Contribute
Register

High Sierra Seems Slow - Anybody Else

Joined
May 27, 2017
Messages
176
Motherboard
Asus Strix z270F
CPU
Kaby Lake i7 4.2K
Graphics
RX 580 / HD 630
Would anyone know why my High Sierra is running very slow? Slow in terms of for instance, playing a 4K video file and being very very choppy. Even rendering a the 4K video in FCPX took about 6-7 times the time it took me in Sierra.

I even tried generating an SSDT for my processor but still same results...

Is the slow speed something common for anyone else?

Would appreciate your tips and advice.

Thanks!
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2016
Messages
445
Motherboard
Z170X-UD5 TH-Clover
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX Vega 56
Mac
Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Guys I am on High Sierra following the instructions, but I noticed that when I play a 4K video its very, very choppy, practically un-playable! This was never the case when I was on Sierra. I have a quite powerful machine so it cannot be the computer.

Any ideas / suggestions??
There is no enough information to help you. Depends what video graphics card you have, which drivers are used etc.
 
Joined
May 27, 2017
Messages
176
Motherboard
Asus Strix z270F
CPU
Kaby Lake i7 4.2K
Graphics
RX 580 / HD 630
I have GTX 1070 and I haven't customized anything... On Sierra everything was fine. This only happens as soon as I upgraded to High Sierra. I am not sure it's a GPU issue, since I noticed that the entire system was super slow when I was rendering some video files...
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2016
Messages
445
Motherboard
Z170X-UD5 TH-Clover
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX Vega 56
Mac
Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have GTX 1070 and I haven't customized anything... On Sierra everything was fine. This only happens as soon as I upgraded to High Sierra. I am not sure it's a GPU issue, since I noticed that the entire system was super slow when I was rendering some video files...
Did you install latest NVIDIA web drivers properly?
 
Joined
May 27, 2017
Messages
176
Motherboard
Asus Strix z270F
CPU
Kaby Lake i7 4.2K
Graphics
RX 580 / HD 630
Did you install latest NVIDIA web drivers properly?
Before the update I uninstalled and then re-downloaded them and installed as soon as High Sierra was running. Should I try again? in Clover I am running these settings:
Screen Shot 2017-10-10 at 4.21.12 PM.png
Screen Shot 2017-10-10 at 4.21.06 PM.png
Screen Shot 2017-10-10 at 4.21.01 PM.png
Screen Shot 2017-10-10 at 4.20.49 PM.png
Screen Shot 2017-10-10 at 4.20.42 PM.png
Screen Shot 2017-10-10 at 4.20.23 PM.png
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2016
Messages
445
Motherboard
Z170X-UD5 TH-Clover
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX Vega 56
Mac
Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Before the update I uninstalled and then re-downloaded them and installed as soon as High Sierra was running. Should I try again? in Clover I am running these settings:
Please check those panels:

nvidia-high-sierra.jpg
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2016
Messages
445
Motherboard
Z170X-UD5 TH-Clover
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX Vega 56
Mac
Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
I don't have 4k monitor yet, so I cannot test 4K actually. But 4K sample from 4ksamples.com played on my 1920x1200 screen. And of corse 4k recordings from my iPad Pro as well.
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2016
Messages
445
Motherboard
Z170X-UD5 TH-Clover
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX Vega 56
Mac
Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Here they are.
Try to fix CUDA! You have to patch it to get it to work. There an option to solve CUDA:

How to fix CUDA (9.0.197)

If you want to use CUDA you might need to patch it to work with current Nvidia drivers, as CUDA Framework is prepared to read only specific version of the GPU Drivers, and with the last update at the moment, it doesn't recognise the installed version.

  • Check the driver version from CUDA preference panel (for example GPU Driver Version: 10.25.28 378.10.10.10.15.117)
  • Go to /Library/Frameworks/CUDA.framework/Versions/A/Libraries
  • Find closest dylib match to your driver version, on my case for 378.10.10.10.15.117 and duplicate it. Rename duplicated file, on my case libcuda_378.05.05.25_mercury copy.dylib into libcuda_378.10.10.10_mercury.dylib.
  • Copy /Library/Frameworks/CUDA.framework/Versions/A/Resources/Info.plist on yourDdesktop
  • Add related lines at the end of NVDAResmanVersions section
Code:
<key>378.10.10.10</key>
<string>378.10.10.10</string>
  • Replace /Library/Frameworks/CUDA.framework/Versions/A/Resources/Info.plist with an updated file.
  • run these commands on terminal:
Code:
sudo kextunload -b com.nvidia.CUDA
sudo kextload -b com.nvidia.CUDA
Voila, you should have CUDA working now.
 
Joined
May 27, 2017
Messages
176
Motherboard
Asus Strix z270F
CPU
Kaby Lake i7 4.2K
Graphics
RX 580 / HD 630
I don't have 4k monitor yet, so I cannot test 4K actually. But 4K sample from 4ksamples.com played on my 1920x1200 screen. And of corse 4k recordings from my iPad Pro as well.
Try to fix CUDA! You have to patch it to get it to work. There an option to solve CUDA:
Fixed cuda thanks. But still there are lags and a choppy playback when I play 4k video. I think this is a CPU issue not a GPU cause when I was rendering the video it took instead of about 10 mins (the case with Sierra), more than an hour.
 
Top