Contribute
Register

HELP! Major issues with my install

Joined
Nov 12, 2013
Messages
27
Motherboard
ASUS N552VX
CPU
i7 6700HQ
Graphics
Intel HD530
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. Performa
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Did you set DVMT-prealloc to 64mb?

What happens when you boot (without safe mode)?

There is no unusual problems with these ACPI files. I disassembled with refs.txt per guide:

Code:
iasl -da -dl -fe refs.txt DSDT.aml SSDT*.aml

The resulting DSDT.dsl has no errors. SSDT-0.dsl, no errors. SSDT-1.dsl no errors after "Remove _DSM methods". SSDT-2.dsl, SSDT-3, SSDT-4, SSDT-12, SSDT-13, all no errors.

When I boot I have Apple logo with white progress bar until the end. After that a white rectangle blinks once every 6-8 seconds at the upper left corner or apple logo glitches all across the screen. Also in verbose mode happens the same thing. Boot sequencegoes through until all verbose messages disappear and same glitches happens.

Ok now I'm getting through patching... It will be a long run..
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,093
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
When I boot I have Apple logo with white progress bar until the end.

After that a white rectangle blinks once every 6-8 seconds at the upper left corner or apple logo glitches all across the screen. Also in verbose mode happens the same thing. Boot sequencegoes through until all verbose messages disappear and same glitches happens.

Ok now I'm getting through patching... It will be a long run..

You did not answer my question regarding DVMT-prealloc.

Did you enable CSM/legacy boot in BIOS?

Did you try all valid ig-platform-id values?

Did you try with an external monitor?
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2013
Messages
27
Motherboard
ASUS N552VX
CPU
i7 6700HQ
Graphics
Intel HD530
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. Performa
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
You did not answer my question regarding DVMT-prealloc.

Did you enable CSM/legacy boot in BIOS?

Did you try all valid ig-platform-id values?

Did you try with an external monitor?

I've already answered before. Yes I did set DVMT-prealloc to 64MB. I can set it from BIOS to 32, 64, 128, 256 and 512M. Should I try some other value?

Sorry but what are all ig-platform-ids for HD530?

External monitor to HDMI or to DP?

Edit: Anyway. Tonight I patched my DSDTs and now AppleLPC is loading (as i can see from RegIO).
I applied those patches:
  • Remove _DSM from SSDT
  • Rename GFX0 to IGPU
  • Brightness fix (ACPI 100)
  • Skylake LPC
  • SMBUS Fix

Other patches didn't result in anything new.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 12, 2013
Messages
27
Motherboard
ASUS N552VX
CPU
i7 6700HQ
Graphics
Intel HD530
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. Performa
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Upgrades:

I tried all possible ig-platform-ids but no one took me to complete boot. Luckily, the last one, 03 00 1E 19, let my verbose boot sequence to remain on screen and I took a photo:

WP_20160424_11_21_58_Pro.jpg

It seems to be a problem with CPU model..
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,093
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've already answered before. Yes I did set DVMT-prealloc to 64MB. I can set it from BIOS to 32, 64, 128, 256 and 512M. Should I try some other value?

Sorry but what are all ig-platform-ids for HD530?

External monitor to HDMI or to DP?

Edit: Anyway. Tonight I patched my DSDTs and now AppleLPC is loading (as i can see from RegIO).
I applied those patches:
  • Remove _DSM from SSDT
  • Rename GFX0 to IGPU
  • Brightness fix (ACPI 100)
  • Skylake LPC
  • SMBUS Fix

Other patches didn't result in anything new.

You can certainly try other DVMT-prealloc values... Testing so far has revealed that for normal screens, 64mb is the value that works most of the time.

This is a list of ig-platform-id in the SKL framebuffer... (note: they are byte reversed)

ig-platform-id values SDK 10.11.4

184 bytes each

00 00 1E 19
00 00 16 19
00 00 26 19
00 00 1B 19
00 00 3B 19
00 00 12 19
01 00 02 19
01 00 17 19
01 00 12 19
01 00 32 19
02 00 16 19
02 00 26 19
03 00 1E 19
04 00 26 19
05 00 3B 19
06 00 3B 19

ending: FF FF FF FF
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,093
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Upgrades:

I tried all possible ig-platform-ids but no one took me to complete boot. Luckily, the last one, 03 00 1E 19, let my verbose boot sequence to remain on screen and I took a photo:

View attachment 186402

It seems to be a problem with CPU model..

Are you using FakePCIID.kext + FakePCIID_Intel_HD_Graphics.kext?
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2013
Messages
27
Motherboard
ASUS N552VX
CPU
i7 6700HQ
Graphics
Intel HD530
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. Performa
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Good news. I booted without safe mode with this configuration:

InjectIntel=YES
ig-platfrom-id=00000013

Don't ask me how I did this. In my config.plist ig-platform-id is 191E0003, but when I read clover options at boot I get the id over mentioned.

I'm using none of FakePCIID*.kext.

Now I installed clover in my SSD EFI partition and using kext wizard I installed realtek ethernet driver and VoodooPS2Controller in /System/Library/Extensions.

Keyboard is working. Touchpad isn't. Ethernet works well. Audio is not working.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,093
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Good news. I booted without safe mode with this configuration:

InjectIntel=YES
ig-platfrom-id=00000013

Don't ask me how I did this. In my config.plist ig-platform-id is 191E0003, but when I read clover options at boot I get the id over mentioned.

ig-platform-id 00000013 is invalid. It only serves to disable the graphics drivers.

In config.plist, ig-platform-id must be specified with 0x prefix (otherwise you're specifying decimal).

I'm using none of FakePCIID*.kext.

Some have reported they help.

Now I installed clover in my SSD EFI partition and using kext wizard I installed realtek ethernet driver and VoodooPS2Controller in /System/Library/Extensions.

Keyboard is working. Touchpad isn't. Ethernet works well. Audio is not working.

You should check that your keyboard/touchpad are PS2. Many new computers are using I2C which is not supported.

Audio requires patching... read the FAQ.
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2013
Messages
27
Motherboard
ASUS N552VX
CPU
i7 6700HQ
Graphics
Intel HD530
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. Performa
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
ig-platform-id 00000013 is invalid. It only serves to disable the graphics drivers.

In config.plist, ig-platform-id must be specified with 0x prefix (otherwise you're specifying decimal).

Got it. But now I'm back to black screens. Do I need to try all the ig-platform-id? Clover reports Card DeviceID=191B. Could this help?


Some have reported they help.

Do I have to install them in /System/Library/Extensions or in EFI/CLOVER/Kexts?

You should check that your keyboard/touchpad are PS2. Many new computers are using I2C which is not supported.

I think I have I2C touchpad... I'm going to check out with Win10...

Audio requires patching... read the FAQ.

First thing first let's make the graphics work.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,093
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Got it. But now I'm back to black screens. Do I need to try all the ig-platform-id? Clover reports Card DeviceID=191B. Could this help?

You should try the FakePCIID kexts I mentioned.

Do I have to install them in /System/Library/Extensions or in EFI/CLOVER/Kexts?

All kexts you need should be installed to /S/L/E.

Essential kexts should also be in EFI/Clover/kexts (for booting the installer and recovery partition).

I think I have I2C touchpad... I'm going to check out with Win10...

Seems likely...
 
Top