Contribute
Register

Hide clover and boot straight into Mac

Joined
Jan 29, 2016
Messages
1
Motherboard
msi z87 g45 gaming
CPU
intel core i5 4670k @4.0ghz
Graphics
nvidia gtx 770 super clocked
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hey guys! I'm new to all of this. I've already hidden my bios menu from coming up at boot. Is there a way to hide clover completely and just not show it? I want to make it so when I turn my hackintosh on, all I see in startup is the apple logo.. I don't want to see the countdown or anything booting into Mac OS. I only have one OS and that is Mac.
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2016
Messages
20
Motherboard
ASUS H97M-E
CPU
Intel core i5 4690
Graphics
GTX 760/ intel HD 4600
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
and how if we want to get clover back?
EDIT: Sorry, fount it..
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2017
Messages
69
Motherboard
Sabertooth Z77
CPU
Intel i5 2500k
Graphics
Nvidia GTX 970
Mac
iMac
Any way to make the apple logo set at the right resolution immediately?
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2017
Messages
69
Motherboard
Sabertooth Z77
CPU
Intel i5 2500k
Graphics
Nvidia GTX 970
Mac
iMac
Last edited:

slim.jim

Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
4,108
Motherboard
MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
It says it already tries to go to the max resolution, I assume my altering it won't change whether it fails? I'll give it a shot.

Edit: No change after updating the values in the plist, it still only changes resolution to the right one about 25% through the loading of the apple logo startup screen. I'm guessing thats when the graphics adapter gets initialized by the os?
If you are using an HDMI connection it can behave differently at boot depending on the monitor. DisplayPort or DVI usually work better.
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2017
Messages
69
Motherboard
Sabertooth Z77
CPU
Intel i5 2500k
Graphics
Nvidia GTX 970
Mac
iMac
If you are using an HDMI connection it can behave differently at boot depending on the monitor. DisplayPort or DVI usually work better.
Been using Display port since I got my GTX 970 - it does seem to work more consistently with Mac than it ever did with windows haha. I'm wishing I could get clover boot + apple logo to 2560x1440 the entire time for a sleek experience. Then I'll hide the clover bootloader complete
 

slim.jim

Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
4,108
Motherboard
MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Been using Display port since I got my GTX 970 - it does seem to work more consistently with Mac than it ever did with windows haha. I'm wishing I could get clover boot + apple logo to 2560x1440 the entire time for a sleek experience. Then I'll hide the clover bootloader complete
This isn't something I've tried, mine works @ 1920x1200, but did you try disabling CSM in bios?
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2017
Messages
69
Motherboard
Sabertooth Z77
CPU
Intel i5 2500k
Graphics
Nvidia GTX 970
Mac
iMac
This isn't something I've tried, mine works @ 1920x1200, but did you try disabling CSM in bios?
Nice that worked out, now Clover and the apple logo are 2560x1440 the whole time.

The monitor still does a resolution blink about 30% through loading. Not sure if that's a quirk of my of my cheap monitor.
 
Top