Contribute
Register

How to build your own iMac Pro [Successful Build/Extended Guide]

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Nov 4, 2018
Messages
13
Motherboard
ASUS X299 DELUXE
CPU
i9-7920X
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
@kgp
sorry to insist...
My XHCI implementation looks fine. I can hotplug USB_C device to my ThunderboltEX3 card but no success with thunderbolt 3, even 2 and 1 devices except before booting...
Thunderbolt hotplug works on Windows ;(
I'am running HIGH SIERRA 10.13.6 (17G5019)
Any idea ?
Thanks in advance for your help.
Best.
S.GLAS.
 

Attachments

  • Capture d’écran 2019-02-25 à 21.06.20.png
    Capture d’écran 2019-02-25 à 21.06.20.png
    170.9 KB · Views: 180
  • EFI.zip
    33.2 MB · Views: 243
  • iMac Pro de GLAS.ioreg
    14.2 MB · Views: 173
  • Capture d’écran 2019-02-26 à 01.35.11.png
    Capture d’écran 2019-02-26 à 01.35.11.png
    120.7 KB · Views: 170
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 10, 2018
Messages
243
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299-A
CPU
7960X
Graphics
6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@GLAS

Try with your TB-header cable disconnected.

Or buy a Titan-Ridge and have the problem solved.
 
  • Like
Reactions: kgp
Joined
Nov 4, 2018
Messages
13
Motherboard
ASUS X299 DELUXE
CPU
i9-7920X
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
@Junologue
thanks for your help but it changes nothing :banghead:
yes I was thinking about the Titan-Ridge... but I am affraid to meet the same problem ! and if it works for KPG with the configuration why not mine !
Do you have dual monitors connected with your 1080Ti ?
Mines only boot with CSM enabled...
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2018
Messages
243
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299-A
CPU
7960X
Graphics
6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I had the alpine-ridge before, and i had a lot of problems getting it work. Now with titan, it works flawless.

I’ve had dual monitors without any problems, right now i only use one though.

Have you followed the guide from start to finish? What biosversion are you running?
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2018
Messages
13
Motherboard
ASUS X299 DELUXE
CPU
i9-7920X
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
I use Bios version 1503. I've this dual monitor problem since I flash the Bios. On 1401, I had no problem.
With CSM enabled, no problem... but seems it's better to boot without.
I didn't activate the alpine ridge in the BIOS. Do I have to do that with the ThunderboltEX3 ?
Other thing I didn't modify my SSDT.aml as I use the same emplacement as KPG (Graphic slot 1, Thunderbolt slot 4), same devices (X299 Deluxe) and my PCI informations looks fine. Maybe I have to check.
 

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,778
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@kgp
sorry to insist...
My XHCI implementation looks fine. I can hotplug USB_C device to my ThunderboltEX3 card but no success with thunderbolt 3, even 2 and 1 devices except before booting...
Thunderbolt hotplug works on Windows ;(
I'am running HIGH SIERRA 10.13.6 (17G5019)
Any idea ?
Thanks in advance for your help.
Best.
S.GLAS.

As detailed in my 10.14 X299 thread, I do not further provide individual, user specific support along my threads in addition to all my available and anyway detailed and extensive guidelines for now. I am sure other experienced users familiar with these general guidelines and approaches can help you in your specific issues, if really necessary and not already discussed and solved a few hundred times along my respective threads anyway.

Thanks for your comprehension.

KGP
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 4, 2018
Messages
13
Motherboard
ASUS X299 DELUXE
CPU
i9-7920X
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
As detailed in my 10.14 X299 thread, I do not further provide individual, user specific support along my threads in addition to all my available and anyway detailed and extensive guidelines for now. I am sure other experienced users familiar with these general guidelines and approaches can help you in your specific issues, if really necessary.

Thanks for your comprehension.

KGP

ok thanks for your reply.
I will try harder...:crazy:
Just wondering if it's a real problem to boot with CSM enabled and if I don't need to modify the DSDT.aml if I put directly your SSDT-X299-TB3HP.aml in the patch folder
Best
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2019
Messages
23
Motherboard
Asus x299 SAGE 10/g
CPU
i9-9940X
Graphics
Vega 64
Hello everyone, this is my first post here but im a long time reader of this great database. until now i built two successful machines (x58 10.6.5 and a x99 10.9.5 from 2015), which i work on for music production with high end converters, high channel count, high sample rates, and CPU core count is a major part of the deal (i have 5820k whos working very hard). as well as great communication between CPU and digital audio transport, in my case until now FireWire.
now i want to upgrade communication system as the firewire system is not supported anymore. so logic turns me to the thunderbolt root. im looking for the strongest for my needs and most vanilla system i can achieve with thunderbolt as natively as possible. not caring so much for hot plug, though it would be nice to have. no 4k monitors on my TB. just audio. so i have got here a month ago and read everyones comments and experience, and of course KGP post #1 for at least 20 times and remember alot of it(its much much easier then Camelion! ive used Clover for the 2nd machine with ease). needs advice before buying stuff that i dont need or vise versa. specs which i can buy in my country:

9940x
x299 designare ex rev 1.0
64gb ddr4 corsair lpx cl16
gigabyte vega 64
1tb 970 evo m.2
corsair HX850i psu

few questions arise- i want to safely boot from bios to desktop with a native card. as i understand from reading here an rx580 is sometimes a bad choise for doing that natively. my first system in 2008 was running for 3 month before i could fix the display issue. and i want as less hassles and update easy system.
Is the vega 64 my only way to go for this purpose?
does the onboard alpine ridge a major draw as far as my needs? newer x299 chipset has other advantages?
i want to water cool most of the system (like all my systems in the past for better noise operation) so its also important to take into account. ANY advice or alternatives to go as trouble free would be highly appreciated!

thank you very much for any thoughts,

Vamzi
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2018
Messages
243
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299-A
CPU
7960X
Graphics
6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@vamzi21
What country do you live in?

If i were you i would buy the x299-deluxe or x299-a , if it’s available in your country. The first one is recommended, cause kgp already optimized everything for that mobo.

Buy a Titan-Ridge for thunderbolt, if it’s not available where you live, buy from amazon/ebay.

I would suggest that you look at the 10.14 guide, since it’s updated to work with the latest MacOS.

Good luck mate!
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2018
Messages
6
Motherboard
asus
CPU
7980xe
Graphics
radeonVII
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Dear @kgp
I use cpu i-9 7980xe, asus x299 deluxe board and evga 1080ti ftw3 hybrid graphics card.
I started by looking at your High sierra (17G65) article.
I am using dual monitor (two 1920 * 1080 and supports hdmi port)
High sierra (17G65) When I first tried it, the boot screen was correctly displayed.
When I use it later, it is displayed on the black screen at some moment and then the high Sierra screen appears.
I upgraded to Mohave and then I installed it again in a high Sierra.
Hi Sierra is now version 17G5019.
The High Sierra screen still appears after the black screen. (DP to HDMI cable is in use)
The ports on my graphics card are three dp ports and one hdmi port.
Now the situation is only audio is played on one dp port. In the past, all the dp ports were remembered as audio enabled.
Dual monitor is possible with hdmi and dp port, but there is no audio.
So if you connect only one hdmi port, you can sleep, but if you do dual monitor, it wakes up in 5 ~ 10 minutes.

I wonder how I can solve black screen and audio.
Thank you very much for reading.
PS I wonder if it is possible to do this by cutting the usb 15 port.
389888
 

Attachments

  • EFI.zip
    20.8 MB · Views: 144
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top