Contribute
Register

How to build your own iMac Pro [Successful Build/Extended Guide]

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jan 20, 2011
Messages
93
Motherboard
Asus X299 TUF Mark 1
CPU
i7-7800X
Graphics
RX 590
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Good question.. I don't remember.. :lol:

Anyway, as it only concerns the Clover Boot Loader GUI, it can't be vital for the MacOS System performance.. ;)
Yeah, it just displays the word "discrete" at the bottom of the clover screen
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2011
Messages
93
Motherboard
Asus X299 TUF Mark 1
CPU
i7-7800X
Graphics
RX 590
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Also any idea how to achieve displayport hotplug on nvidia (maxwell) card?
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2017
Messages
10
Motherboard
Asus Prime x299 Deluxe II
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Aorus GTX 1080Ti x2
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi Mr.kgp

Do you think i9-9980xe will work?

I hesitate to buy between i9-7980xe and i9-9980xe because the price is a little different.
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2010
Messages
47
Motherboard
Asus X299A
CPU
i7-7800X
Graphics
GTX 980 Ti
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Also any idea how to achieve displayport hotplug on nvidia (maxwell) card?
Step 1, Sell it on eBay
Step 2, Get a Vega 56, or 64 from eBay.

step 3 Rejoice that you don't have to deal with Nvidia's BS anymore :)
 

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,783
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi Mr.kgp

Do you think i9-9980xe will work?

I hesitate to buy between i9-7980xe and i9-9980xe because the price is a little different.

What does it help if I think it might work and it doesn’t?

You will have to see it yourself by testing.

If you are willing to delid the i9-7980XE and accept that by doing so you will loose warrenty, I would go for the i9-7980XE anyway.
 

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,783
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
UEFITool ASUS Splashscreen firmware replacement for ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe BIOS firmware upon 1603 working again

After slightly reducing iMacPro.raw, the ASUS Splashscreen replacement for ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe BIOS firmware upon 1603 by means of UEFI-Tool is working again.

Attached: reduced iMacPro.raw and patched ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe BIOS firmware 1603 with already implemented iMacPro.raw. X299D.CAP to be flashed with EZ Flashback!

Warning! As everybody knows, ASUS BIOS firmware 1603 can destroy the XHCI ACPI table implementation on some motherboards, which likely can be fixed by using boot flag npci=0x2000 in the config.plist. On my system everything works fine but this does not imply that it also works for others.

Thus, this is definitely not a call to move to 1603! This is just to inform that the ASUS Splashscreen replacement now also works for ASUS BIOS firmware upon 1603!

And this is also to inform, that with reduced iMacPro.raw, the ASUS Splashscreen replacement by means of UEFITool might now also work for the firmware of other new ASUS motherboards like the ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe II.

Enjoy and have fun,

kgp.png
 

Attachments

  • iMacPro.raw.zip
    99.9 KB · Views: 44
  • X299D.CAP-1603.zip
    9.2 MB · Views: 51
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 10, 2018
Messages
218
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299-A
CPU
7960X
Graphics
6900 XT Red Devil
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@kgp i’ve tried so much now, still kernel panic on boot if my tb3-device is on during boot. If i have it switched off everything is booting up as it should, until i turn it on, then it’s kernel panic as soon as it utilize.

Can i debug the kernel panic in any way?

Anyone else having this issue with Alpine Ridge and Asus Prime X299-A
 

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,783
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@kgp i’ve tried so much now, still kernel panic on boot if my tb3-device is on during boot. If i have it switched off everything is booting up as it should, until i turn it on, then it’s kernel panic as soon as it utilize.

Can i debug the kernel panic in any way?

Anyone else having this issue with Alpine Ridge and Asus Prime X299-A

I guess this is neither a problem of the Alpine Ridge nor a problem with the ASUS Prime but a problem with your specific TB device. I don’t know how to help you further. I already properly implemented the TB-SSDT on your system. TB should now work without major issues. There is absolutely nothing I could to for you in addition.

Good luck, man!
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2010
Messages
47
Motherboard
Asus X299A
CPU
i7-7800X
Graphics
GTX 980 Ti
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@kgp i’ve tried so much now, still kernel panic on boot if my tb3-device is on during boot. If i have it switched off everything is booting up as it should, until i turn it on, then it’s kernel panic as soon as it utilize.

Can i debug the kernel panic in any way?

Anyone else having this issue with Alpine Ridge and Asus Prime X299-A
I only have Thunderbolt 2 & 3 Devices daisy chained through an apple TB3 to TB2 adapter. Currently have 2 Thunderbolt 2 RAIDs and a Thunderbolt 1Raid connected.. No problem.

If you use this PCI port,
Screen Shot 2019-02-01 at 7.47.48 PM.png
it will work with KGP's TB3 SSDT unmodified from https://github.com/KGP/X299-System-SSDTs, as it is the same hardware location in the PCI table. Make your Thunderbolt settings the same, except select PCIEXT16_2 instead of PCIEXT16_3. I also turned off Booting from Thunderbolt devices, or my computer will take forever to post, or even hang.
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2010
Messages
47
Motherboard
Asus X299A
CPU
i7-7800X
Graphics
GTX 980 Ti
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
UEFITool ASUS Splashscreen firmware replacement for ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe BIOS firmware upon 1603 working again
Sweet!!! I may have to try it on my X299-A next week, if I have time. I haven't tried the 1603 Firmware yet... Should I try it first, before I commit to changing the Logo? I haven't Changed my logo yet anyways.

It makes sense that it failed, if the UEFI Bios is larger, and the old raw was too large for it... I wish that UEFITool had better error messages, and said that it was too large.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top