Contribute
Register

How to build your own iMac Pro [Successful Build/Extended Guide]

Status
Not open for further replies.

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,902
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks. Once I read through the readme and did a few searches I realized the source of my confusion. Chimera/Chameleon and Clover use different folders. So for Clover, AMLs are dropped into

/EFI/CLOVER/ACPI/

per your guide “Any DSDT ACPI replacement in the config.plist is usually implemented under “DSDT” and “Patches” in Section “ACPI” of Clover Configurator” and I confirmed this in the newbie chart I found here: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/clover-basics-and-switching-advice.171680/
I will try this and see if they show up in the PCI section of the System Report (as would be expected).

View attachment 393549
All System SSDTs must be in /EFI/Clover/ACPI/patched/.

Some ACPI replacements are part of the config.plist, remain unchanged and should be enabled in any case. However, implement the correct CPxx -> PRxx replacements in the config.plist for your particular CPU before enabling the latter!

Other ACPI replacements are part of the System SSDTs and might need some adaptation depending on our motherboard and PCIe slot population!

How to properly adapt ACPI patch and ACPI replacements for your motherboard and PCIe slot population is explained in this small guideline.

Clover UEFI boot loader is mandatory in any case.

Good luck, man!

KGP
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2018
Messages
3
Motherboard
Asus RoG VI Extreme
CPU
i9-7920X
Graphics
Radeon VII
No native support but some success with the VII working with graphics acceleration in 10.14.4 beta with work arounds. Still wondering if anyone has info on AML file folder/directory locations.
Those "success" scenarios wasn't related to typical scenarios here i.e. single card on x299 platform. Successful Radeon VII with acceleration was with 8700 where You're able to turn on iGPU, or it is second card in system. I've currently this card running on 10.14.4 beta 5 and there is no way to spoof it as Vega 64 - You'll receive blank screen during boot. There is only "Radeon Vega 16 GB" mode without Metal and hardware acceleration (as @kgp described previously) :/
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2011
Messages
22
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H
CPU
i7-2700K
Graphics
GTX 660 Ti
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
So I finally seem to have a working system with high sierra. But I seem to be missing openCL support?
I have cuda and nvidia drivers installed but running cinebench I only get the option to run a cpu test?

Am I missing something or is openCL support not available with the current drivers?
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2017
Messages
8
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
iMac
Those "success" scenarios wasn't related to typical scenarios here i.e. single card on x299 platform. Successful Radeon VII with acceleration was with 8700 where You're able to turn on iGPU, or it is second card in system. I've currently this card running on 10.14.4 beta 5 and there is no way to spoof it as Vega 64 - You'll receive blank screen during boot. There is only "Radeon Vega 16 GB" mode without Metal and hardware acceleration (as @kgp described previously) :/
I have the same result in 10.14.3 (Radeon Vega 16 GB mode, no metal, no acceleration). I see some funny artifacts in some programs (Brave browser will not display pop ups correctly as an example). I am planning on trying a rx-480 in combo with the VII to see if that works until a better solution is found.
 

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,902
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
So I finally seem to have a working system with high sierra. But I seem to be missing openCL support?
I have cuda and nvidia drivers installed but running cinebench I only get the option to run a cpu test?

Am I missing something or is openCL support not available with the current drivers?
All said in post #12,162 . You also might search for my respective posts in my X299 treads.

Hardware acceleration so far only on iGPU systems after adding VII-ID 0x66AF1002 to AMDRadeonX5000.kext. However, up to my knowledge, even in this case the VII is still implemented as a Vega. On X299, @DSM2 achieved to run the VII incl. hardware acceleration with the help of a Vega.

In any case, I strongly recommend to wait until the VII has been fully and officially implemented under macOS by Apple.
 
Joined
May 15, 2018
Messages
49
Motherboard
Asus X299 Deluxe
CPU
Intel I9 7940X
Graphics
GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
I currently have this Imac Pro High Sierra build on one drive and Windows 10 on another drive. Is it possible to set up a dual boot with Windows 7?
 

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,902
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
I currently have this Imac Pro High Sierra build on one drive and Windows 10 on another drive. Is it possible to set up a dual boot with Windows 7?
Any UEFI Windows installation will automatically show up in the Clover Boot Loader and you should be able to choose between booting with macOS or Windows such.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2016
Messages
108
Motherboard
ASRock X299E-ITX/ac
CPU
i7-7820X
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
(...) running cinebench I only get the option to run a cpu test?
Are you running the "old" Cinebenach R15 or the just released Cinebench R20?
The R20 release doesn't have the GPU test anymore.
 
Joined
May 15, 2018
Messages
49
Motherboard
Asus X299 Deluxe
CPU
Intel I9 7940X
Graphics
GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
Any UEFI Windows installation will automatically show up in the Clover Boot Loader and you should be able to choose between booting with macOS or Windows such.
Ah, great. Thank you @kgp. For some reason, I thought I remembered from when I built the Hackintosh that you couldn't dual boot with Windows 7. Great news. I'm going back to Windows 7 :). Better for audio - stays more out of the way.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2011
Messages
22
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H
CPU
i7-2700K
Graphics
GTX 660 Ti
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Are you running the "old" Cinebenach R15 or the just released Cinebench R20?
The R20 release doesn't have the GPU test anymore.
Ah, that explains it. After running som real world tests I realised I have openGL support. Didn't occur to me that cinebench removed the GPU benchmark. Thank you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top