Contribute
Register

Help with dual monitors on intel UHD 630

Joined
Jun 21, 2018
Messages
4
Motherboard
Asus ROG Maximus x hero
CPU
i7 8700K
Graphics
Intel UHD630
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi!

I've really tried searching for answers here, but I just can't seem to get it to work.
After all the things I've tried I've gotten to this weird state where if I boot with both monitors connected, it works fine for like 30 seconds after the system is fully booted, then the second screen goes black and the main one starts flickering. When I disconnect the second monitor everything goes back to normal, but the keyboard stops working (!).

I think I had it working for a while after my first attempts with adding agdpfix and stuff, but then the next day it was like this. Also something else weird seemed to have happened when it stopped working. When I first got it to work I played around with a few different desktop backgrounds before I settled. When it stopped working, it had also gone back to one of the old backgrounds, which makes me think that maybe something got rolled back somehow? But adding the agdpfix again didn't make a difference, and it flet like that was what did the trick in the first place.

I'm very new to all of this hackintosh business, so when I look for answers I don't understand most of what you guys are saying when it gets too complicated. So please assume that I know just about nothing. (I was "good" at PC:s once upon a time, which is why I dared to try this build. But I really don't know much about osx or linux behind the scenes.)

Some info:
My first monitor is an Asus connected via displayport. The second monitor is a hundred years old, connected via hdmi to vga. (I read somewhere that vga might not work, but since it worked for a while I'm guessing that's not the main problem here?)

I found some tweaks to get the system to recognize the gpu, and I installed the agdpfix. It sees the gpu and the main monitor correctly.

I also now tried to install the lilu.kext even though I'm not sure why. No difference.

So that's about it. Would be incredibly thankful for any help.


EDIT:
Just tried one last time to hotplug the second monitor after writing this post. OSx also detects the second monitor correctly, and now it seems to work just fine. And I haven't changed anything since the last few times I tried. I'm just assuming it won't work the next time I reboot.. But I guess I'm even more convinced that the actual monitor and the vga business isn't the issue.

Also, might be good to know I'm using the 17,1 smbios.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 23, 2017
Messages
5
Motherboard
gigabyte h270n-wifi
CPU
i5-7400
Graphics
Hd 630
Having similar problems connecting my Hd 630 to High Sierra dual monitor (hdmi or whatever).
I get system reboot... This worked on my Sierra Install, but after upgrading it became a nightmare. must be some clover setting ot kext i´m missing... any help ?
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2018
Messages
4
Motherboard
Asus ROG Maximus x hero
CPU
i7 8700K
Graphics
Intel UHD630
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
It seems to be some kind of problem with too many usb devices. And that's also why my keyboard stopped working. That particular port was a usb hub with several units. To see if this might have been the problem I disconnected some of my usb stuff, and now it seems to work. Does anyone have a clue to what the number of connected usb devices might have to do with the displays?

Edit: Still doesn't work on reboot though.. Seems to work if I hotplug the second display though, which wasn't possible with all the usb devices connected.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 16, 2011
Messages
625
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64 + eGPU: 2 x RX 580
Mac
Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS, Other
H
It seems to be some kind of problem with too many usb devices. And that's also why my keyboard stopped working. That particular port was a usb hub with several units. To see if this might have been the problem I disconnected some of my usb stuff, and now it seems to work. Does anyone have a clue to what the number of connected usb devices might have to do with the displays?

Edit: Still doesn't work on reboot though.. Seems to work if I hotplug the second display though, which wasn't possible with all the usb devices connected.
Hi @mimla. Did you ever resolve this? I'm trying to help @TheDave who is having similar issues. His 'cry for help' starts at this post.
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2018
Messages
4
Motherboard
Asus ROG Maximus x hero
CPU
i7 8700K
Graphics
Intel UHD630
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
H


Hi @mimla. Did you ever resolve this? I'm trying to help @TheDave who is having similar issues. His 'cry for help' starts at this post.
Nope, sorry.. I just try not to reboot too often, and when I do need to reboot I unplug the second monitor and a few usb hard drives first, since it works fine if I hotplug them. All I can say is that it seems to have something to do with me having too much stuff connected.
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2017
Messages
5
Motherboard
gigabyte h270n-wifi
CPU
i5-7400
Graphics
Hd 630
i´m having some decent results setting product model to iMac14,2 (maybe other is better) on SMBIOS of my config.plist in clover.
Still have to boot with a single display, but once osx is running it´s ok to plug the second and it works.. Also no problem with usb devices or any other.
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2018
Messages
6
I got dual monitor with HD630 working without any fake ID's or ig-platform change.
U could try my Clover configuration for testing.

If u use my config, don't forget to set your own serial number at SMBIOS and ROM at RT Variables to get cloud and iMessage working too.

Works:
  • WLAN
  • Bluetooth + Airdrop
  • iGPU + Hardware Acceleration + Dual Monitor (still needs to be plugged in after boot to work)
  • Hibernation
  • USB 2 + 3
  • iMessage + iCloud

I do use the following kext:
  • AirportBrcmFixup
  • AppleALC
  • BrcmFirmwareRepo (For Bluetooth)
  • BrcmPatchRAM2 (For Bluetooth)
  • CodecCommander
  • HibernationFixup
  • IntelMausiEthernet
  • Lilu (In Debug, self compiled)
  • SMCProcessor
  • SMCSuperIO
  • USBInjectAll
  • VirtualSMC (in replacement for the basic SMC faker)
  • WhateverGreen (In Debug, self compiled)
I did fake my hackingtosh as a 18,1 iMac (21,5 inch 4K)
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Top