High Sierra & Graphics Acceleration - GTX 1060 3GB

Discussion in 'Graphics' started by poiromaniax, Oct 3, 2017.

  1. poiromaniax

    poiromaniax

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte-Z170-GAMING-K3
    CPU:
    Skylake i5 3.3GHz 6600
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte Nvidia GTX 1060 G1 Gaming 3GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 3, 2017 at 10:04 PM #1
    poiromaniax

    poiromaniax

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte-Z170-GAMING-K3
    CPU:
    Skylake i5 3.3GHz 6600
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte Nvidia GTX 1060 G1 Gaming 3GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hi Guys,

    Im really hoping someone with more expertise than me can help me figure out why!

    I am going dilly. Since updating to HS 10.13, I no longer have Hardware Encoding (Which I assume is acceleration?) working on my machine.

    Specs:

    Gigabyte GA-Z170-Gaming-K3
    Skylake i5-6600 3.3GHz
    GTX 1060 Gaming G1 3GB
    SMBIOS 17,1

    What Ive done:

    Followed the steps in this post: [Solved] Setting up GTX 1060 - Graphics are Glitchy after Running Multibeast

    Used latest Lilu + NvidiaGraphicsFixup + CoreDisplayFixup from here: 4K Monitor Fix for High Sierra > CoreDisplayFixup 1.3 + Lilu 1.2

    I use RDM for switching res. When I place Nvidia Fix in Clover-Kext-Other, I dont get options higher than 30Hz.
    When I remove Nvidia Fix and place CoreDisplayFixup - Screen stays black but I get 60Hz options (Screen sharing from another computer so I can still see the screen)
    When I place them both, It is as if I only have Nvidia Fix in place and back to Max 30Hz options.

    Attached config.plist
     

    Attached Files:

  2. slim.jim

    slim.jim Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Messages:
    3,883
    Mobo:
    MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
    CPU:
    i7-4790K
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 4, 2017 at 3:06 AM #2
    slim.jim

    slim.jim Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Messages:
    3,883
    Mobo:
    MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
    CPU:
    i7-4790K
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Are you sure that NVRAM is working and the drivers are properly enabled? Gigabyte 100 series boards lack native NVRAM support so it must be emulated. If that is not working then the drivers are not loading.
     
  3. poiromaniax

    poiromaniax

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte-Z170-GAMING-K3
    CPU:
    Skylake i5 3.3GHz 6600
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte Nvidia GTX 1060 G1 Gaming 3GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 4, 2017 at 10:58 AM #3
    poiromaniax

    poiromaniax

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte-Z170-GAMING-K3
    CPU:
    Skylake i5 3.3GHz 6600
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte Nvidia GTX 1060 G1 Gaming 3GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Thanks for the reply.

    Yes I have emulated NVRAM using latest clover and also running RC scripts or else drivers wouldnt load.

    I have also reran latest clover in case something was amiss, but didnt help.

    Attached Clover folder from EFI volume

    Screen Shot 2017-10-04 at 07.39.36.png
     

    Attached Files:

  4. poiromaniax

    poiromaniax

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte-Z170-GAMING-K3
    CPU:
    Skylake i5 3.3GHz 6600
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte Nvidia GTX 1060 G1 Gaming 3GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 7, 2017 at 6:46 PM #4
    poiromaniax

    poiromaniax

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte-Z170-GAMING-K3
    CPU:
    Skylake i5 3.3GHz 6600
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte Nvidia GTX 1060 G1 Gaming 3GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    BUMP
     
  5. toxicthroat

    toxicthroat

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2017
    Messages:
    52
    Mobo:
    Msi z170a krait gaming x3
    CPU:
    Intel i7 6700k
    Graphics:
    EVGA Gtx 1070 sc sli
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 15, 2017 at 10:33 PM #5
    toxicthroat

    toxicthroat

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2017
    Messages:
    52
    Mobo:
    Msi z170a krait gaming x3
    CPU:
    Intel i7 6700k
    Graphics:
    EVGA Gtx 1070 sc sli
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I think this might be the most common issue with z170a boards , my specs are MSi z170a krait gaming x3 , i7 6700k and a Gtx 1070 in sli and I tried every possible solution but to no avail. Did you ever get it to work ?
     
  6. poiromaniax

    poiromaniax

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte-Z170-GAMING-K3
    CPU:
    Skylake i5 3.3GHz 6600
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte Nvidia GTX 1060 G1 Gaming 3GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 18, 2017 at 7:38 PM #6
    poiromaniax

    poiromaniax

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte-Z170-GAMING-K3
    CPU:
    Skylake i5 3.3GHz 6600
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte Nvidia GTX 1060 G1 Gaming 3GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nope. I’ve actually gone back to Sierra but still having issues with acceleration
     
  7. toxicthroat

    toxicthroat

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2017
    Messages:
    52
    Mobo:
    Msi z170a krait gaming x3
    CPU:
    Intel i7 6700k
    Graphics:
    EVGA Gtx 1070 sc sli
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 18, 2017 at 8:57 PM #7
    toxicthroat

    toxicthroat

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2017
    Messages:
    52
    Mobo:
    Msi z170a krait gaming x3
    CPU:
    Intel i7 6700k
    Graphics:
    EVGA Gtx 1070 sc sli
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I actually gotten my issue fixed by using the display port on my graphics card instead of the dvi and it worked , it doesn’t work on the dvi port unfortunately so I can’t get 144hz
     
  8. capitanbelico

    capitanbelico

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    85
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87M-D3H v 1.1
    CPU:
    Core i3 4340
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4600
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 18, 2017 at 10:10 PM #8
    capitanbelico

    capitanbelico

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    85
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87M-D3H v 1.1
    CPU:
    Core i3 4340
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4600
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    I got full aceleración doing this:

    1. download liu.kext
    2. install it in EFI/CLOVER/KEXT/OTHER
    3. download and install Nvidia web driver , don't care about error's installing continue and don't abort.
    4. then reboot.

    all credit to
    Wolfie81
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2017 at 10:15 PM
  9. poiromaniax

    poiromaniax

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte-Z170-GAMING-K3
    CPU:
    Skylake i5 3.3GHz 6600
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte Nvidia GTX 1060 G1 Gaming 3GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 20, 2017 at 1:36 PM #9
    poiromaniax

    poiromaniax

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte-Z170-GAMING-K3
    CPU:
    Skylake i5 3.3GHz 6600
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte Nvidia GTX 1060 G1 Gaming 3GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Do you mean lilu.kext?

    Can you link to it please?
    Any other Kext's or just that one?
     

Share This Page