Contribute
Register

Help Needed: USB 3.0 behavior + Via Labs VL811 USB3 hub chip (GA-z77x-ud5h rev. 1.1 mobo)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UD5H rev1.1 F16j
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
(SOLVED) USB 3.0 behavior + Via Labs VL811 USB3 hub chip (GA-z77x-ud5h rev. 1.1 mobo)

SOLVED (See last post)

As far as I know my questions do not pertain to the GA-z77x-ud5h rev. 1.0 mobo as it uses the Via Labs VL810 USB hub contoller
chip. Also as of 2 weeks ago I am new to all of this and have only used Macs before.

I just want to gather info on the VL811 Superspeed USB Hub Controller behavior. I think I might have permanently screwed up my mobo (VL811 firmware flashing disclosure below), or the Apple USBxHCI.kext USB3 implementation isn't mature yet (more below). If someone knowledgeable could confirm or dispel my findings it would help greatly.

(Attached photos are with numbers. Photo 0: my VL811 chip on the mobo)
0. VL811 Chip.JPG

The symptom:
I am having difficulty getting the USB3 ports on the rear of the GA-z77x-ud5h rev. 1.1 mobo to behave properly (at least they way I think they should, but, I have never had USB3 before and only have one external HDD to test with). With a lot of finagling I have gotten my USB3 connectivity on the entire machine to a place where I can stop testing it and start using it, but, thought I'd ask here in case there's anything I've overlooked. It seems to me there isn't a lot of current info on USB 3.0 and the VL811 chip as it is new on the z77x-ud5h Rev 1.1 board. Even on this page it isn't even listed:
http://legacy.tonymacx86.com/viewtopic.php?f=119&t=64999 so maybe I am just :banghead:

The real problem is: