Contribute
Register

How about Gigabyte GC-Titan Ridge...?

Joined
Oct 23, 2012
Messages
5
Motherboard
Gigabyte z370 gaming 5
CPU
I7 8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS

Jamesbond007

Moderator
Joined
May 21, 2011
Messages
6,458
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i7 9700KF
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have read some Alpine Ridge being connected under OS X High Sierra...Is there anybody using Titan Ridge yet? This "Titan" chip is being used in the latest 2018 MacBook Pro though there is some unsolved problem. (https://www.macrumors.com/2018/07/2...ayport/?utm_source=feedly&utm_medium=webfeeds)

I'm going decide whether buying Alpine or Titan ridge for my hackintosh soon. I hope some of geniuses here can give a guidance. Thanks...

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07GBZL93X/?tag=tonymacx86com-20

The 2018 Macbook Pro runs a special build (17G2112) of High Sierra 10.13.6, which may be required to support the Titan Ridge. This special build is not available to normal 10.13.6 users.

If you want to try the Titan Ridge it may be wise to wait until Mojave is released. Meanwhile you should be able to use the Alpine Ridge with MacOS Sierra and High Sierra, provided that your motherboard has an appropriate Thunderbolt header.
 
Joined
Oct 23, 2012
Messages
5
Motherboard
Gigabyte z370 gaming 5
CPU
I7 8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
thanks for your info...!!
 

Jamesbond007

Moderator
Joined
May 21, 2011
Messages
6,458
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i7 9700KF
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Didn't find info on giga's website.
Does it support old mobo? I have a Z170m-D3H.

That can be a problem. The Alpine Ridge requires BIOS support to work on certain motherboards, and without such support the Titan Ridge may not work with "old" motherboards.

At this point we can only speculate, but my guess is that the card may have problems on non-current motherboards.
 

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,780
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have read some Alpine Ridge being connected under OS X High Sierra...Is there anybody using Titan Ridge yet? This "Titan" chip is being used in the latest 2018 MacBook Pro though there is some unsolved problem. (https://www.macrumors.com/2018/07/2...ayport/?utm_source=feedly&utm_medium=webfeeds)

I'm going decide whether buying Alpine or Titan ridge for my hackintosh soon. I hope some of geniuses here can give a guidance. Thanks...

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07GBZL93X/?tag=tonymacx86com-20


GC-Titan Ridge works OoB under macOS 10.14 Mojave with SSDT-X299-TB3HP-TTR.aml and SSDT-X99-TB3HP-TTR.aml, including TB HotPlug with THB_C connected.. :headbang:

See post #10495.

Enjoy and have fun, :thumbup:

kgp.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
950
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX TITAN X
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
GC-TITAN RIDGE works in the PCIEX4 slot of my GA-Z170X-Gaming 7 but I don't think hot plug works without a THB_C connector. USB 3.1 gen 2, DisplayPort conversion, and PCIe (from startup) work. I haven't tried any DSDT patches. Thunderbolt in System Information.app doesn't show anything. I had disabled Thunderbolt support in BIOS first so that the internal Alpine Ridge controller would not interfere in Windows.

I tried it in a Sonnet Echo Express III-D connected to a MacBook Pro 2015. USB 3.1 gen 2 and DisplayPort conversion work.

I got similar results in a Mac Pro 2008 except USB was capped to 400 MB/s Reads in a gen 1 slot which is strange because a gen 2 slot running at gen 1 speed didn't have that problem. A setpci command is required to obtain gen 2 speed in the gen 2 slot of the Mac Pro 2008. Later Mac Pro's might not have this problem because they get a firmware update with Mojave?

I did not connect anything for the THB_C connector and I didn't connect the 6-pin power cables in the MacBook Pro or MacPro.

I still need to figure out how to get PCIe to work.

I haven't tried Mojave yet or Linux (Linux may have Thunderbolt commands to change security level to none which might help in a Mac or PC with no Thunderbolt support in the BIOS).

Gigabyte's website has been updated with info about the GC-TITAN RIDGE. The manual has a typo in the english translation which calls the full-sized DisplayPort port an input. It is actually an output (as stated in the chinese translation), like the HDMI port of the GC-ALPINE RIDGE.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 5, 2015
Messages
1
Motherboard
GA-Z87N-WIFI
CPU
4670K
Graphics
GTX 780ti
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I have two cards on order from the US to try in a 5,1 running 10.13 and 10.14. With the latest firmware if they do work I'd expect a max speed of 1,500MB.s
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
950
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX TITAN X
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've gotten up to 1490 MB/s in a MacPro3,1 (with setpci commands). Windows is required to get PCIe over Thunderbolt to work.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,798
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've gotten up to 1490 MB/s in a MacPro3,1 (with setpci commands). Windows is required to get PCIe over Thunderbolt to work.

So you just left the Thunderbolt header unconnected to anything and it worked in Mojave??
 
Top