Contribute
Register

High Sierra - RX Vega & Final Cut h.264 fix

Joined
Oct 15, 2018
Messages
11
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 570
Mobile Phone
iOS
Have you tried with IGPU enabled and with iMac18,3 system definition?
Non, i didn't try with iMac18,3 neither IGPU enabled. I see where configure iMac 18,3 but I don't know where to enable IGPU.
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2018
Messages
11
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 570
Mobile Phone
iOS
Well, I just tried it with the iMac 18.3 configuration without success. I couldn't find IGPU to activate it in my BIOS setup. I have something that looks like IGPX (currently PCIE-1). Is it the same thing?

I will give you my config.plist if this can make it easier for me to help solve this problem.
 

Attachments

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
8,562
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 + UHD 630
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Well, I just tried it with the iMac 18.3 configuration without success. I couldn't find IGPU to activate it in my BIOS setup. I have something that looks like IGPX (currently PCIE-1). Is it the same thing?

I will give you my config.plist if this can make it easier for me to help solve this problem.
Enable IGPU in BIOS. Set primary to PCIE and assign 64MB or more to the IGPU.

Install Lilu.kext and WhateverGreen.kext to /EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other/ and use attached config.plist.
 

Attachments

Joined
Oct 15, 2018
Messages
11
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 570
Mobile Phone
iOS
:headbang:Yeah ! All is ok now ! Thank you very much.:thumbup:
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2018
Messages
57
Motherboard
Gigabyte z370 Aorus Gaming 5
CPU
I7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 56
Hi @pastrychef . I've now run into this same issue with FCPX failing on any kind of export. iMovie fails similarly which I would expect given the shared code base. I built my Hack based on your original guide except I'm running I'm running a Gigabyte Gaming 5 like @osd29 above. My system runs perfect EXCEPT for this one issue. My Clover settings - see attached config.plist are a bit different but still based on the original Vanilla guide and your settings. However, I am using iMacPro in SMBIOS as that solved a problem I was having with using Preview or Quicklook with .jpg files. I set Clover, using Vanilla guide recommendations, to only use iGPU for processing tasks and not as a display since I have the Vega 56 as my primary. I suspect this might be part of my issue. Can you explain a bit more as to what my settings should be? The Vanilla guide has settings for the iGPU as display as well so I could try those. But would prefer your help.

I'm at 99% completed with my build and this is really my last issue. But since I built the entire system to run FCPX, it's pretty important for me to fix this. Thanks!
 

Attachments

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
8,562
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 + UHD 630
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi @pastrychef . I've now run into this same issue with FCPX failing on any kind of export. iMovie fails similarly which I would expect given the shared code base. I built my Hack based on your original guide except I'm running I'm running a Gigabyte Gaming 5 like @osd29 above. My system runs perfect EXCEPT for this one issue. My Clover settings - see attached config.plist are a bit different but still based on the original Vanilla guide and your settings. However, I am using iMacPro in SMBIOS as that solved a problem I was having with using Preview or Quicklook with .jpg files. I set Clover, using Vanilla guide recommendations, to only use iGPU for processing tasks and not as a display since I have the Vega 56 as my primary. I suspect this might be part of my issue. Can you explain a bit more as to what my settings should be? The Vanilla guide has settings for the iGPU as display as well so I could try those. But would prefer your help.

I'm at 99% completed with my build and this is really my last issue. But since I built the entire system to run FCPX, it's pretty important for me to fix this. Thanks!
What vanilla guide did you follow?

If you are using iMacPro1,1 system definition, you should probably disable IGPU since the iMacPro1,1 doesn't have any.

Your config.plist > Devices > Properties is wrong. 3E910003 is headless. 3E9B0007 is not headless.

Did you have problems when you used my EFI folder?
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
8,562
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 + UHD 630
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi @pastrychef . I've now run into this same issue with FCPX failing on any kind of export. iMovie fails similarly which I would expect given the shared code base. I built my Hack based on your original guide except I'm running I'm running a Gigabyte Gaming 5 like @osd29 above. My system runs perfect EXCEPT for this one issue. My Clover settings - see attached config.plist are a bit different but still based on the original Vanilla guide and your settings. However, I am using iMacPro in SMBIOS as that solved a problem I was having with using Preview or Quicklook with .jpg files. I set Clover, using Vanilla guide recommendations, to only use iGPU for processing tasks and not as a display since I have the Vega 56 as my primary. I suspect this might be part of my issue. Can you explain a bit more as to what my settings should be? The Vanilla guide has settings for the iGPU as display as well so I could try those. But would prefer your help.

I'm at 99% completed with my build and this is really my last issue. But since I built the entire system to run FCPX, it's pretty important for me to fix this. Thanks!
I forgot to say that you don't need the stolenmem in config.plist > Devices > Properties. That's only used if you can not set the amount of memory to be used by IGPU in BIOS.
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2018
Messages
57
Motherboard
Gigabyte z370 Aorus Gaming 5
CPU
I7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 56
Thanks @pastrychef I posted a previous reply but since I included the link to the Vanilla guide I guess it has to go through the moderator approval. Should show up soon I hope. Esssentially I want to keep my iMac Pro SMBIOS setting as I have that all working with iMessage/iCloud. So hoping I can just make BIOS/Clover setting changes outside of SMBIOS to get this working. Will make the two DEVICES setting changes you suggest and see if that works.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
8,562
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 + UHD 630
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks @pastrychef I posted a previous reply but since I included the link to the Vanilla guide I guess it has to go through the moderator approval. Should show up soon I hope. Esssentially I want to keep my iMac Pro SMBIOS setting as I have that all working with iMessage/iCloud. So hoping I can just make BIOS/Clover setting changes outside of SMBIOS to get this working. Will make the two DEVICES setting changes you suggest and see if that works.
If you want to continue using iMacPro1,1 system definition, you can simply disable IGPU from BIOS and disable/delete the stuff in config.plist > Devices > Properties.
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2018
Messages
57
Motherboard
Gigabyte z370 Aorus Gaming 5
CPU
I7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 56
@pastrychef I just tried to make the BIOS changes per your posts above. I enabled my iGPU (previously disabled) and checked that PCIe was primary (it was). But I don't see any settings in the BIOS to change the memory allocated to the iGPU as per your post. I'm running latest Gigabyte firmware. You suggested these memory settings to @osd29 and he is running a Gigabyte MB also. Any idea why I don't have this option. I made the other Clover DEVICES changes you suggested and left the SMBIOS the same. Will test now to see if that did the trick. Will update here once done.
 
Top