Contribute
Register

[HELP] My Switchable Graphics option in BIOS keeps resetting after reboot!

Joined
Mar 29, 2017
Messages
34
Motherboard
Dell Precision M4800 + Clover 4077
CPU
i7 4800MQ + Intel QM87 (Lynx Point) Chipset
Graphics
NVIDIA Quadro K2100M | Intel HD4600 1080p
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
if you can disable your nvidia graphics via BIOS, then you won't need to disable nvidia via DSDT if you can disable, you will then have to extract fresh dsdt (F4 in clover screen)
I know, but my problem is:

I want to use iGPU only for MacOS (and disable NVIDIA)
but I want to use NVIDIA for Windows.

I only have the Switchable Graphics option in BIOS, nothing else :/
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
21,484
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I know, but my problem is:

I want to use iGPU only for MacOS (and disable NVIDIA)
but I want to use NVIDIA for Windows.

I only have the Switchable Graphics option in BIOS, nothing else :/
oh, ok, then keep BIOS settings as you had them and disable NVIDIA via DSDT

(i disabled NVIDIA on my laptop and have noticed better battery and less fan noise)
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2017
Messages
34
Motherboard
Dell Precision M4800 + Clover 4077
CPU
i7 4800MQ + Intel QM87 (Lynx Point) Chipset
Graphics
NVIDIA Quadro K2100M | Intel HD4600 1080p
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
There is likely an existing patch in my laptop repo.
But your profile is not filled out as per FAQ, so I have no idea even which laptop you have...
I've specified my Laptop now in Motherboard (additional hardware has more details)

By switchable graphics, you mean Optimus, right?
Yes. But my workstation laptop has Desktop-like Optimus... So switchable graphics might be supported in MacOS afaik.. I only want iGPU tho.

Did you try "Shutdown Fix" patch?
In Clover Config? Yes. Or do you mean in ACPI tables?

Does the problem happen with Apple->Shutdown or just Apple->Restart?
Both.
As I said in my original post, it tries to boot, and then fails. then reboots with optimus off.

So I should search for a new USB patch instead of using my previous one? okay hope that'll work...

I will look at your current files later.. no time right now.
Okay thanks so much for your time man! I hope we'll get this fixed.. It's really frustrating..
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2017
Messages
34
Motherboard
Dell Precision M4800 + Clover 4077
CPU
i7 4800MQ + Intel QM87 (Lynx Point) Chipset
Graphics
NVIDIA Quadro K2100M | Intel HD4600 1080p
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
oh, ok, then keep BIOS settings as you had them and disable NVIDIA via DSDT

(i disabled NVIDIA on my laptop and have noticed better battery and less fan noise)
Yeah I want to do that but when Switchable Graphics / Optimus is disabled in BIOS, it forces use of NVIDIA instead of iGPU, resulting in either blackscreen, or with nv_disable software rendering..

And Switchable graphics / Optimus resets itself to disabled after I've rebooted with it enabled once. :/
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
21,484
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yeah I want to do that but when Switchable Graphics / Optimus is disabled in BIOS, it forces use of NVIDIA instead of iGPU, resulting in either blackscreen, or with nv_disable software rendering..

And Switchable graphics / Optimus resets itself to disabled after I've rebooted with it enabled once. :/
you could experiment with Nvidia (if you want to try and enable only nvidia), enable in bios, then try injecting nvidia in clover.plist

or if that doesn't work, use nv_disable=1 until you can boot, install nvidia web drivers, then boot with nvda_drv=1 and also add in to clover.plist:

Code:
<key>SystemParameters</key>
    <dict>
        <key>InjectKexts</key>
        <string>YES</string>
        <key>InjectSystemID</key>
        <true/>
        <key>NvidiaWeb</key>
        <true/>
    </dict>
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2017
Messages
34
Motherboard
Dell Precision M4800 + Clover 4077
CPU
i7 4800MQ + Intel QM87 (Lynx Point) Chipset
Graphics
NVIDIA Quadro K2100M | Intel HD4600 1080p
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
you could experiment with Nvidia (if you want to try and enable only nvidia), enable in bios, then try injecting nvidia in clover.plist

or if that doesn't work, use nv_disable=1 until you can boot, install nvidia web drivers, then boot with nvda_drv=1 and also add in to clover.plist:

Code:
<key>SystemParameters</key>
    <dict>
        <key>InjectKexts</key>
        <string>YES</string>
        <key>InjectSystemID</key>
        <true/>
        <key>NvidiaWeb</key>
        <true/>
    </dict>
I already have everything going, including NVIDIA Web Drivers.
I want to use my iGPU and disable NVIDIA, but my BIOS does not allow that because Switchable Graphics keeps getting reset to false every macOS reboot, and apparently I need Switchable Graphics/Optimus to tell my PC it can use iGPU. Otherwise it will force NVIDIA..
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
21,484
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I already have everything going, including NVIDIA Web Drivers.
I want to use my iGPU and disable NVIDIA, but my BIOS does not allow that because Switchable Graphics keeps getting reset to false every macOS reboot, and apparently I need Switchable Graphics/Optimus to tell my PC it can use iGPU. Otherwise it will force NVIDIA..
oh, then remove nvidia drivers if you want to disable it, also patch dsdt to disable nvidia

sorry for cross wires
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2017
Messages
34
Motherboard
Dell Precision M4800 + Clover 4077
CPU
i7 4800MQ + Intel QM87 (Lynx Point) Chipset
Graphics
NVIDIA Quadro K2100M | Intel HD4600 1080p
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
oh, then remove nvidia drivers if you want to disable it, also patch dsdt to disable nvidia

sorry for cross wires
I've done that all. When I have Switchable Graphics off in BIOS, I get a blackscreen with NVIDIA disable patches, and nvidia drivers removed
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,161
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've specified my Laptop now in Motherboard (additional hardware has more details)

Look in the repo at the Dell patches. One of them might match. Details on how to find a suitable patch are in the battery patching guide.

Yes. But my workstation laptop has Desktop-like Optimus... So switchable graphics might be supported in MacOS afaik.. I only want iGPU tho.

I don't know what you mean by "Desktop-like Optimus".
Are you saying the Nvidia is dedicated to the HDMI (or DP) external port?
If so, that is not Optimus... that is just dual GPU.

In Clover Config? Yes. Or do you mean in ACPI tables?

Either way same thing.

Both.
As I said in my original post, it tries to boot, and then fails. then reboots with optimus off.

I think first we must establish the true nature of your graphics configuration.
Optimus or not...

So I should search for a new USB patch instead of using my previous one? okay hope that'll work...

Not really a search. Plan on creating a custom SSDT for your ports and USBInjectAll.kext.
 
Top