Contribute
Register

How to build your own iMac Pro [Successful Build/Extended Guide]

Status
Not open for further replies.

RuleBreaker01

Banned
Joined
May 31, 2018
Messages
1,201
@kgp
Hey man, got a question for ya,
So what is the option to push CPU all the time at highest speed on HS, refer to "KernelToPatch" of Clover,

iMac Pro HS.png


Look like the XCPM_Bootstrap needs to be Enabled?
I tried that and the CPU still ideal at 1.2, :confused:

So I format the system with another HD, running Sierra, I Enabled that xmp_bootrap on Sierra, and IPG showing 4.8 (my 7900X OC @4.8)

Sierra.png

Many thanks in advance,
 

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,765
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@kgp
Hey man, got a question for ya,
So what is the option to push CPU all the time at highest speed on HS, refer to "KernelToPatch" of Clover,

View attachment 306669

Look like the XCPM_Bootstrap needs to be Enabled?
I tried that and the CPU still ideal at 1.2, :confused:

So I format the system with another HD, running Sierra, I Enabled that xmp_bootrap on Sierra, and IPG showing 4.8 (my 7900X OC @4.8)

View attachment 306681
Many thanks in advance,

Don't do that!!! You don't need to run your CPU all the time at max. speed!!!

Just disable all XCPM patches, also "core_scope_msrs" and remove FakeCPUID!

Then you will have native HWP (IntelSpeedShift) CPU power management!

Your BIOS is patched, right?

You did not study the latest version of my guide?

Bad boy! ;)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 19, 2016
Messages
460
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
CPU
i9-7900X
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@kgp
Hey man, got a question for ya,
So what is the option to push CPU all the time at highest speed on HS, refer to "KernelToPatch" of Clover,

View attachment 306669

Look like the XCPM_Bootstrap needs to be Enabled?
I tried that and the CPU still ideal at 1.2, :confused:

So I format the system with another HD, running Sierra, I Enabled that xmp_bootrap on Sierra, and IPG showing 4.8 (my 7900X OC @4.8)

View attachment 306681
Many thanks in advance,

@kgp If we are here... btw: We still need "10.13 installer/updater essential" patch? :D :p

and I'm not sure, but AMD users don't need Lilu debug patch..? (if I remember well it was for Nvidia users) :p
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2011
Messages
15
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299 AORUS Gaming 7
CPU
i9-7900X
Graphics
Zotac GTX 1080 Ti Amp! Extreme
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
@zhengfu23: I would try to delete the file InstallESDDmg.pkg file from the ./091-33721 folder and relaunch the script. Maybe the file is corrupted and the productbuild command returns an error.

The shell script checks if the file already exists, so if the file is corrupted for any reason you always get an error because it is not re-downloaded again.

So I would try to delete the file and restart the script. If it doesn't work I really don't know how to help.
Which version of MacOS are you using to start the download procedure?
Hey! Thanks for the reply! I am using 10.13.2, on an actual MacBook Pro 15 (2017). I deleted the Install High Sierra.app per mgregrs' advice and currently redownloading everything using your script again. Will update soon when InstallESDDmg.pkg finishes downloading!
 

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,765
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@kgp If we are here... btw: We still need "10.13 installer/updater essential" patch? :D :p

and I'm not sure, but AMD users don't need Lilu debug patch..? (if I remember well it was for Nvidia users) :p

Try to boot without the "10.13 installer/updater essential" patch.. No idea if it will work.. give it a try... Also check if you need ti for the USB Flash Drive Installer to boot. Please report back about your findings...

The Lilu debug patch however can be disabled without any concern... It does not affect the system performance or functionality at all!
 

RuleBreaker01

Banned
Joined
May 31, 2018
Messages
1,201
Don't do that!!! You don't need to run your CPU all the time at max. speed!!!

Just disable all XCPM patches, also "core_scope_msrs" and remove FakeCPUID!

Then you will have native HWP!

Your BIOS is patched, right?

You did not study the latest version of my guide?

Bad boy! ;)

Lol, I expected you gonna say "not to run CPU Max" all the time, just a test I wanna see the different between. As I still try to figure my software Reaper on Mac. Because sadly, the same test I run on Mac, I can only got 5 plug-in but on Window, I got 7.
So, go back to my question, how to push the CPU, lol, I take all responsibility on burning my CPU, don't worry about it.
I have a Firetruck waiting downstair of my office, they ready for anything, haha.

I tried to copy the patch xcpm_bootrap from Sierra to HS,
Find* HEX Replace* Hex
  • 8d43c483 f822 8d43cd83 f822

CPU still ideal at 1.2, :lol::lol::lol:, but that not what I want,
 

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,765
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Lol, I expected you gonna say "not to run CPU Max" all the time, just a test I wanna see the different between. As I still try to figure my software Reaper on Mac. Because sadly, the same test I run on Mac, I can only got 5 plug-in but on Window, I got 7.
So, go back to my question, how to push the CPU, lol, I take all responsibility on burning my CPU, don't worry about it.
I have a Firetruck waiting downstair of my office, they ready for anything, haha.

I tried to copy the patch xcpm_bootrap from Sierra to HS,

  • Find* HEX Replace* Hex
  • 8d43c483 f822 8d43cd83 f822

CPU still ideal at 1.2, :lol::lol::lol:, but that not what I want,

Did you patch the BIOS, disable all XCPM patches and remove FakeCPUID?

What you want is not to run your CPU always at max. speed but to use HWP (IntelSpeedShift) CPU Power Management instead!

With native HWP, CPU Idle is not at all constantly at 1.2 GHz!

Do what I tell you and you will see that all your problems are gone..

No further discussion ;):lol:

Good luck!
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2016
Messages
460
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
CPU
i9-7900X
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I downloaded and patched new BIOS 1102
same MSR result like post #3831 (I think it's OK)
update without problems, then few benchmarks and little pleasure...
again a little more of performance :D

about 130-160 points more in sigle-core and little more than 1k in multi core Geekbench test :D
at this moment I'm very happy with new BIOS :headbang:
PS: This is my stock 7900X without OC at this moment :D

Capture d’écran 2018-01-17 à 23.50.07.png
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: kgp
Joined
Jan 3, 2013
Messages
131
Motherboard
Asus Rog Strix Z490-E Gaming
CPU
i7-10700
Graphics
UHD 630 - RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hello KGP, after proceeding to update the Bios with the patched when I turn on the PC it was the little red light and on the screen I put check memory.

I had to press the CMOS button and it has started normally, I have loaded the bios stored in the pendrive and that's it but the question is ... When I pressed the CMOS button I lost the patched update?

A greeting.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top