Contribute
Register

High Sierra - RX Vega & Final Cut h.264 fix

Joined
Dec 2, 2016
Messages
17
Motherboard
MSI H170A Gaming M3
CPU
i7-6700
Graphics
Vega 64
Mobile Phone
iOS
Please can someone assist me with the following.

I have made a thread about this but thought this would be a better place to find help.

I am running Mojave on an i7 6700, MSI H170 Gaming M3, Asus Strix RX Vega 64. Everything seems to be running well and I have not had any issues up till now. This is my first attempt at exporting a .H264 file through Final Cut. When I do so I get an immediate fail as you can see in the attached image.
I have been reading up on people having this issue in the past, however I have had no luck with their solutions that they have posted.

Trying the change to iMac19.1 did not work for me.

Thanks in advance.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jul 14, 2014
Messages
17
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z87MX-D3H
CPU
i5 4670K
Graphics
GIGABYTE RADEON RX480 4GB
Mobile Phone
iOS
You have to enable Intel graphics in BIOS (just to be enabled) and set that it is primary graphics for export of h264 to work, and according to that have a blind boot, also you will notice that 4K skimming is now working normaly. This is only way that export of h264 is working properly for me.
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2016
Messages
17
Motherboard
MSI H170A Gaming M3
CPU
i7-6700
Graphics
Vega 64
Mobile Phone
iOS
You have to enable Intel graphics in BIOS (just to be enabled) and set that it is primary graphics for export of h264 to work, and according to that have a blind boot, also you will notice that 4K skimming is now working normaly. This is only way that export of h264 is working properly for me.
Thank you very much for helping. THIS DID WORK and I am now able to export .H264 from final cut. The difference in the render was unbelievably fast. I used to have a GTX 1070 and now have the RX Vega 64. The GTX 1070 would take almost more than double the amount of time to render when doing the same project as the RX Vega 64.

I am currently dual booting with Mojave and Windows 10. Is there no way to get around the blind boot so that I can select windows 10 from clover? Or will I have to change primary boot drive from the bios to get the Windows 10 drive to boot when I need it?
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2014
Messages
17
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z87MX-D3H
CPU
i5 4670K
Graphics
GIGABYTE RADEON RX480 4GB
Mobile Phone
iOS
It is a problem with blind boot, not sure but I think that only solution is second monitor.
You can start Activity monitor and enable GPU history window to see which graphic is used more at current time, then you can see which graphic is doing what in FCP. For example on my system RX480 does skimming and stabilization and workaround 4K, and internal activates paralel with CPU when exporting, and it happens about 3 times faster than real time is (1min video on timeline exports in 20sec).
 
Joined
Dec 4, 2014
Messages
152
Motherboard
GA-Z170X Ultra Gaming
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
You have to enable Intel graphics in BIOS (just to be enabled) and set that it is primary graphics for export of h264 to work,
How to chose it to be primary for export???

You can start Activity monitor and enable GPU history window to see which graphic is used more at current time, then you can see which graphic is doing what in FCP.
How to see which graphics is used in activity mon?
 
Joined
Dec 4, 2014
Messages
152
Motherboard
GA-Z170X Ultra Gaming
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
I have iGPU enabled but have heard people getting BruceX scores of less than 15sec with the VEGAs. What are your thoughts?
Are you shure they exported to h264? Not ProRes (which is much faster)?

alexjibcam, i just got the same result - 14 sec on Sapphire RX 580 Nitro+ 8gb exporting to ProRes 422 rendered in project (FCXP 10.4.5 Mojave latest beta).
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 4, 2014
Messages
152
Motherboard
GA-Z170X Ultra Gaming
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Thank you very much for helping. THIS DID WORK and I am now able to export .H264 from final cut. The difference in the render was unbelievably fast. I used to have a GTX 1070 and now have the RX Vega 64. The GTX 1070 would take almost more than double the amount of time to render when doing the same project as the RX Vega 64.
What SMBIOS do you have?
Do you have both GPUs loaded when export (in Activity Monitor ->GPU History)?

Screenshot 2019-03-23 at 09.24.13.png
 
Joined
May 15, 2019
Messages
7
Motherboard
Asus Maximus IV Extreme
CPU
i7 2700K
Graphics
Sapphire Radeon RX Vega 64
Please help!!! Did everything as you wrote but it did not help. Still error 12912. What else can be done? Maybe change something with my clover configuration?
Снимок экрана 2019-05-15 в 20.25.07.png
Снимок экрана 2019-05-15 в 20.22.14.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
4,260
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170M D3H
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
iMac
Joined
May 15, 2019
Messages
7
Motherboard
Asus Maximus IV Extreme
CPU
i7 2700K
Graphics
Sapphire Radeon RX Vega 64
Update to 14.5 if it’s not fixed try emuvariableefi in Drivers64efi.
Thanks so much. But that didn't help. May be something wrong with config.plist?
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Top