Contribute
Register

High Sierra + HDMI + Random Black Flashes

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jul 13, 2012
Messages
91
Motherboard
Ignore Me
CPU
I'm Ignoring
Graphics
Forum RULES !!!!!
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey guys,

I have High Sierra install and everything works as expected, but the screen randomly blacks out then its normal again.

High Sierra + GTX 1080.
One HDMI Cable is connected to my Yamaha Receiver RX-V679.
One Display Cable connected to my 4k Monitor.
One Optical Audio Cable connected to my Yamaha Receiver RX-V679.

On my Yamaha Receiver RX-V679 I have my 9.1 Speakers installed and my HDMI Optoma Beamer (1920x1080).

The screen does not black out when my Receiver is on, only when the Receiver is off. Sometimes when the computer sleeps, the screen stays black.

Im using my skylake Computer check my profile. The Beamer (projector) is always off. Never had problems with the beamer being on.
The Receiver needed to be off while starting into Sierra, otherwise I only get black screen. Works better on High Sierra, I only had Black screen twice. So I usually turn the receiver off, then boot up and turn the receiver on. Unless I have the beamer on I can boot up with the Receiver on, have to anyways otherwise I get no signals to my beamer.

Audio both work on Optical Audio and HTML Audio. I use HTML audio for my 7.1 surround sound movies and the optical 5.1 for my music and gaming, unless im playing on the beamer then I use HDMI 7.1 surround sound.

Does anyone had experience with this, know of any fix? Black flashes, screen staying black when waking up? and under sound control panel I have 4x "Digital-out (HDMI)" sounds with the same name, each startup I have to check with one is the real one, that actually plays sound. Example; Startup, 3rd one plays sound, next startup, the 4th one plays sound, next startup the 2nd one plays sound.

This is how it looks;

Digital-out (HDMI) -- Which one is the real one? Changes each startup.
Digital-out (HDMI)
Digital-out (HDMI)
Digital-out (HDMI)
Headphones (Green Front)
Line-Out (Green Rear)
SPDIF-out (ATAPI)
SPDIF-out (Orange Rear) -- This is my Optical out Audio
RX-V679 CEA719 -- My Receiver using WIFI
Apple TV -- My Apple TV 4k using WIFI (also connected my my Yamaha Receiver RX-V679 using HDMI)

Thanks in Advanced
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2015
Messages
143
Motherboard
Asus Rog Strix Z370-i
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
GeForce GTX 1050 Ti OC Low Profile 4G
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. LC
  2. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I had the same issues with my GTX 1050. I tried a few things, ssdt-gpu, lilu kext and nvidia fixup combo, clover patchey, etc.
What helped me is a bios update. I flashed my gpu with the latest beta rom, and since then the black screen issue is gone.
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2016
Messages
16
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Ultra Gaming
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I had the same issues with my GTX 1050. I tried a few things, ssdt-gpu, lilu kext and nvidia fixup combo, clover patchey, etc.
What helped me is a bios update. I flashed my gpu with the latest beta rom, and since then the black screen issue is gone.

hi ezsolt, I'm trying to flash my GTX 1050 ti OC with the latest beta BIOS. Yours is a Gigabyte GPU or a different brand? I can't manage to make the executable file work on Win 10. How did you flash it?
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2015
Messages
143
Motherboard
Asus Rog Strix Z370-i
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
GeForce GTX 1050 Ti OC Low Profile 4G
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. LC
  2. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
hi ezsolt, I'm trying to flash my GTX 1050 ti OC with the latest beta BIOS. Yours is a Gigabyte GPU or a different brand? I can't manage to make the executable file work on Win 10. How did you flash it?


yes I have a Gigabyte gpu (GTX 1050 Ti OC Low Profile)
I downloaded the bios for the gpu from the Gigabyte support page. I had an exe file, I could run it from windows.

Maybe your downloaded file is corrupt?
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2016
Messages
16
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Ultra Gaming
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
yes I have a Gigabyte gpu (GTX 1050 Ti OC Low Profile)
I downloaded the bios for the gpu from the Gigabyte support page. I had an exe file, I could run it from windows.

Maybe your downloaded file is corrupt?

Maybe!! Do you by any chance still have it and could pm me a download link? I would really appreciate it :)
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2015
Messages
143
Motherboard
Asus Rog Strix Z370-i
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
GeForce GTX 1050 Ti OC Low Profile 4G
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. LC
  2. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Joined
Dec 15, 2016
Messages
16
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Ultra Gaming
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The download link for my GPU is here (F3_Beta):
http://download.gigabyte.eu/FileList/BIOS/gv_bios_n105to4l.f3_beta.zip

Note, that this is for Gigabyte Geforce GTX 1050 Ti OC Low Profile. I dont know if it could work with an other 1050

Oh, yeh. We have the same GPU :)
This is the same file that I downloaded yesterday from gigabyte’s website.
What I meant was if you still had the zip you downloaded on your computer or a backup drive, the one that worked for you and maybe you could upload it somewhere for me to try it.

In any case did you disable the GPU in Device Manager before flashing the new BIOS? Is there any other thing that I could try?

thanks for your help!
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2016
Messages
16
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Ultra Gaming
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
By the way- just tried the dw link you posted and I keep getting the same error message as before.
(See attachment)
Any ideas?
P.s.: also tried flashing in safe mode...same error
 

Attachments

  • DAF183A6-2B8E-46F3-856E-4D06510F06F9.jpeg
    DAF183A6-2B8E-46F3-856E-4D06510F06F9.jpeg
    1 MB · Views: 191
Joined
Dec 15, 2016
Messages
16
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Ultra Gaming
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Oh, yeh. We have the same GPU :)
This is the same file that I downloaded yesterday from gigabyte’s website.
What I meant was if you still had the zip you downloaded on your computer or a backup drive, the one that worked for you and maybe you could upload it somewhere for me to try it.

In any case did you disable the GPU in Device Manager before flashing the new BIOS? Is there any other thing that I could try?

thanks for your help!

[SOLVED] The .rom file inside the x64 folder was an application in itself. Executed that file and flashed BIOS successfully!! Let's hope now that the black outs dissappear!! :) Thanks again
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top