Contribute
Register

[Help] Screen Issues Dell Inspiron 7548 HD5500 4K

Joined
Oct 19, 2018
Messages
22
Motherboard
Dell Inspiron 7548 - Clover
CPU
i7-5500U/0AM6R0
Graphics
HD 5500, R7 M270, 3840x2160
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi. I installed mojave on my laptop but i cannot use it.
I get a gray screen after the apple logo finish loading, if I pres keys like ESC or the spacebar I'm able to see for a fraction of a second the window, and then returns to the grey screen.
I was able to login entering the password with the grey screen.
I check the DVMT memory and its 128mb so I disabled the patch.

(I upload the video file showing the problem)

I would run patchmatic but it’s almost impossible to do it guessing everything.

Thank you
 

Attachments

  • CLOVER.zip
    1.7 MB · Views: 40
  • Garbled screen video.zip
    13.8 MB · Views: 42
Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,161
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I check the DVMT memory and its 128mb so I disabled the patch.

The files you attached show a 32mb DVMT patch in config.plist/Devices/Properties/PciRoot(0)/Pci(0x02,0).
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2018
Messages
22
Motherboard
Dell Inspiron 7548 - Clover
CPU
i7-5500U/0AM6R0
Graphics
HD 5500, R7 M270, 3840x2160
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The files you attached show a 32mb DVMT patch in config.plist/Devices/Properties/PciRoot(0)/Pci(0x02,0).

I change the integer to 0, I thought it was enough. What else I should do to disable it?
(I read the DVMT post but I don’t understand where to turn it off, or exactly what to delete)
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,161
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I change the integer to 0, I thought it was enough. What else I should do to disable it?
(I read the DVMT post but I don’t understand where to turn it off, or exactly what to delete)

To avoid confusion, remove all such framebuffer* entries.

You should try other ig-platform-id values. Also, don't forget to enable legacy boot/CSM in BIOS.
Implementing backlight control may also help (see link in FAQ).
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2018
Messages
22
Motherboard
Dell Inspiron 7548 - Clover
CPU
i7-5500U/0AM6R0
Graphics
HD 5500, R7 M270, 3840x2160
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
To avoid confusion, remove all such framebuffer* entries.

You should try other ig-platform-id values. Also, don't forget to enable legacy boot/CSM in BIOS.
Implementing backlight control may also help (see link in FAQ).

THANKS, I put an invalid ig-platform-id value (0x12345678) and deleted the framebuffer* entries and I was able to boot into macOS.

But if I booted in CSM mode it got me a 23-inch display with 1280X1024 resolution (vram 5MB).
Without CSM I got a 61-inch display with 3840x2160 resolution (vram 31MB).
Is this is a problem related to the invalid ig-platform-id?

(I upload the update clover files)
 

Attachments

  • CLOVER-2.zip
    1.8 MB · Views: 30

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,161
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
THANKS, I put an invalid ig-platform-id value (0x12345678) and deleted the framebuffer* entries and I was able to boot into macOS.

But if I booted in CSM mode it got me a 23-inch display with 1280X1024 resolution (vram 5MB).
Without CSM I got a 61-inch display with 3840x2160 resolution (vram 31MB).
Is this is a problem related to the invalid ig-platform-id?

(I upload the update clover files)

No expectation that graphics will work correctly with an invalid ig-platform-id.
The purpose of the invalid id is to prevent the graphics drivers from starting.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2018
Messages
22
Motherboard
Dell Inspiron 7548 - Clover
CPU
i7-5500U/0AM6R0
Graphics
HD 5500, R7 M270, 3840x2160
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
No expectation that graphics will work correctly with an invalid ig-platform-id.
The purpose of the invalid id is to prevent the graphics drivers from starting.
Excellent, now I understand. To fix it what should I have to do?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,161
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Excellent, now I understand. To fix it what should I have to do?

You need to use a valid ig-platform-id then work through the problem.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2018
Messages
22
Motherboard
Dell Inspiron 7548 - Clover
CPU
i7-5500U/0AM6R0
Graphics
HD 5500, R7 M270, 3840x2160
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You need to use a valid ig-platform-id then work through the problem.

Well I tried many options for the ig-platform-id none actually seem to do any better, i was getting a garbled screen or not even booting onto macOS.
The CSM boot is enabled from BIOS.
I'm uploading the reporting files (booted from the usb) and the clover configuration used.
 

Attachments

  • clover-3.zip
    1.8 MB · Views: 31
  • debug_10026.zip
    462.7 KB · Views: 30
Joined
Oct 19, 2018
Messages
22
Motherboard
Dell Inspiron 7548 - Clover
CPU
i7-5500U/0AM6R0
Graphics
HD 5500, R7 M270, 3840x2160
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I upload the reporting and clover files, but in this case with the framebuffer activated (the raw .plist from your repository, no changes).
I check the DVMT memory and its 128mb so I disabled the patch.
Because I think I did not check my DVMT memory properly.

Edit:
I tried to boot with the clover file attached but with the default if-platform-id (0x16260006) and my screen get’s stuck here:
7FDF2A45-ED1A-4E38-8B1A-ECCD98B2C6CE.jpeg


And booting with ig-platform-id commented out it stucks at this screen:
C77A8DB0-AE15-4EB8-ACA8-CCD77B5986A2.jpeg

(Sorry that it’s backwards, can’t rotate it)
 

Attachments

  • clover-4.zip
    1.8 MB · Views: 34
  • debug_8577.zip
    437.3 KB · Views: 30
Last edited:
Top