Contribute
Register

Help with editing processor section in DSDT (Noob!)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H
CPU
Intel i5 3570K
Graphics
Nvidia GeForce GTX 650
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
Hi,

I'm relatively new to this Hackintosh-ing business, but have been a bit of a computer-building hobby-ist for a while, so thought that I'd give it a go. I've managed to get SL installed on my system pretty much fine (shutdown and reboot are a bit temperamental and the occasional crash still happens every now and then) but I'm still having to boot with the CD as opposed to booting from Chameleon on my HD. When I boot from Chameleon I get the _CST evaluation failed error, which, so I've looked up, means that I need to re-write my processor section in the DSDT - something to do with c-states? I have already got a p-state calculator, if that helps.

I've followed a tutorial on insanelymac.com (http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/index. ... pic=181631) but to no avail - and I'm aware that this is speedstepping as opposed to what I really need to do. I was just wondering if anyone could lend me a hand - or if not explain, just point me in the right direction :)

Sorry if this is a really noobish / hard-to-answer-simply question, but I'd really love to learn how to sort my own DSDT out and get my SL install working as well as I can :) (I also need to get the Chameleon boot working if I have any hope of enabling QE/CI for my graphics card!)

Thanks in advance! (Anything needed: info, dsdt.dsl files, etc., let me know)

Config:
Asus P5KPL SE
Intel Dual Core 3.0GHz E8400
250GB SATA HD (Seagate)
ATI Radeon HD4650 512MB
Retail Snow Leopard 10.6.2

install using iboot and multibeast from the installation threads....much easier mate ;)

Safira-San said:
Hi,

Thanks in advance! (Anything needed: info, dsdt.dsl files, etc., let me know)