Contribute
Register

Help configuring OpenCore for Gigabyte Z390 + i9-9900k

Joined
Dec 21, 2017
Messages
212
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hey @pastrychef , wanted to ask you about fan speeds while running your hackintosh. If I go into BIOS and manually set all my fans to full speed, they sound loud and are going super fast. Set them back to normal, and restart maOS, but then when my processor is really working hard (ie. compressing a video), I use iStat Menus and can see that my processor is at 100% and temperatures are rising, but the fan speeds don't max out. They may get a little louder, but definitely not to the degree when I set them to full-speed in BIOS. As a result, my temperatures go over 90-degrees C and my system crashes.
Do you know how I can get my fans to react better to system temps?
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
14,047
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hey @pastrychef , wanted to ask you about fan speeds while running your hackintosh. If I go into BIOS and manually set all my fans to full speed, they sound loud and are going super fast. Set them back to normal, and restart maOS, but then when my processor is really working hard (ie. compressing a video), I use iStat Menus and can see that my processor is at 100% and temperatures are rising, but the fan speeds don't max out. They may get a little louder, but definitely not to the degree when I set them to full-speed in BIOS. As a result, my temperatures go over 90-degrees C and my system crashes.
Do you know how I can get my fans to react better to system temps?
You have to use the BIOS fan controls. Try setting the fans to go 100% when CPU temps hit about 70C.
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2013
Messages
30
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Gaming SLI
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Intel UHD 630
Mobile Phone
Android
My PC configuration is
motherboard : Gigabyte Z390 Gaming SLI
Processor: Intel i7 8700K
GPU: Built in Graphics Intel UHD 630
Ram: 16GB 3300MHz
SSD: Samsung NVMe 970 EVO Plus 256GB
I want to install Mac os catalina in my pc. But when booting from installation media it's stuck at some point and I don't know what it means. I attached some photos of this problem...
You have to use the BIOS fan controls. Try setting the fans to go 100% when CPU temps hit about 70C.
Please help
 

Attachments

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
14,047
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
My PC configuration is
motherboard : Gigabyte Z390 Gaming SLI
Processor: Intel i7 8700K
GPU: Built in Graphics Intel UHD 630
Ram: 16GB 3300MHz
SSD: Samsung NVMe 970 EVO Plus 256GB
I want to install Mac os catalina in my pc. But when booting from installation media it's stuck at some point and I don't know what it means. I attached some photos of this problem...

Please help
First, make sure that your Samsung 970 EVO Plus has the latest firmware. Please see the following link:

Second, please see my Z390 build thread (link is below, in my signature). Please read through posts #1, 2, 3, and 4. Then use the latest EFI folder attached to post #4.
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2017
Messages
212
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi @pastrychef hope you've been well. I've been using the Hackintosh pretty successfully, but today when restarting I am now stuck on the white Apple logo. On the startup Aorus screen I noticed I'm getting an extra line of text that I'm not used to seeing. Any clue what happened? (btw, I had not updated to the latest macOS 10.15.4 since things were working well with 10.15.3.. unless it automatically tried installing on it's own)
IMG_2471.jpg
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
14,047
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi @pastrychef hope you've been well. I've been using the Hackintosh pretty successfully, but today when restarting I am now stuck on the white Apple logo. On the startup Aorus screen I noticed I'm getting an extra line of text that I'm not used to seeing. Any clue what happened? (btw, I had not updated to the latest macOS 10.15.4 since things were working well with 10.15.3.. unless it automatically tried installing on it's own)View attachment 460789
I was getting that too. It's not really a "problem". if you want to get rid of it, do the following:

1. Set language in config.plist > NVRAM > add> 7C436110-AB2A-4BBB-A880-FE41995C9F82 > prev-lang:kbd
2. Delete config.plist > NVRAM > block > 7C436110-AB2A-4BBB-A880-FE41995C9F82 > 0
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2017
Messages
212
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I was getting that too. It's not really a "problem". if you want to get rid of it, do the following:

1. Set language in config.plist > NVRAM > add> 7C436110-AB2A-4BBB-A880-FE41995C9F82 > prev-lang:kbd
2. Delete config.plist > NVRAM > block > 7C436110-AB2A-4BBB-A880-FE41995C9F82 > 0
Thanks. I was eventually able to get back into macOS.. had to just mess with BIOS a bit to get back.
So I think those messages were unrelated, but yeah would be nice to remove them.

For the first, do I type in "English" somewhere under Value, or..?
Screen Shot 2020-04-09 at 4.20.34 PM.png
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
14,047
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks. I was eventually able to get back into macOS.. had to just mess with BIOS a bit to get back.
So I think those messages were unrelated, but yeah would be nice to remove them.

For the first, do I type in "English" somewhere under Value, or..?
View attachment 460852
Enter the following under value:
Code:
656E2D55 533A30
 
Joined
Nov 23, 2010
Messages
67
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
Core i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Hi @Covalt we have the same mobo+proc except I have an RX 5700 XT as my dGPU. I've always used CaseySJ's Designaire guide for my Clover but I've never fully fixed using my Fenvi Ft919 bluetooth card for it. (I have 2 of those already from Newegg and Amazon and they both abruptly/randomly stop working when I use either of them). Somebody suggested it's a USB mapping issue though I never got to fix it either. I was looking into trying OpenCore but I never see anyone with the same mob as mine try it yet, until I saw your post here. I already read the OpenCore tutorial and want to give it a try this weekend too. But I was thinking maybe your OC EFI could be a great start for me.

Is it okay if you could post it here so I can check on it and see how I end similar or different from yours? Thanks in advance man!


Thanks. I was eventually able to get back into macOS.. had to just mess with BIOS a bit to get back.
So I think those messages were unrelated, but yeah would be nice to remove them.

For the first, do I type in "English" somewhere under Value, or..?
View attachment 460852
 
Top