Motherboard
ASUS ROG Maximus IX Formula
CPU
Intel core i7-7700K
Graphics
2 x ASUS GeForce GTX 1070 ROG Strix
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, I am new here. Over the last couple of days i've converted from Linux (Ubuntu) to High Sierra on my main computer. This is my first attempt at trying out macOS on a non official mac computer. I have encountered some problems and done the installation more then once and read a lot of different guides. Finally I am now at a point where most of the functionality is working and I got all the programs i need. I had to set Google chrome and discord to run without hardware acceleration but, from what I have read this is usually the case with the current version of nvidia web drivers. SLI is not working, but if I understand correctly that's not supported either. That was the same in Linux aswell. But, at least i can use both GPU's to render in Blender etc.

Now to the problems I am having. The audio is working ok sometimes. But, when watching movies/series or listening to music suddenly the sound can start to get more and more fuzzy/distorted and fade away to the point where there's no sound. I then have to switch from one sound output source to another and then back again to get the sound back. Sometimes that's is enough and the problems are gone for awhile, other times I have to do a full restart of the computer to get the sound back. Also my microphone output level is really low. I basically have to put the mic really close to my mouth and talk loud to get any sound out of it and even then it's pretty low. Also when changing settings in System Preferences -> Sound all the output/input options disappears and sometimes the computer even freeze and i have to reboot.