High Sierra - hid legacy shim 2 after a few succesful restarts

Discussion in 'High Sierra Desktop Support' started by squidder, Sep 29, 2017.

  1. squidder

    squidder

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    Messages:
    187
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD5H
    CPU:
    i7 4770k 3.5Ghz
    Graphics:
    NVidia GTx 750 Ti Sc
    Sep 29, 2017 at 7:47 AM #1
    squidder

    squidder

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    Messages:
    187
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD5H
    CPU:
    i7 4770k 3.5Ghz
    Graphics:
    NVidia GTx 750 Ti Sc
    Hi...

    I have had HS succesfully installed as an upgrade 3 times now,,,, running fine, rebooting fine... looking like 100% perfect... then all of a sudden of rebbot I am met with; hid legacy shim 2 and then the fatal No entry Icon and scrampled graphics!

    I've googled this issue... found several threads relating to this and not ONE solution to the problem...

    I'm now in a rather painful process of havng reinstalled HS yet agai so I can move files off APFS Volumes (hours it's taking) to reformat them as HFS once more, move the moved files back to the HFS volume..... reinstalling Sierra afresh and at least getting my apps and files back from a CC backup of HS,,,,, Total Nightmare!

    Only posting here in case anyone else gets this message early on.. so that they can avoid the stress. With High Sierra installed, if anything, i found APFS to be MUCH slower and really ouldn't find one single reason to upgrade rather than the smoke colored Notification panel! Siri is just as Stoopid as ever and I guess I can live without the editing tools in Photos... Unless it gets updated in Sierra,,,,

    Really got no idea or indication of what causes this issue.... particularly when the system seemed flawless.... what suddenly changed in the OS? it's NOT a clover issue as I tried booting from 3 seperate configs that would boot this Os

    Hardware Troubleshooting: Either don't bother upgrading to High Sierra,,,, or Downgrade as soon asyou run into this issue...
     
  2. tiomel

    tiomel

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Mobo:
    OSX Mavericks on Asrock Z87m Extreme4
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 4770K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX780sc 3Gb ACX
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 29, 2017 at 8:55 AM #2
    tiomel

    tiomel

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Mobo:
    OSX Mavericks on Asrock Z87m Extreme4
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 4770K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX780sc 3Gb ACX
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I have similar hardware and exactly the same problem. The first time I happened, I reset the system from TimeMachine, it worked well 1 day, after several reboots the problem returned.

    After resetting the system the option to enter the recovery environment disappeared from the entries of Clover and now I need to make a USB surely to be able to enter, unless you give with the solution.

    Forgive me my bad English, thank you.
     
  3. VioletDragon

    VioletDragon

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    10,994
    Mobo:
    GA-H77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Sep 29, 2017 at 11:29 AM #3
    VioletDragon

    VioletDragon

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    10,994
    Mobo:
    GA-H77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Not a good idea to use APFS on a Hack. The problem you have here is TRIM & APFS.
     
  4. gulios

    gulios

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    179
    Mobo:
    Asus UX430UA (Clover)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-7500U
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 620, 1920*1080
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 29, 2017 at 6:00 PM #4
    gulios

    gulios

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    179
    Mobo:
    Asus UX430UA (Clover)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-7500U
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 620, 1920*1080
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
  5. squidder

    squidder

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    Messages:
    187
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD5H
    CPU:
    i7 4770k 3.5Ghz
    Graphics:
    NVidia GTx 750 Ti Sc
    Oct 2, 2017 at 7:15 PM #5
    squidder

    squidder

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    Messages:
    187
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD5H
    CPU:
    i7 4770k 3.5Ghz
    Graphics:
    NVidia GTx 750 Ti Sc
    APFS and Trim are NOT the issue,,,, I managed to reinstall the backup copy to a HFS Journaled Partition and exactly the same!!!
    High Sierra is now in the Trash... Not worth it! Let's see what the next installment has to offer!
     
  6. gulios

    gulios

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    179
    Mobo:
    Asus UX430UA (Clover)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-7500U
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 620, 1920*1080
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 2, 2017 at 7:19 PM #6
    gulios

    gulios

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    179
    Mobo:
    Asus UX430UA (Clover)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-7500U
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 620, 1920*1080
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    but after disabled TRIM problem with "..legacy shim 2" disappeared and now boot takes no more than 10s without any errors, so there is something wrong with TRIM & APFS ...
     
  7. squidder

    squidder

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    Messages:
    187
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD5H
    CPU:
    i7 4770k 3.5Ghz
    Graphics:
    NVidia GTx 750 Ti Sc
    Oct 3, 2017 at 2:52 AM #7
    squidder

    squidder

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    Messages:
    187
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD5H
    CPU:
    i7 4770k 3.5Ghz
    Graphics:
    NVidia GTx 750 Ti Sc
    I copied My High Sierra Installation to a HFS formatted disk ,,, left Trim On... and STILL have the problem... so I conclude - the issue is NOT with Trim and APFS... but rather Trim and High Sierra!
    Works perfectly in Sierra which I have now reverted to!
     
  8. mkriz

    mkriz

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte z170 gaming 7
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-7700K Kaby Lake
    Graphics:
    ASUS ROG STRIX GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
    Oct 19, 2017 at 4:29 AM #8
    mkriz

    mkriz

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte z170 gaming 7
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-7700K Kaby Lake
    Graphics:
    ASUS ROG STRIX GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
    I had the same issue and the problem was related to AFPS, even with TRIM disabled, booting still would take about 2 min.

    Made a test with Blackmagic on the NVMe (Samsung 960 pro) read/write speed was the same for both 1800MB/s.

    Solution: I've cloned the main partition over to a spare drive, formatted the NVMe (HFS), cloned back to the NVMe and boom! startup time is about 4 sec.

    Now in HFS I get 2000/write and 2729.3/read - Nice improvement.
    NVMe.jpg
     

Share This Page