Contribute
Register

Hopelessly Lost Noob - GA-H97-D3H i4790k integrated graphics build?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H97-D3H
CPU
i4790k
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 4600 1536 MB
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
A friend offered to help me build a Hacktintosh for music production. I'm an audio engineer and musician and use Pro Tools daily, so having a functional version of PT is my main goal. I used PT9 on a 10.6.8 Mac Book Pro until she unfortunately died. So my initial plan was to build a Hackintosh around that hard drive, and install Windows 7 on a second drive to have both at my disposal.

My trusted friend recommended I go with the build that I have, without bothering to check for true compatibility first. I've since educated myself enough to understand that $750 on a Haswell 9 series rig isn't going to run 10.6.8, or 10.8, or possibly even 10.9. My question is, how do I make this pile of computer parts work with any version of OS X without having a second Mac?

I don't have another Mac to work with. I'm typing this on an iPhone, feeling particularly screwed. Please help?

Thanks Going Bald! Perusing now, I got Yosemite to install, but I'm getting the usual boot0. Found the guide for that, will update if I get it resolved tonight.

Nothing is working so far. I'm in pretty far over my head though. I could be screwing up something simple and not even know it. Trying a fresh install from Unibeast now, then should I follow that other gentleman a multibeast install spec for spec? I'm assuming the fact that I don't have a network card changes that setting (speaking of which, which option do I choose for a i217 chipset?) and my audio coded is supposed to be alc1150, according to gigabyte's website. Help?

image.jpg
This is post boot0 error guide terminal code execution. Anyone have a clue where to go with this? I'm taking stabs in the dark.

image.jpg tried again, more of this… I'll keep posting what happens.