my usb stick and did a clean install on a 64G ssd and got things up and running perfectly. Then I used the ssd to format and install a fresh copy of the OS to my EVO 960 along with the EFI files. As long as I have the ssd installed I can boot to the EVO 960 through clover and the OS on the EVO runs flawlessly, but once I take the ssd off the system the NVMe will not boot to clover by itself. Is there something in the BIOS i need to change or a patch that needs to be implemented to boot from my EVO 960 NVMe M.2?

Thanks for any help you can give me,

Will
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2013
Messages
23
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299 Deluxe II
CPU
I9-7920X
Graphics
GTX 1050 TI
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Answer to question 1: See my guide, Section C.11.b) !

Answer to question 2: The Windows installer package creates its own ESP, however not necessarily on the drive, which is meant
for the Windows installation. Thus, unplug all other drives before the Windows installation! See Section E.5.1) - E.5.5) in the originating post of this thread/guide!
Answer to question 3: Please don't mix BIOS Boot Menu (F8, primer to Clover Boot menu) and Clover Boot menu. In the BIOS
Boot Menu, you define, which EFI folder you select for Booting, in the Clover Boot menu you define, which partition you boot with the EFI-Folder selected in the BIOS boot Menu. To follow my current guidelines, you need an EFI-Folder on both, macOS USB Flash Driver Installer and 10.13 System Disk. Else, I don't understand your Question 3 at all, do you?​

Good luck,

KGP

1)
Have you tried installing the latest Clover on your macOS drive? That usually is enough. But the drive must have been formatted as GPT by macOS. Then, of course, you must place the correct config.plist and kexts on that partition. Usually, most people use Clover Configurator for that.

2)
Windows creates its own ESP when you boot in UEFI mode and installs in a GPT disk. So you should not have to worry about that. But: Windows does not behave well on multiboot system. It tends to destroy the ESP for the other systems. Since you are installing Windows on a different drive, you should be safe, but don't trust it. Keep the USB drive bootable, and don't be surprised if you have to use it to boot after a Windows installation.

3)
I think there are two issues there: the default partition to boot from and you not being able to boot from the installer.

To boot from a default partition, you have to define the partition name in Boot/DefaultVolume (Clover Configurator).

The fact that you can't boot from the USB Installer means that something is not good with it. Post the memory error you are getting (screen pic). Depending on the place during installation, it can be several different things (wrong OsxAptio, missing kexts, wrong config.plist, etc). If everything is good, you might need to simply create a new USB installer. Sometimes this fixes errors too.

Also, remember to disable CFM (BIOS compatibility mode) in your UEFI, so you don't boot in legacy mode by mistake. If you don't disable it, you might get all kinds of weird erros in Windows and macOS.

Thanks to you both!

I've been using my system without any issues, but I finally need to install Windows on that drive in order to enable the Thunderbolt 3. Although my mac recognizes the Thunderbolt 3, my system freezes when I plug in the Universal Audio Thunderbolt 3 Arrow. I'm hoping this issue is resolved and the motherboard recognizes it once I try that Windows installation hack with the motherboard for Thunderbolt 3 devices.

Again, the system runs fine, provided I have the USB plugged in and I select the Boot OSX option from the USB, otherwise I receive a memory error. After it has booted, everything runs without any problems, and I can unmount the USB.

Do you have any other advice or feedback on installing Windows on the separate drive in order to resolve the Thunderbolt 3 freezing error? Thanks KGP and everyone!
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2013
Messages
23
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299 Deluxe II
CPU
I9-7920X
Graphics
GTX 1050 TI
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You just need to use Clover bootloader to install an EFI on the 960 (any settings), mount the EFI on your 64gb SSD with this, copy that EFI folder to your desktop.
Then unmount the 64gb SSD EFI and mount the Evo 960 EFI that you just created (using the Clover Configurator you downloaded before), delete the EFI in it and copy the EFI from your desktop into it.
You should empty the recycle bin before you copy the EFI into the EVO to clear up the space in that partition.

I'll try that later today, too. I really need the motherboard to recognize the UA Arrow. Right now even with the drivers installed, OSX completely freezes as soon as I plug in the Thunderbolt 3 device.
 

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,784
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes, the test is done from the Raid with the operating system installed on it, if you look at the first photo, the capture of "Disk Utility", is selectedp the volume "RAID", if you check the icon above, you will see that has the "Apple" logo on the hard drive, that means that the boot is made on that hard drive. Sorry for my English and thank you very much for your guide, greetings.

So can you please briefly summarise each step how you setup the NVMe raid and made it bootable?

I would implement that part in my guide. I really find awesome what you did.

Bravo :thumbup:
 

anonym323

Banned
Joined
Nov 9, 2012
Messages
99
Motherboard
Asus X299 Deluxe
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So can you please briefly summarise each step how you setup the NVMe raid and made it bootable?

I would implement that part in my guide. I really find awesome what you did.

Bravo :thumbup:

There are two ways for this:
1)

Create a RAID 0 DRIVE and take care that both Member have clover Installed.
If you go this route you have to take care that both EFI's are completely identical every time!

2)

Create a RAID 0 Drive and Install MacOS on it.
For the boot process you will need a third drive which has clover installed on it,
so you will always use another drive just as a boot loader.

This can also just be an usb drive!

After installation succeed just boot the raid0 macOS drive

HOW TO CREATE A RAID, JUST AN EXAMPLE:

diskutil appleraid create mirror RAID1 JHFS+ disk1 disk2

Raid0 would be :

diskutil appleraid create stripe RAID0 JHFS+ disk1 disk2

disk 1 and disk 2 stand for the drives which would be the mirror (raid1) or stripe (raid0) drives.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 26, 2012
Messages
20
Motherboard
MSI X299M GAMING PRO CARBON AC
CPU
i9-7900X
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
What process did you use to delid?
Did you re-apply the lid using liquid metal?
Did you drop the water block on the die itself?
I sent it away to a de-lid service for $40 ;) Was much cheaper and easier than sourcing all the materials and tools. He used a 3D-printed block, removed the silicon, applied Conductonaut to the die and liquid electrical tape to the remaining components on the die for safety, then resealed the heatsink. I don't have a cooler which could run directly on-die.

That sounds pretty high, 65C is what I get with a 7980 with all cores
running at 4GHz with a 115i pro watercooler.
I'm running an mATX system in a small case (Kimera Cerberus) and haven't yet ordered custom power cables to tidy up air-flow. Its a bit of a moot point as I'm VRM-limited currently.
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2017
Messages
56
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
CPU
i9-7900X
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I'll try that later today, too. I really need the motherboard to recognize the UA Arrow. Right now even with the drivers installed, OSX completely freezes as soon as I plug in the Thunderbolt 3 device.

Are you trying to hot plug the Apollo? Thunderbolt hot plug doesn't work yet you would have to turn on your system with the Apollo already plugged in for it to work.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top