Contribute
Register

High Sierra 10.3.4 update - does printf work??

Status
Not open for further replies.

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,977
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I attached my previously working EFI folder. This used to boot up like a charm.
Your hardware is not appropriate for the MacPro5,1 SMBIOS.
See if this config.plist makes any difference :

Edit : You should probably delete NullCPUPowerManagement.kext as it is at odds with your efforts at power management.
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    6.8 KB · Views: 190
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 19, 2010
Messages
85
Motherboard
Asus Hero X AC WiFi
CPU
i7-8086K
Graphics
Sapphire NITRO+ RX VEGA64 8G HBM2
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Your hardware is not appropriate for the MacPro5,1 SMBIOS.
See if this config.plist makes any difference :

Edit : You should probably delete NullCPUPowerManagement.kext as it is at odds with your efforts at power management.

Thanks for joining Sir!

I tried the config.plist. Same "does printf work??"

I keep NullCPUPowerManagement.kext because it's necessary for the x79 platform to have working power management (As far as I know). I could boot without it (before this current saga began), but the cpu would run 10-20 C's hotter
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,977
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS

Attachments

  • config.plist
    6.8 KB · Views: 116
Joined
Dec 19, 2010
Messages
85
Motherboard
Asus Hero X AC WiFi
CPU
i7-8086K
Graphics
Sapphire NITRO+ RX VEGA64 8G HBM2
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Try again with this one :

Tried it with a new clover USB boot drive I created.
Now getting this:

IMG_E4826.JPG

Edit: Attached is the new EFI folder of the boot drive
 

Attachments

  • EFI.zip
    5.2 MB · Views: 61

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,977
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Tried it with a new clover USB boot drive I created.
Now getting this:
For 'Error loading kernel cache' you should boot with -f UseKernelCache=No.
The last config.plist that I uploaded was set to do that.
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2010
Messages
85
Motherboard
Asus Hero X AC WiFi
CPU
i7-8086K
Graphics
Sapphire NITRO+ RX VEGA64 8G HBM2
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
For 'Error loading kernel cache' you should boot with -f UseKernelCache=No.
The last config.plist that I uploaded was set to do that.
I attached the current EFI folder to my previous post.

Edit : I deleted NullCPU Kext. No change.
 
Last edited:

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,977
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I attached the current EFI folder to my previous post.

You could try changing OsxAptioFix3Drv-64 for AptioMemoryFix or OsxAptioFixDrv or OsxAptioFix2Drv.
Other than that, no more ideas.
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2010
Messages
85
Motherboard
Asus Hero X AC WiFi
CPU
i7-8086K
Graphics
Sapphire NITRO+ RX VEGA64 8G HBM2
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You could try changing OsxAptioFix3Drv-64 for AptioMemoryFix or OsxAptioFixDrv or OsxAptioFix2Drv.
Other than that, no more ideas.
Have already tried those. But not with the config.plist you provided.
I'll give it a try.
Appreciate your help!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top