Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
MacBook Pro
CPU
?
Graphics
?
Not just a hopeless optimist but a total newbie with questions. So have a 2009 iMac running El Capitan and a 2009 MacBook Pro running Snow Leopard, both Intel. I'd love to upgrade them, especially as they both in great condition and have a lot a lot of useful life left, not to mention unused memory! Is there anything I can do to upgrade them to Mojave? I suspect the answer is no but I have to ask. Thanks!
Rebecca

Here's my MacBook Pro spec:
Hardware Overview:

Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro3,1
Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
Processor Speed: 2.4 GHz
Number Of Processors: 1
Total Number Of Cores: 2
L2 Cache: 4 MB
Memory: 4 GB
Bus Speed: 800 MHz
Boot ROM Version: MBP31.0070.B07
SMC Version (system): 1.16f11
Serial Number (system): W87472YLXAG
Hardware UUID: 000

trs96

Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Upgrade the MBP to El Capitan and the iMac to Sierra or High Sierra and keep using them as long as you can.

What is the reason that you want Mojave instead of trying the updates that are supported ?

macOS Sierra requires at least 2 GB of RAM and 8 GB of storage space and will run on:
  • iMac: Late 2009 or newer.
  • MacBook and MacBook 12-inch: Late 2009 or newer.
  • MacBook Pro: Mid 2010 or newer.
Here's the links to download El Capitan and High Sierra if you don't have them already.

https://www.tonymacx86.com/buyersgu...-the-ultimate-buyers-guide/#Operating_Systems

Last edited:
Motherboard
MacBook Pro
CPU
?
Graphics
?
Upgrade the MBP to El Capitan and the iMac to Sierra or High Sierra and keep using them as long as you can.

What is the reason that you want Mojave instead of trying the updates that are supported ?

macOS Sierra requires at least 2 GB of RAM and 8 GB of storage space and will run on:
  • iMac: Late 2009 or newer.