Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Dear All,

I am a beginner to hacktonich, and want a fresh install of catalina on my old PC.
I found a usefull post to guide me: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...3p-i7-6700k-sapphire-pulse-rx-580-8gb.285356/
And for this I bought a new Radeon RX 580 to replace my original GTX 1070. but until I start the installation I begin to find my original motherboard is Asus Z170p, not Gigabyte Z170 as used in @CeeeWeee 's post.
Does this mean that I can not use his config.plist, Clover, kexts, and EFI ?
The two motherboards are based on the same Z170 chip, but the brands and configaration are different.
I searched the key word "Asus Z170" in the site, and got some very old posts that are based on Sierra OS or Yosemite OS or OS even older.
I am desperated and don't know how to hack.

BTW, I have a WIN10 OS in this PC. I bought a new sata3 disk to install the new mac Catalina OS, I want both of the two OS can be exsit and I can make a choice when I start the computor. Anyone can instuct how to achieve this?

Many thanks for your help!

Ryan

Did you try it yet? I haven't looked at the different specs of the board, but It should work in some capacity. There is a possibility it has a different network chip, audio chip, etc that you might need sort out later. The worst thing that can happen is that the config file doesn't boot.

as far as dual booting windows goes, Using a separate disk is your best bet. I would disconnect the windows disk until you get macOS working just so you don't take any chances formatting the wrong disk. Afterwards, you should be able to have Clover recognize your Windows installation so that you can select it on boot.