Contribute
Register

Help configuring OpenCore for Gigabyte Z390 + i9-9900k

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
14,047
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Okay, so to delete the device properties for audio, one would do that by deleting the following from the config.plist?
View attachment 456547

Once deleted, one would use "alcid=xx" how?
Yes.

Add the boot argument to config.plist > NVRAM > Add > 7C436110-AB2A-4BBB-A880-FE41995C9F82 > boot-args.
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2017
Messages
212
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Yes.

Add the boot argument to config.plist > NVRAM > Add > 7C436110-AB2A-4BBB-A880-FE41995C9F82 > boot-args.
Cool thank you. Half-way there.
In boot-args the value is currently:
-alcbeta -lilubetaall debug=0x100 keepsyms=1 -wegbeta slide=0 -vsmcbeta

Where would I remove (xx=the id number) and replace with "alcid=xx" ?
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
14,047
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Cool thank you. Half-way there.
In boot-args the value is currently:
-alcbeta -lilubetaall debug=0x100 keepsyms=1 -wegbeta slide=0 -vsmcbeta

Where would I remove (xx=the id number) and replace with "alcid=xx" ?
Just add a space and "alcid=xx" to the end the current boot arguments. If you want to use alcid=1 it would look like:

-alcbeta -lilubetaall debug=0x100 keepsyms=1 -wegbeta slide=0 -vsmcbeta alcid=1
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2017
Messages
212
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Just add a space and "alcid=xx" to the end the current boot arguments. If you want to use alcid=1 it would look like:

-alcbeta -lilubetaall debug=0x100 keepsyms=1 -wegbeta slide=0 -vsmcbeta alcid=1
Okay great, thank you for breaking down.
So on that page of supported codecs, for my motherboard ALC1220, it lists: layout 1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 11, 13, 15, 16, 21, 27, 28, 29, 34
So I'd be trying "alcid = 1", restart, see if it works. If not, trying "alcid = 2", and test, etc? All the way to 34?
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
16,756
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Okay great, thank you for breaking down.
So on that page of supported codecs, for my motherboard ALC1220, it lists: layout 1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 11, 13, 15, 16, 21, 27, 28, 29, 34
So I'd be trying "alcid = 1", restart, see if it works. If not, trying "alcid = 2", and test, etc? All the way to 34?
yes
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
14,047
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Okay great, thank you for breaking down.
So on that page of supported codecs, for my motherboard ALC1220, it lists: layout 1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 11, 13, 15, 16, 21, 27, 28, 29, 34
So I'd be trying "alcid = 1", restart, see if it works. If not, trying "alcid = 2", and test, etc? All the way to 34?
Yup. More than one will probably work, but you want to find the one that works best. I've gone through the same more times than I'd like to remember...
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2017
Messages
212
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Yup. More than one will probably work, but you want to find the one that works best. I've gone through the same more times than I'd like to remember...
Damn, none worked. Went through all of them. I noticed that when I did this, my speaker icon in the menu bar got grayed-out, and I didn't have an option to select an audio output.
This is what my config.plist would look like as I was making the change:
Screen Shot 2020-03-24 at 11.07.08 AM.png

I started with alcid=1 and went all the way through alcid=34
Did I do something wrong?
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
14,047
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Damn, none worked. Went through all of them. I noticed that when I did this, my speaker icon in the menu bar got grayed-out, and I didn't have an option to select an audio output.
This is what my config.plist would look like as I was making the change:
View attachment 456677
I started with alcid=1 and went all the way through alcid=34
Did I do something wrong?
That should be working...

 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 21, 2017
Messages
212
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
That should be working...

Reading through that thread, it seems like they kept the properties in "DeviceProperties".
I deleted mine all together; do you think that causes issues?
Screen Shot 2020-03-24 at 1.00.00 PM.png


By the way, I connected my OWC Thunderbolt 3 Dock to one of the TB3 ports in the back, and that allows me to plug my speakers into the headphone jack on the dock, and then I have audio. It's a good workaround for now, but would like to get the Line Out port on the back of the motherboard to work.
Oh, and when audio is playing back with the OWC Dock, my video playback doesn't stutter - so the video playback issue is resolved when the audio is resolved.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
14,047
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Reading through that thread, it seems like they kept the properties in "DeviceProperties".
I deleted mine all together; do you think that causes issues?
View attachment 456714

By the way, I connected my OWC Thunderbolt 3 Dock to one of the TB3 ports in the back, and that allows me to plug my speakers into the headphone jack on the dock, and then I have audio. It's a good workaround for now, but would like to get the Line Out port on the back of the motherboard to work.
Oh, and when audio is playing back with the OWC Dock, my video playback doesn't stutter - so the video playback issue is resolved when the audio is resolved.
You can use Device Properties or alcid, not both.
 
Top