Contribute
Register

How to build your own iMac Pro [Successful Build/Extended Guide]

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Oct 13, 2012
Messages
50
As soon the TB-SSDT has been properly adapted/implemented once, you can just switch between different TB devices, as long they populate the same PCIe slot after each physical hardware replacement.. ;)

Good luck,

KGP
That's really good news, especially considering that wall i just hit (see below).

One friendly advise. Don't waste your time with the TBEX 3 and directly opt for a GC-Alpine Ridge or even better for the GC-Titan Ridge. The latter will allow flawless TB and USB-C HotPlug in combination with the Deluxe. There is however a remaining wake problem with TB devices connected during sleep when using the GC-Titan Ridge with the Deluxe. With the GC-Titan Ridge, TB/USB-C HotPlug and full sleep/wake functionally only can be achieved with the ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G for now.

Hope this provides some useful clarifications.

Good luck,

KGP
I got all the issues resolved from my previous post, except TB which is proving to be a headache. For some reason it just decided to work in Windows, but the Audio device that i connect through it (using a TB2 to TB3 adapter) is recognized but not available as an output. Same goes in mac, i can see kext being loaded, but it just wont show up in CoreAudio (Sounds) as an output. Any tips on how to troubleshoot TB thoroughly? In PCI under System Report, i can tell that one entry is the USB interface (it is properly output), and another one is Unknown, while both have the Driver loaded. Thunderbolt section says no driver loaded, but i keep reading that it is normal.

If Windows is giving me similar issues, does this point out to TBEX 3 being the culprit?

Thanks again.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2013
Messages
402
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299-A
CPU
i9 9820X
Graphics
Vega 56
Mobile Phone
iOS
Glad thunderbolt + Titan ridge is working for another sage owner :)
Is your MacBook Titan ridge as well? I don’t remember where I saw this but I’ve read that some older thunderbolt devices aren’t supported with Titan ridge. Do you have an older alpine ridge card to test?
Thanks a lot for your reply!!

I enquired BlackMagic and it seems the BlackMagic UltraSTUDIO 3D doesn't work on a new MacMini as well. They (BlackMagic) referred to it as Legacy and they couldn't even point to the actual driver. There's a chance it's a driver issue, meaning the original driver package from years ago needs to be found to enable the device.

Thunderbolt seem to be working so well that a missing driver would explain the issue.

Since you use the Sage, at what clock are you running the i9 7980XE? Do you remember the voltage?

Thanks again.
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
328
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage/10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega FE
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks a lot for your reply!!

I enquired BlackMagic and it seems the BlackMagic UltraSTUDIO 3D doesn't work on a new MacMini as well. They (BlackMagic) referred to it as Legacy and they couldn't even point to the actual driver. There's a chance it's a driver issue, meaning the original driver package from years ago needs to be found to enable the device.

Thunderbolt seem to be working so well that a missing driver would explain the issue.

Since you use the Sage, at what clock are you running the i9 7980XE? Do you remember the voltage?

Thanks again.
Ah that's a bummer but that's what I figured. Running at stock still so can't comment on that
 

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,902
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
That's really good news, especially considering that wall i just hit (see below).



I got all the issues resolved from my previous post, except TB which is proving to be a headache. For some reason it just decided to work in Windows, but the Audio device that i connect through it (using a TB2 to TB3 adapter) is recognized but not available as an output. Same goes in mac, i can see kext being loaded, but it just wont show up in CoreAudio (Sounds) as an output. Any tips on how to troubleshoot TB thoroughly? In PCI under System Report, i can tell that one entry is the USB interface (it is properly output), and another one is Unknown, while both have the Driver loaded. Thunderbolt section says no driver loaded, but i keep reading that it is normal.

If Windows is giving me similar issues, does this point out to TBEX 3 being the culprit?

Thanks again.
If you have problems under Windows, unplug/replug the TBEX 3 from/to your motherboard. Anyway, do I have once more to mention that the TBEX 3 is not very reliable and quite problematic in any case? Concerning macOS, people can only help if you upload the respective information requested at beginning of section C.). If the TB-SSDT has been properly adopted to your system, both TB and USB-C PCI drivers must be properly implemented and loaded under "PCI" of Apple's system report and also the TB ACPI table must be correctly implemented in IOREG. How to properly adapt any SSDT to your system and slot configuration is outlined within a small guideline linked in my guide (I guess I posted this sentence already a few 100 times along my threads). I also outlined repetitively that there is no TB local node or TB bus driver implementation possible on Hackintosh systems for now. Finally it is very uncomfortable to answer theoretical questions, as you do not have your own system, apparently only help others and also do not have any system specs in your profile either, which btw. anyway violates the board rules.

Good luck, my friend

KGP
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2012
Messages
50
If you have problems under Windows, unplug/replug the TBEX 3 from/to your motherboard. Anyway, do I have once more to mention that the TBEX 3 is not very reliable and quite problematic in any case? Concerning macOS, people can only help if you upload the respective information requested at beginning of section C.). If the TB-SSDT has been properly adopted to your system, both TB and USB-C PCI drivers must be properly implemented and loaded under "PCI" of Apple's system report and also the TB ACPI table must be correctly implemented in IOREG. How to properly adapt any SSDT to your system and slot configuration is outlined within a small guideline linked in my guide (I guess I posted this sentence already a few 100 times along my threads). I also outlined repetitively that there is no TB local node or TB bus driver implementation possible on Hackintosh systems for now. Finally it is very uncomfortable to answer theoretical questions, as you do not have your own system, apparently only help others and also do not have any system specs in your profile either, which btw. anyway violates the board rules.

Good luck, my friend

KGP
A miracle happened and an Alpine Bridge was in reach. Worked straight away out of the box. Was wondering if the UEFI Windows is needed for the Gigabyte TB's, because it didnt really work well under it.

Nevertheless, again thanks a lot for your guide. I will make sure i'll comply with the board rules in the future.
 
  • Like
Reactions: kgp

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,902
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
A miracle happened and an Alpine Bridge was in reach. Worked straight away out of the box. Was wondering if the UEFI Windows is needed for the Gigabyte TB's, because it didnt really work well under it.

Nevertheless, again thanks a lot for your guide. I will make sure i'll comply with the board rules in the future.
UEFI Windows is mandatory for a dual boot system with macOS, using UEFI Clover boot loader.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2018
Messages
13
Motherboard
ASUS X299 DELUXE
CPU
i9-7920X
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
@Junologue,
Just bought the CG Titan Ridge and just face some new problems... sometimes it works, sometimes it crash at boot on "Code 92 DETECT HDD". Thunderbolt hotplug like the THBEX3 works fine on windows but none on High Sierra.
PCI implementation is ok as usual. Bios 1503.
How did you connect your Titan card ? I use the THB_C Header, the PCIe Power connector, but leave the USB header cable as there is no F_USB connector on the X299 DELUXE.
Thanks for your reply.
Best.
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2018
Messages
64
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299-A
CPU
i9 - 7960X
Graphics
1080Ti
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Send IOReg-screenshot and screenshot on system information (pci-devices)

I use the header + power as you.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2018
Messages
13
Motherboard
ASUS X299 DELUXE
CPU
i9-7920X
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
@Junologue here it is...
Actually, Hotplug does't work under windows... weird. I can see the attach device on the Thunderbolt software but the drive didn't mount... my Bios settings are exactly the same as KPG.
Do you install other thing than the Titan drivers ?
do you think I need to upgrade to Bios 1704 ?
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Jun 26, 2010
Messages
47
Motherboard
Asus X299A
CPU
i7-7800X
Graphics
GTX 980 Ti
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
@jaminmc I haven't had a single crash on my X299A (4 days of heavy cuda-work now) , since i downloaded the latest builds of fakesmc+sensors and removed the gpusensor.kext

before it crashed once a day on heavy cuda tasks.

Will try it for a couple of days, and then try to switch back one kext at a time until i see the cause.

Thought you should know :)
Sweet!! I will have to check it out. My Crashes weren't even during heavy CUDA processing. It would happen on stupid times. like clicking on a file in finder, not always, just randomly when I would click on something. Especially of I was rendering video. But it would happen sometimes if I didn't have any CUDA apps open.

I also heard that the ID setting of AGPMEnabler.kext should be 4 for a NVIDIA card. I changed mine, but haven't tried CUDA since I did.

XML:
            <key>Machines</key>
            <dict>
                <key>Mac-7BA5B2D9E42DDD94</key>
                <dict>
                    <key>GFX0</key>
                    <dict>
                        <key>AGDCEnabled</key>
                        <integer>1</integer>
                        <key>min-power-state</key>
                        <integer>0</integer>
                        <key>max-power-state</key>
                        <integer>15</integer>
                        <key>control-id</key>
                        <integer>17</integer>
                        <key>Heuristic</key>
                        <dict>
                            <key>ID</key>
                            <string>4</string>
                        </dict>
                    </dict>
                </dict>
Maybe gpusensor.kext would work with that setting?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top