Contribute
Register

How to build your own iMac Pro [Successful Build/Extended Guide]

Status
Not open for further replies.

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,783
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
Jul 10, 2013
Messages
397
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X Designare 10G
CPU
i9-10900X
Graphics
RX 5500 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
  3. iMac
  4. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hello @kgp I finally found a work around to the NVDA problem. I found this script by Vulgo, (credits to him) that makes everything quite simple too.

I did install the XX.XX.106 driver on top of the .159 no probs.

Here is the link in case anyone finds in the same situation as I did: https://github.com/vulgo/webdriver.sh

Thanks for the help!
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2016
Messages
76
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299 Designare
CPU
i9-7940X
Graphics
Vega FE
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I still don’t understand your question. Which one refers to?
Wich Monitor program do you use for controlling the temperatures and other parameters ? IstatMenus?
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2011
Messages
99
Motherboard
ASUS PRIME X299-DELUXE
CPU
i9-7900X
Graphics
Vega64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Today we want to dedicate ourselves to the DSDT of the X299 system. Why should we edit the DSDT? There are at least four good reasons for this.


1. CPU

2. SMBus

3. PEGP

4. RP02/Ethernet


Is it not enough to use the ACPI patches from Clover and additional SSDT's? This is basically a good idea and should be maintained. I think it makes sense to make only the few changes in the DSDT, which are difficult or impossible to realize in other ways. The problem with the DSDT is that when something elementary is changed in the BIOS, the DSDT changes on our complex X299 system. Likewise with a BIOS update. That's why we should not invest much effort into a perfect DSDT. But these little changes will make our system better and it can be repeated quickly.


1. What's wrong with the CPU? If we look at our system with IORegistryExplorer, then we see (example i9-7900X) a weird distribution of CPU cores. These are not linear in a row. If I use Piker-Alpha's script (ssdtPRGen.sh), then it assumes a linear count and the resulting SSDT does not match the actual distribution of the cores. This can be fixed easily and looks more beautiful in IORegistryExplorer. We open the extracted DSDT (in the Clover boot menu press F4, now the original DSDT is in EFI/CLOVER/ACPI/origin) with MaciASL and we take a closer look at the device (SCK0). Here we delete the unused CPxx's, which we can clearly identify by means of IORegistryExplorer. With this we adapt the generic DSDT to our specific processor. If we click on "Compile" now, we get some error messages. Absolutely clear, some of the "Notify (\ _SB.SCK0.CPxx, 0x83)" HLVT method now go to nowhere. We simply delete these now redundant lines.


2. There is a Device SMBS in PC00. Unfortunately, in the same region (PC00) there is a device SBUS, which points exactly to the same position "Name (_ADR, 0x001F0004)". We can fix that very easily. Press "comand + f" (Find) and enter "SBUS". There are five entries. We look at the first entry and change "Device" to "Scope" and delete the line "Name (_ADR, 0x001F0004) // _ADR: Address". Now we search (comand + f) for "SMBS". We change the name of the device SMBS to SBUS.


3. There are so-called PEGPs for the PCIe slots BR1A, BR2A, BR3A and BR3D. We would like to use these instead of the SL01, SL05, SL09 and SL0C. A PEGP has already integrated Power Resources for Wake. The problem is that, for example, a graphics card integrates with the first device (SL01) instead of the more appropriate PEGP. The solution is quite simple, we delete the devices SL01, SL05, SL09 and SL0C from the corresponding BR1A, BR2A, BR3A and BR3D. This will get our graphics and Thunderbolt cards into the correct slots. Subsequent renaming in, for example, "GFX0" can be done via an SSDT, if necessary.


4. It looks similar with the Intel I211VA Ethernet. It docks on the device "D0A4", but could be attached to the much more suitable "PXSX". The latter (which houses every RPxx) also uses Power Resources for Wake. Again, just remove the device D0A4 completely.


Now put this DSDT in EFI/CLOVER/ACPI/patched and restart.


Of course it is necessary to correct the new paths to the devices in the SSDT's accordingly.

3_PGPE_1.png
1_cpu_1.png
1_cpu_2.png
1_cpu_3.png
3_PGPE_1.png
3_PGPE_2.png
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2010
Messages
47
Motherboard
Asus X299A
CPU
i7-7800X
Graphics
GTX 980 Ti
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
What I really don't understand is following:

Why some of you guys think that you need to run 32 or 64 as buffer size with sample rates higher then 44100/48000?

You will not even find a sound card which can handle big projects with those settings,
so why do you think that you will benefit from those settings ?
Just work in 24 Bits and record with Buffer Size as low as possible and change afterwards the buffer size to one which runs perfect with your rig.
Do your Mixing/Mastering while Producing in 24 Bits and don't overload your master bus.

But the funniest fact is : No matter if you record or work with those settings (higher then 48.000 kHz Sample Rate and a buffer size like 32)
- in the final step it will be bounced down to 44100/48000 Sample Rate and the customer will never ever hear a difference! :mrgreen:
With that logic, why use a RED 8k camera when the customer will never see it at 8k? Most can’t even tell the difference between 1080p and 4K.

The answer is that with the higher sample rate or resolution in video; you have more leeway in post to get the best results.
 

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,783
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Wich Monitor program do you use for controlling the temperatures and other parameters ? IstatMenus?

Yes.. we recently adopted iStatMenus for our Skylake-X/X299 needs, thanks to the kind help of @Bjango and thanks to the Sensor and FakeSMC kexts by @interferenc.
 

RuleBreaker01

Banned
Joined
May 31, 2018
Messages
1,198
Today we want to dedicate ourselves to the DSDT of the X299 system. Why should we edit the DSDT? There are at least four good reasons for this.

Thank you for this interesting tutorial..
So do you just extract the existing DSDT (and all the dependent SSDT), apply the modification and use that?
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2015
Messages
31
Motherboard
Gigabyte AORUS GAMING7
CPU
i9 7980XE
Graphics
GEFORCE GTX 1080Ti
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi KGP,

Thanks again after 5 month victory of install 10.13 on my 7980XE + Gigabyte AORUS GAMING 7 + 1080Ti. I reinstalled the iMac Pro version and it works perfect now.(Fully acceleration of the Graphic Card, 100 Utilization of the CPU)

It appears last night was quite struggle when I want to install 10.13.3, during the installation the system is extremely slow and cannot type or operate while when I get into the system keep the same. Today I rechecked my EFI folder , did some changes in the config.plist and put back CsmVideoDxe-64.efi and EmuVariableUefi-64.efi back to drivers64UEFI folder then reboot. It works! Sending my result now and my EFI folder. Hope this could help someone.
 

Attachments

  • EFI.zip
    33.3 MB · Views: 84
  • Screen Shot 2018-03-02 at 1.03.56 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2018-03-02 at 1.03.56 AM.png
    477.8 KB · Views: 123

RuleBreaker01

Banned
Joined
May 31, 2018
Messages
1,198
Hi KGP,
CsmVideoDxe-64.efi and EmuVariableUefi-64.efi back to drivers64UEFI folder then reboot. It works! Sending my result now and my EFI folder. Hope this could help someone.

I have the designare which is almost an identical board, and I do not need those efi drivers.
@kgp guide uses AptioMemoryFix.efi which is a replacement for EmuVariableUefi-64.efi.
CsmVideoDxe is only useful if you enabled CSM in the BIOS (it should be disabled)

I've provided a CLOVER folder a few posts back, maybe you could check with that one.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top