Contribute
Register

Help: Total newbie, specific requirements

Status
Not open for further replies.

R77

Core questions are in pink, if you can only comment on some instead of all.

So the HDDs of my Mac Mini '11 are falling apart and I've been considering building my own because the perfect Mac for me doesn't exist. This will be my first time building a non-standard machine so half of the hardware codes look like gibberish to me, I'm going to need some advice. I have a friend who can help with the actual setup when it's time, but at first I would definitely have to decide what I'm even looking for. I'm looking at the wonderful buyer's guide list on this website but I'm afraid that I don't always know what I should be choosing for each purpose.

Summary of requirements:
  • The computer would need to deal with graphics and audio work on a professionally pleasing level. (Currently, 1 displayport. MIDI via USB)
  • The computer should be as quiet as possible. No whistling, whirring or especially resonance rattling.
  • I dislike El Capitan and don't want to go there.
  • The computer should have 3D/video capabilities "similar to a cheap/average PC", which is better than a Mac but a casual hobbyist grade is well sufficient.

Quietude

I know one other silence freak, and he said that it wasn't so much the case of his computer that made it silent, but it was the Noctua brand fans. Since he has an insane amount of HDDs but does completely different things than me, the amount of fans in his system can't really act as a reference for what I should get for mine. As Noctua fans weren't mentioned in the buyer's guide list, does anyone know if they could be an option?