Contribute
Register

High Sierra GA-Z68X-UD3 working *ONLY* when booting from USB

Joined
Jun 18, 2011
Messages
101
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370N Wifi
CPU
i5-8600K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Hello,

I managed to install High Sierra successfully on my setup, and it boots fine from Unibeast USB stick. Once I run Multibeast to install Clover to the HD, and with the needed options (Realtek 2.1.1 network and 3rd Party USB 3 drivers only) and try to boot from the hard disk I get an error so quickly that I cannot send a pic of the error fully (please check attached). High Sierra is installed onto a 3 years old Intel SSD (can that be a reason, incompatibility?), with APFS chosen during installation.
 

Attachments

BreBo

Moderator
Joined
Oct 17, 2011
Messages
9,638
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z87X-OC
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
GTX 970
Once I run Multibeast to install Clover to the HD, and with the needed options (Realtek 2.1.1 network and 3rd Party USB 3 drivers only) and try to boot from the hard disk I get an error so quickly that I cannot send a pic of the error fully (please check attached).
Try:
config.plist/ACPI/DSDT/Fixes/FixHeaders_20000000=true

FixHeaders.png
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2013
Messages
105
Motherboard
GA-Z87MX-D3H
CPU
i5-4670K
Graphics
HD4600
Once I run Multibeast to install Clover to the HD, and with the needed options (Realtek 2.1.1 network and 3rd Party USB 3 drivers only) and try to boot from the hard disk I get an error so quickly that I cannot send a pic of the error fully (please check attached).
I was having this exact same error message; mounted the USB and boot drive EFI partitions, copied the config.plist from the USB to boot drive, and everything worked fine thereafter.

There are probably better solutions than this, and no guarantees it'll work, but did the trick for me. Good luck.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2011
Messages
101
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370N Wifi
CPU
i5-8600K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
I was having this exact same error message; mounted the USB and boot drive EFI partitions, copied the config.plist from the USB to boot drive, and everything worked fine thereafter.

There are probably better solutions than this, and no guarantees it'll work, but did the trick for me. Good luck.
Armoured, indeed, copying the config.plist from USB to Boot partition did the trick, but it is not still a final solution for me. After booting the boot partition with that config.plist I did a minor change on it (changing the theme) and saved it to the boot partition and got the same error again, quite weird.
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2015
Messages
2,326
Motherboard
MSI H81i
CPU
i5-4570
Graphics
RX 580
Armoured, indeed, copying the config.plist from USB to Boot partition did the trick, but it is not still a final solution for me. After booting the boot partition with that config.plist I did a minor change on it (changing the theme) and saved it to the boot partition and got the same error again, quite weird.
Your firmware has a MATS table, you should add it to Acpi -> DropTables in config.plist
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
196
Motherboard
GA-Z87X-UD4H
CPU
i5-4570
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Hello,

I managed to install High Sierra successfully on my setup, and it boots fine from Unibeast USB stick. Once I run Multibeast to install Clover to the HD, and with the needed options (Realtek 2.1.1 network and 3rd Party USB 3 drivers only) and try to boot from the hard disk I get an error so quickly that I cannot send a pic of the error fully (please check attached). High Sierra is installed onto a 3 years old Intel SSD (can that be a reason, incompatibility?), with APFS chosen during installation.

I have exactly same problem! any update?
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2011
Messages
101
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370N Wifi
CPU
i5-8600K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Your firmware has a MATS table, you should add it to Acpi -> DropTables in config.plist
Thanks Vulgo. I did include the MATS table on the dropping session of ACPI and still have errros. I tried both via Clover Configurator, and to make sure it was being correctly applied, also tried via Clover Boot options (check pics attached). Still no High Sierra for me.

Any other suggestions ?

IMG_20171126_084427.jpg IMG_20171126_084602.jpg
 
Top