High Sierra - 660ti graphics issues?

Discussion in 'High Sierra Desktop Support' started by rjohnst2, Sep 16, 2017.

  1. fiftythree

    fiftythree

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    CPU:
    Intel I5 3570K
    Graphics:
    GTX 660
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 29, 2017 at 3:40 AM #41
    fiftythree

    fiftythree

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    CPU:
    Intel I5 3570K
    Graphics:
    GTX 660
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I checked "Inject Nvidia" in Clover options and can confirm I get the same result - no artifacts and no dual display. Reboot again without the option, the artifacts immediately come back.

    Update: Unfortunately the artifacts show up again after several hours with the inject nvidia option checked.
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2017
  2. bilbo123

    bilbo123

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Sep 29, 2017 at 6:13 AM #42
    bilbo123

    bilbo123

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Guys I have 660ti as well with artefacts. This is a poor workaround but works until HS gets updated.
    Go to Displays-->Displays Preferences--> Click on Scaled. Mine is set to 1080P by default. I just click on 1080i or 720P wait for it to change resolutions then pick 1080P again. The artefacts seem to have gone. Must do this every time you reboot unfortunately.
     
    lad1dan likes this.
  3. CrashMidnick

    CrashMidnick

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    181
    Mobo:
    MSI Z270 M7
    CPU:
    Kaby Lake 7700k
    Graphics:
    GTX 1070
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 29, 2017 at 8:51 AM #43
    CrashMidnick

    CrashMidnick

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    181
    Mobo:
    MSI Z270 M7
    CPU:
    Kaby Lake 7700k
    Graphics:
    GTX 1070
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Thanks, I will try that tonight !
     
  4. wzorak3

    wzorak3

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Sep 29, 2017 at 3:26 PM #44
    wzorak3

    wzorak3

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    thanks, in my setup, if i change resolution the artifacts are also gone but just for a 15 minutes or so. what makes me crazy is that those 15 minutes everything is perfect, smooth and no problems at all, very strange..
     
  5. fiftythree

    fiftythree

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    CPU:
    Intel I5 3570K
    Graphics:
    GTX 660
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 29, 2017 at 3:32 PM #45
    fiftythree

    fiftythree

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    CPU:
    Intel I5 3570K
    Graphics:
    GTX 660
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Thanks. When I switch to 4k the artifacts are gone. Switch to others the artifacts are back. One thing for me is if I use dual display the system will always freeze when I change resolutions, so I have to unplug one monitor for now.

    Update: Lasted about 5 hours and then artifacts are all over the place.
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2017
  6. VioletDragon

    VioletDragon

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    10,897
    Mobo:
    GA-H77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 1, 2017 at 1:39 PM #46
    VioletDragon

    VioletDragon

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    10,897
    Mobo:
    GA-H77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Inject nvidia/True is not needed for your GPU. Most likely caused by onboard iGPU being enabled. Nvidia Drivers are buggy in 10.12+.
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2017
  7. rjohnst2

    rjohnst2

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Mobo:
    Customac
    CPU:
    I3770k
    Graphics:
    Geforce 660 ti
    Oct 1, 2017 at 3:37 PM #47
    rjohnst2

    rjohnst2

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Mobo:
    Customac
    CPU:
    I3770k
    Graphics:
    Geforce 660 ti
    I can promise onboard iGPU is not enabled in my case- all internal graphics disabled on Gigabyte Z77-UP5-TH motherboard. This is very frustrating, as everything works perfectly in Sierra- and from looking around this problem seems to affect everyone with Kepler based Nvidia cards. There has to be a solution, something simple is likely causing this.... This also only seems to affect macOS windows (not other apps such as Chrome or VLC), so possibly this is a Metal 2 issue?
     
  8. VioletDragon

    VioletDragon

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    10,897
    Mobo:
    GA-H77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 1, 2017 at 3:48 PM #48
    VioletDragon

    VioletDragon

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    10,897
    Mobo:
    GA-H77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I got rid of my GTX760 a few weeks ago due to Drivers being unstable in 10.12+.
     
  9. Casa

    Casa

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    Asrock H77M-ITX
    CPU:
    Core i5 3470
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte 660Ti Windforce
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iBook
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 1, 2017 at 7:02 PM #49
    Casa

    Casa

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    Asrock H77M-ITX
    CPU:
    Core i5 3470
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte 660Ti Windforce
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iBook
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    I can't confirm that, I had zero issues with my 660Ti in Sierra - at least not with the standard drivers. I remember though that when a long time ago I tried nVidia web drivers they were buggy and crashy, never used them again. This has so far been my most reliable graphics card, even on real Apple systems, pity High Sierra won't play along. :(
     
  10. lad1dan

    lad1dan

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Mobo:
    asus p8z77-v lx, os x 10.13.
    CPU:
    i5-3570k
    Graphics:
    gigabyte gtx 660 ti oc
    Oct 2, 2017 at 10:06 PM #50
    lad1dan

    lad1dan

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Mobo:
    asus p8z77-v lx, os x 10.13.
    CPU:
    i5-3570k
    Graphics:
    gigabyte gtx 660 ti oc
    same issue. no final solution found, yet. only this helps temporarily:

     

Share This Page