High Sierra Random Freezing

Discussion in 'High Sierra Desktop Support' started by exark, Jan 15, 2018.

  1. dolomick

    dolomick

    Joined:
    May 23, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Motherboard:
    Asus prime x299 deluxe
    CPU:
    Intel 7820X @ 4.8GHz Boxed Processor Delidded Silicon Lottery
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon rx560 4gb
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 4, 2018 at 8:16 PM #201
    dolomick

    dolomick

    Joined:
    May 23, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Motherboard:
    Asus prime x299 deluxe
    CPU:
    Intel 7820X @ 4.8GHz Boxed Processor Delidded Silicon Lottery
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon rx560 4gb
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    In my case I've been running memtest all weekend unsuccessfully. After disabling XMP in the BIOS it passed. Then I manually lowered my 3000MHz RAM to 2800 MHz and it passed with all four sticks in. I am now leaving my system on to see if it will freeze. So far it's been sitting idle for about 14 hours without a freeze. Fingers crossed it was a RAM issue dealing with voltage since I have an overclocked processor.
     
  2. panell

    panell

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Motherboard:
    Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
    CPU:
    i9-7940X
    Graphics:
    RX Vega 64
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jun 5, 2018 at 12:32 AM #202
    panell

    panell

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Motherboard:
    Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
    CPU:
    i9-7940X
    Graphics:
    RX Vega 64
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    I also have XMP disabled - due to the machine not booting at all (XMP enabled is on my todo list)
     
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2018
  3. dolomick

    dolomick

    Joined:
    May 23, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Motherboard:
    Asus prime x299 deluxe
    CPU:
    Intel 7820X @ 4.8GHz Boxed Processor Delidded Silicon Lottery
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon rx560 4gb
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 5, 2018 at 6:20 PM #203
    dolomick

    dolomick

    Joined:
    May 23, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Motherboard:
    Asus prime x299 deluxe
    CPU:
    Intel 7820X @ 4.8GHz Boxed Processor Delidded Silicon Lottery
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon rx560 4gb
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Can anyone tell me why my computer wouldn't want to run the RAM at its top speed but bumping to down to 2800 MHz would work from a theoretical perspective? I have a 7820x Silicon Lottery chip at 4.8GHz. I'm an overclocking and Hackintosh noob and am trying to learn... thanks.
     
  4. diep90.nguyen

    diep90.nguyen

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2017
    Messages:
    113
    Motherboard:
    H170N-wifi
    CPU:
    I3-7100
    Graphics:
    HD630
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 25, 2018 at 2:59 AM #204
    diep90.nguyen

    diep90.nguyen

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2017
    Messages:
    113
    Motherboard:
    H170N-wifi
    CPU:
    I3-7100
    Graphics:
    HD630
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I can confirm that the freeze caused by intel graphic.

    Before i used 750 TI and not get this issue but after changing from 750 ti to HD530 i got this issue.

    Tried many ways but not successully.
     
  5. mynamesuxlol

    mynamesuxlol

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte H97M-D3H
    CPU:
    i5 4350
    Graphics:
    HD 4000
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 30, 2018 at 3:55 PM #205
    mynamesuxlol

    mynamesuxlol

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte H97M-D3H
    CPU:
    i5 4350
    Graphics:
    HD 4000
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Good day people!

    I have been fighting this freeze issue since first day of installation. However, I am not experiencing any kernel panics inside the logs and do not have anything in system log that may be helpful upon lockup.

    My only inkling too is that it may be intel related. My machine has a gigabyte h97m-d3h motherboard. This I believe is somewhere in the region of unsupported intel graphics that still work. I never had an issue on El Capitan.
    I managed to find a way to that replicates the freeze often for me and this post linked below happened to solve it (as far as i can tell with small testing)

    This post
    https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...ng-hardware-crash-lockup.240578/#post-1650662

    I used the kexts along only the fakeSMC and appleHDA (not using clover inject for audio) and it appears to no longer freeze.

    Goodluck, will keep updated if continues to function or is not solved.

    edit: First post! :)
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2018
  6. jeamsler

    jeamsler

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Motherboard:
    gigabyate h270m-ds3h
    CPU:
    i7 7700k
    Graphics:
    hd630
    Jul 12, 2018 at 10:37 PM #206
    jeamsler

    jeamsler

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Motherboard:
    gigabyate h270m-ds3h
    CPU:
    i7 7700k
    Graphics:
    hd630
    I've got high sierra installed on my Gigabyte h270m-ds3h with i7 7700k using the integrated intel hd630 gfx. I'm using the display port for my monitor. Everything seems to work including a firewire card. The problem is the system freezes within a few minutes of using it. This has happened consistently and have tried a few things but no success. I get a spinning ball and everything stops working. This sounds like stuff people are seeing in this thread but not sure if the same. Today I decided instead of rebooting I'd just walk away and see what happens. After maybe 15 or more minutes I found a crash message saying the finder had stopped working. I've attached that. I also found that not only did everything work again but now it wasn't freezing as quickly as it did. I was able to use it for 15 minutes and nothing bad happened. I haven't tried restarting to see if magically everything is wonderful.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. BreBo

    BreBo Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    8,865
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-Z87X-OC
    CPU:
    i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    GTX 970
    Jul 13, 2018 at 11:07 PM #207
    BreBo

    BreBo Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    8,865
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-Z87X-OC
    CPU:
    i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    GTX 970
    @jeamsler, please update your profile (personal details) with your Motherboard, CPU and iGPU or Graphics Card.
     
  8. dada10000

    dada10000

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Motherboard:
    GIGABYTE GA-P67A-UD4-B3
    CPU:
    i7 2600K
    Graphics:
    GTX960
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 24, 2018 at 2:06 PM #208
    dada10000

    dada10000

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Motherboard:
    GIGABYTE GA-P67A-UD4-B3
    CPU:
    i7 2600K
    Graphics:
    GTX960
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hi,
    I also experience random freezes.
    Sometimes it is just a beach ball for 10-20 sec while the system is responsive and I can move windows, click on other apps and so on (but cannot interact with the problematic app itself) and sometimes it a hard freeze with a beach ball and can't move the mouse at all.

    I installed High Sierra after not having a hackintosh for a few years and I didn't remember it being so slow and bad, so I formatted the SSD and installed Sierra, and it works like a charm, works even faster than I remembered.
    I am now again on High Sierra but the problem persists, it is something that is MacOS version related (APFS maybe ?).
    The problem starts right from the beginning even before installing clover or Nvidia drivers,
    Installing lilu + WhateverGreen didn't help.

    Any ideas ?
     
  9. itwas

    itwas

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    471
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z77N-WIFI - F3 - Clover UEFI
    CPU:
    E3-1225 v2
    Graphics:
    GT 640 | P4000
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Jul 24, 2018 at 3:12 PM #209
    itwas

    itwas

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    471
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z77N-WIFI - F3 - Clover UEFI
    CPU:
    E3-1225 v2
    Graphics:
    GT 640 | P4000
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    try changing the Internal Graphics Memory Size in the BIOS
     
    diep90.nguyen likes this.
  10. diep90.nguyen

    diep90.nguyen

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2017
    Messages:
    113
    Motherboard:
    H170N-wifi
    CPU:
    I3-7100
    Graphics:
    HD630
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 25, 2018 at 3:42 AM #210
    diep90.nguyen

    diep90.nguyen

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2017
    Messages:
    113
    Motherboard:
    H170N-wifi
    CPU:
    I3-7100
    Graphics:
    HD630
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    i already tried that but not help :(
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice