How do I use Chimera to dual boot my Hackintosh/CustoMac ?

Discussion in 'General Help' started by bughyz, May 11, 2013.

  1. bughyz

    bughyz

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    49
    Mobo:
    OS X Mountain Lion
    CPU:
    i5-3570K
    Graphics:
    ASUS GTX650 Ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 11, 2013 at 3:59 AM #1
    bughyz

    bughyz

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    49
    Mobo:
    OS X Mountain Lion
    CPU:
    i5-3570K
    Graphics:
    ASUS GTX650 Ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I have 2 SSDs in my CustoMac. One is for Windows 8, and the other one is for OSX. I have installed Chimera. However, when I boot up my Hackintosh from my OSX SSD, Chimera doesn't pop up. How do I use Chimera properly?
     
  2. vienna01

    vienna01

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Intel i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    Intel 4600 internal.
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 14, 2013 at 7:03 AM #2
    vienna01

    vienna01

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Intel i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    Intel 4600 internal.
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I'm not sure what your problem is but I'll try to provide you a lead.
    I have a similar dual boot setup with 2 SSDs. I used multibeast to create the correct Chimera-based bootloader. It didn't require any special treatment. I was able to leave both of my SSDs[OSX and Windows' ones] connected when I used Multibeast.

    Try this: Physically disconnect your Windows SSD. Execute Multibeast on the OSX SSD. You might do it in stages. For the first use of Multibeast check your audio and network. Restart your PC. Do you get a Chameleon/TonyMac86 Bootscreen with the OSX SSD shown? If yes, let it boot the OSX version on the SSD. If no what happens?

    When you are debugging a problem with booting, always use the verbose kernel flag "-v". When the bootloader screen first appears type "-v" it will be automatically positioned in the right place on the bootloader screen.

    You may have already known this and tried installing the Chameleon/Chimera bootloader using Multibeast. You also may know about asserting kernel flags such as -v for verbose. If so I may not understand your problem. Folks often take a picture of their screen to better explain problems with bootup.
     

Share This Page